We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only nice thing that happened - I had the whole dormitory room to myself!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #41 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the Dormitory Room at the Salisbury YMCA for a one night lay-over in Hong Kong. It is nicely located next to the MTR Station and the Tsim Sha Tsui waterfront.

The dormitory room came with 2 double decker beds and an attached bathroom. Even though the property has been around for quite sometime, the room seemed quite new. Credit must be given to the housekeeping team for doing such a nice job.

My bed was pretty hard and the pillows seemed too soft for my liking. To be frank, it was quite uncomfortable. There was a nice wardrode containing a safe and hangers for each occupant in the room. I noticed that there was no TV in the room and no phone where I could phone the reception. When I asked if wifi was complimentary, one of the concierge staff gave me a rude "No, not free". This was quite unfortunate and I forgot to take down his name.

I guess the only nice thing that happened to me was that even though my room was meant for 4 persons, I was the only occupant during my 1 night stay. Since I didn't sleep well at all and the service was pretty mediocre, I was glad when daybreak came for me to check-out to the airport for my next destination.

I guess I won't recommend the dormitory beds if you are not used to hard beds like me.

Stayed 1 night (19th January 2013)

Room Tip: Request for the lower bunker beds if you are worried of heights
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minghui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,811)
There are newer reviews for The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 2,811 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

what is really the ymca, this place very nice. Great location, on the Kowloon side, next to the Peninsula hotel, a true 5 star hotel. Rooms very nice, some with stunning harbor views. The breakfast buffet excellent, with dining area overlooking harbor. Staff very helpful, but what really makes it is the price. We paid $148 for a room, a great value in this expensive city.

Room Tip: pay a few more dollars for harborview room. Fabulous
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 371j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Positive Side:
1. Very Good Location
2. Clean room
3. Very friendly housekeeper
4. Good harbour view

Negative side:
1. You can hear people noises inside your room like the person near your room when they are shouting or the person in the hallway..
2. We check-in arounf 1pm and so we understand that we have to wait for an hour cz the room is not yet available cz the check-in time is 2pm so waited biut instead of only 1 hour we waited for almost 3.. :(

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Room was noisy and the bed was a bit lumpy. The room doors have a different type of lock. We had to get new keys several times during our 7 day stay. Breakfast buffet was good but $14US/per day/person. Wi-fi was available at $350HK/seek. Don't expect free wi-fi like a hotel in the USA. Great location.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a great view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very reasonable price for a perfectly located place to see HK. We were upgraded to a Harbour View suite which was wonderful. Two minor issues with the key and Internet were addressed immediately. The breakfast was basic but just fine. We loved the placed and will book again mid year when we're back in HK

Room Tip: Harbour View Suite was an upgrade for us but we enjoyed it so much we're booking this for the ne...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiznPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. They gave me a basketful of fruits on my birthday and upgraded us to harbour view. We enjoyed the nightly musical light show from the window of our room facing the harbour. The MTR is just a few steps from the hotel's door steps. The breakfast was great. I loved the waffles and sausages! There was also an airport shuttle near the left side entrance of the hotel. Everything here is convenient.

4  Thank CesMD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The accommodations exceeded our expectations -- had a wonderful fruit basket in the room when we arrived! I would rate it 5+ stars for the price. We recently stayed here with 2 small children and enjoyed a scenic city and harbor view. The hotel was clean, comfortable, ideally situated and had crisp white linens. There was a cafe, swimming pool, bookstore, money exchange and internet cafe, amongst other amenities. The staff was top notch, knowledgable and friendly, particularly Mr. Jackie! The location was perfect -- minutes from restaurants (Turkish, Indian, Cantonese, The Outback, Ruth Chris, TGIF, Spaghetti House, McDonald's, Starbuck's), the sights, public transportation (Star Ferry, taxi, 2 level buses) and shopping! Wow! It was the quintessential experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a panoramic view!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GKJ_2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,579 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,743 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#96 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,678 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $134 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing