We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great but a good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #40 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not great but a good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Room was noisy and the bed was a bit lumpy. The room doors have a different type of lock. We had to get new keys several times during our 7 day stay. Breakfast buffet was good but $14US/per day/person. Wi-fi was available at $350HK/seek. Don't expect free wi-fi like a hotel in the USA. Great location.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a great view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    1,112
    172
    24
    20
See reviews for
708
867
287
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very reasonable price for a perfectly located place to see HK. We were upgraded to a Harbour View suite which was wonderful. Two minor issues with the key and Internet were addressed immediately. The breakfast was basic but just fine. We loved the placed and will book again mid year when we're back in HK

Room Tip: Harbour View Suite was an upgrade for us but we enjoyed it so much we're booking this for the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiznPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. They gave me a basketful of fruits on my birthday and upgraded us to harbour view. We enjoyed the nightly musical light show from the window of our room facing the harbour. The MTR is just a few steps from the hotel's door steps. The breakfast was great. I loved the waffles and sausages! There was also an airport shuttle near the left side entrance of the hotel. Everything here is convenient.

Helpful?
4 Thank CesMD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The accommodations exceeded our expectations -- had a wonderful fruit basket in the room when we arrived! I would rate it 5+ stars for the price. We recently stayed here with 2 small children and enjoyed a scenic city and harbor view. The hotel was clean, comfortable, ideally situated and had crisp white linens. There was a cafe, swimming pool, bookstore, money exchange and internet cafe, amongst other amenities. The staff was top notch, knowledgable and friendly, particularly Mr. Jackie! The location was perfect -- minutes from restaurants (Turkish, Indian, Cantonese, The Outback, Ruth Chris, TGIF, Spaghetti House, McDonald's, Starbuck's), the sights, public transportation (Star Ferry, taxi, 2 level buses) and shopping! Wow! It was the quintessential experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a panoramic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GKJ_2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

A wonderful and well priced hotel in spectacular location. Upon arrival I asked for upgrade to Barbour view(stunning). They happily upgraded with no extra charge. Breakfast buffet was better than average. Staff are friendly and helpful. I've stayed at much more expensive places in this area and will happily have the YMCA as first choice.
Wish they didn't charge for wifi.

Room Tip: Remind hotel of no smoking floor, ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because we have two young children but we still wanted to be near the hustle and bustle. Situated in Tsim sha Tsui it's a short walk to the harbour, science and space museums. A short ferry ride from Central and a 2 minute walk to the subway.
Around the hotel there are plenty of places to eat and shop. The new harbour mall was a perfect choice being only 5 minutes walk from the hotel entrance.
The service in the hotel was excellent and we were impressed by the helpfulness of the staff. We stayed in a family suite which had a small living area, a study area, perfect for checking emails, and a large bedroom with a huge bed.
A really pleasant stay. We'd go back again in a flash.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beein C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

First time in Hong Kong and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The restaurant (cafe) was great although if you are looking for cheaper alternatives but still great food, you can just go out and stroll the beautiful city of Hong Kong. The rooms are clean although ours was a little bit in need of renovation. Just a few minutes walk to the MRT subway to major destinations. Went with 2 kids and the room still was very spacious. Sleep was generally pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#80 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,355 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#71 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#32 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Property: The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing