We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #40 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Fantastic place to say ..staff very efficient . We actually arrived with problems due to the travel agent and staff bent over backwards to sort it all out .Can't ask much more than that.Good location .Close to Nathan Road , Starr ferry , subway . Lots of restaurants , bars . We ate in the small cafe at night .I found their food to be delcious and pretty good prices. Our last night we ate in the hotel restaurant and had an excellent meal .Prices not too bad at all . From there you can watch the light show. Our room was just the standard , room was clean . Overall quite happy with our stay , have nil complaints at all . I can see why people stay , it was through trip advisor that I based my choice . The only thing I can think of was the pillows were too thin and you can hear the street noise .The windows not double glazed but certainly not enough to put me off staying again .

Room Tip: Don't stay below 11th floor , probably would hear the noise from the street more and probably pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    1,128
    174
    24
    20
See reviews for
714
879
291
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was the first time i stayed at this property and i found it to be a god place. clean rooms, decent size of rooms with a good view for all categories. For a Indian, this is a gr8 Location as you can get many Indian joints in n around Nathan road. its proximity to the star ferry adds to the benefits.Nice staff, always helpful.. will definitely stay again when in HK..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the first time I will be writing a review for YMCA at Salisbury but not the first time I have stayed there. The fact that this will be my second time says a lot about this hotel.

Upon check-in, we were told our room was not yet available but we expected this since YMCA allows late check-out. We simply left our luggage and explored the area to let the time pass. We encountered a small hiccup when we finally entered our room - we were given twin beds when we specifically requested for a queen (we were travelling as a partner and of course we'd want to sleep on the same bed). I was afraid that they will not be able to fix this since YMCA is almost always fully booked and it'd be pure luck if they had a room available with a queen bed. Needless to say, we were pretty pleased when they were able to find us a room straight away. We had our keys exchanged at the reception and transferred rooms. We found that they didn't provide bedroom slippers but one call through their housekeeping and they immediately sent our slippers up to our room. These were small hiccups that were easily remedied so they weren't much of a big deal and everything was smooth sailing from then.

The best thing I love about YMCA is the location. Nothing beats it. For the price we pay, it just does not get better than this. My partner and I are yearly visitors of HK and we have stayed in very expensive ones but here we are again, back at YMCA (I now remember that the only reason we stayed in other hotels is because we failed to secure a room at YMCA as it was fully booked). We missed the area and the fact that it is right smack in the middle of everything. We can travel to HK without bringing anything because everything we need is just a short distance away. As usual, we did not have to book for a room with breakfast. We simply walk to the 7-eleven store which is just a few steps away and buy all the food we want - microwaveable meals (the store there has a microwave), drinks, sandwiches...everything to sustain us for the a whole day of sight-seeing and shopping.

Hong Kong is a city where one would spend whole days outside. The city is still vibrant and awake until late in the evening. We only ever went back to the hotel to drop off shopping and for sleeping and that well suited our needs. If you are ever looking for a budget place (with a good cause as part of the proceeds goes to the school), then look no further. YMCA is and will always be our number 1 lodging choice in Hong Kong. Book early though, for this is one of the most popular hotels in Tsim Sha Tsui and seems to be the average tourist favorite - myself included.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to have unblocked views of the streets but if you can splurge, go for rooms with har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in a family room for 4 nights as a stopover break. Hotel is in Kowloon, right by star ferries and very near the mtr, which are both very easy to use. The room was fine in terms of size, one child on the sofa, one on a pull out bed, both were quite happy. Our bed was huge. The only negative was the noise which was high due to the roads outside. We were on the 8th floor and all through the night traffic levels were high. Breakfast was good, but quite pricey for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booking:
Booking was very easy. I booked everything online via hotel’s website. I received confirmation email within a day. Any questions that I had were quickly answered by Joyce. Thank you for your prompt responses!

Location:
We took the Airport Express from the airport to the hotel. The free shuttle from the Kowloon Station dropped us off right across the street from the YMCA. It literally took us less than 2 minutes to walk across the street from the shuttle stop to the hotel lobby.

Access to MTR station is located right next to the hotel. You just have to walk underground for about 5 minutes to get to the station. You can also use the same underground access to cross the street to the Star Ferry Pier, the Star House, and Harbour City, a mega shopping mall. Do check out the Harbour City. There are over 700 shops there as well as food court and a supermarket, the City Super.

Room:
We were assigned a non-smoking room as requested. However, our room had strong smoke odor. Someone broke the non-smoking rules! Anyway, after a quick call to the front desk, we were reassigned to another room. Thank you Kenny at the front desk!

Be sure to request room on a non-smoking FLOOR. We did notice smoke smell from a room several doors down the hall from us.

Our family of 4 stayed in a family suite. It is a bit worn out and dated. It comes with a living room and 2 small bedrooms. The bedroom is big enough for 1 person with a single bed, a nightstand, and a small closet. The family suite is big enough to add a rollaway bed without feeling crowed.

The sofa bed is a bit old and worn out. I was lucky enough to spent 6 nights on the sofa bed. The sofa bed was VERY uncomfortable. The mattress was very thin. I could feel every spring on that mattress! Everyone else in my family slept fine with no complains.

There are coin operated washer and dryer on the 9th floor. Be sure to exchange money for token at the front desk. No need to buy laundry detergent, it’s included. The facility was very clean. This was very handy for us. Since we packed light for this trip, it was nice to be able to do some laundry without sending them out and paying outrageous price!

Oh did I mention there was a welcoming fruit basket in the room as well?

Pool & Fitness Center:
Guests have free access to the pool facilities on the 2nd floor. During our stay the leisure pool was closed for cleaning. Only the lap pool was available. Pool towels and lockers are provided. There is a very small jacuzzi tub that fits about 4-5 people at the time.

To access the gym, you need to pay a daily fee. It was a typical hotel gym.

Exchange Money:
If you walk up north from the YMCA on Peking Rd, there is an exchange at the corner of Peking Rd. DO NOT exchange your money there. We made that mistake. The rate was awful and there was a service fee of $35HD. Instead, walk a few steps down Peking Rd and turn left onto Lock Rd (the first street you see). On your left side, 2-3 shops from the corner of Lock and Peking, you will see a small exchange shop. They have the best rate and there are NO service fees!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Let´s just say that I had to change to the Langham the next day, there are numerous problems with this hotel, the staff is friendly but just in appereance but in case you need real assistance you will find that you are by yourself , the location is good, but there are many options nearby... much better options, I mean it´s Hong Kong and you deserve better that a YMCA that believe me you wont forget it´s just that. The rooms are very "practical" the bed is hard, much too hard, the view was very forgettable I was not impressed at all with the facilities and the level of expertise of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesYitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my second stay at the hotel. I visited last 16 years ago and my recent experience was as positive as my last one.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed. They are not fancy, but pleasant and comfortable. The hotel is located next to the famous Peninsula Hotel, across from the harbour. You are right next to the metro station and a short walk to the ferry that goes to Hong Kong Island.
Opt for included breakfast. It is one of the most incredible breakfasts I've experienced.
Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, always willing to find information that we requested.
The only thing that stops me from giving a rating of 5, is the fact that the hotel doesn't have free wireless Internet. There is paid wireless available, but in this day and age, this is a necessary part of any business traveller's need.
I would definitely return without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a bit more for a harbour view, it is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judykball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,446 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Property: The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing