We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #42 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booking:
Booking was very easy. I booked everything online via hotel’s website. I received confirmation email within a day. Any questions that I had were quickly answered by Joyce. Thank you for your prompt responses!

Location:
We took the Airport Express from the airport to the hotel. The free shuttle from the Kowloon Station dropped us off right across the street from the YMCA. It literally took us less than 2 minutes to walk across the street from the shuttle stop to the hotel lobby.

Access to MTR station is located right next to the hotel. You just have to walk underground for about 5 minutes to get to the station. You can also use the same underground access to cross the street to the Star Ferry Pier, the Star House, and Harbour City, a mega shopping mall. Do check out the Harbour City. There are over 700 shops there as well as food court and a supermarket, the City Super.

Room:
We were assigned a non-smoking room as requested. However, our room had strong smoke odor. Someone broke the non-smoking rules! Anyway, after a quick call to the front desk, we were reassigned to another room. Thank you Kenny at the front desk!

Be sure to request room on a non-smoking FLOOR. We did notice smoke smell from a room several doors down the hall from us.

Our family of 4 stayed in a family suite. It is a bit worn out and dated. It comes with a living room and 2 small bedrooms. The bedroom is big enough for 1 person with a single bed, a nightstand, and a small closet. The family suite is big enough to add a rollaway bed without feeling crowed.

The sofa bed is a bit old and worn out. I was lucky enough to spent 6 nights on the sofa bed. The sofa bed was VERY uncomfortable. The mattress was very thin. I could feel every spring on that mattress! Everyone else in my family slept fine with no complains.

There are coin operated washer and dryer on the 9th floor. Be sure to exchange money for token at the front desk. No need to buy laundry detergent, it’s included. The facility was very clean. This was very handy for us. Since we packed light for this trip, it was nice to be able to do some laundry without sending them out and paying outrageous price!

Oh did I mention there was a welcoming fruit basket in the room as well?

Pool & Fitness Center:
Guests have free access to the pool facilities on the 2nd floor. During our stay the leisure pool was closed for cleaning. Only the lap pool was available. Pool towels and lockers are provided. There is a very small jacuzzi tub that fits about 4-5 people at the time.

To access the gym, you need to pay a daily fee. It was a typical hotel gym.

Exchange Money:
If you walk up north from the YMCA on Peking Rd, there is an exchange at the corner of Peking Rd. DO NOT exchange your money there. We made that mistake. The rate was awful and there was a service fee of $35HD. Instead, walk a few steps down Peking Rd and turn left onto Lock Rd (the first street you see). On your left side, 2-3 shops from the corner of Lock and Peking, you will see a small exchange shop. They have the best rate and there are NO service fees!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 2,894 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Let´s just say that I had to change to the Langham the next day, there are numerous problems with this hotel, the staff is friendly but just in appereance but in case you need real assistance you will find that you are by yourself , the location is good, but there are many options nearby... much better options, I mean it´s Hong Kong and you deserve better that a YMCA that believe me you wont forget it´s just that. The rooms are very "practical" the bed is hard, much too hard, the view was very forgettable I was not impressed at all with the facilities and the level of expertise of the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesYitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my second stay at the hotel. I visited last 16 years ago and my recent experience was as positive as my last one.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed. They are not fancy, but pleasant and comfortable. The hotel is located next to the famous Peninsula Hotel, across from the harbour. You are right next to the metro station and a short walk to the ferry that goes to Hong Kong Island.
Opt for included breakfast. It is one of the most incredible breakfasts I've experienced.
Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, always willing to find information that we requested.
The only thing that stops me from giving a rating of 5, is the fact that the hotel doesn't have free wireless Internet. There is paid wireless available, but in this day and age, this is a necessary part of any business traveller's need.
I would definitely return without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a bit more for a harbour view, it is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judykball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked a harbourview room over the 2013 New Year. We recieved an upgrade to a suite (1613) which had the most fantastic 180+ degree view of Hong Kong. We can only describe this hotel as incredible value given its amenities, location and cost. Getting a booking was difficult, but we went through the Qantas acommodation booking site (11mths in advance).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyetlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had an awesome time in Hong Kong over the Christmas/New Year period, and the upgrade to the harbour view room was well worth it! The Salisbury is in a great location, right near the MTR and the Star Ferries. We would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the harbour view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katels27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the third time we (my husband and I) have stayed at this hotel and I would say this time around we were disappointed. The rooms are getting a little worn from our previous visits. We stayed for 6 nights from the 29th December. The room we had was a partial harbour view room (1260) although we booked 9 months ago we were given a room with 2 single beds and told to push them together if we wanted a queen. We then asked the staff to push them together and was left with 2 single doonas over the larger bed. The bathroom was tiny, a shower only with a toilet and sink. Only room for one person - just.
In saying this, rooms and bathrooms are clean.
Internet is expensive (we used the McDonalds just around the corner)
This time we didnt use either of the cafe/restaurants.
You are really paying for the location of this hotel, it is exceptional, close to the star ferry, MTR, Airport Express, the Bus from the airport (A21) and Nathan Road.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel, we tried to book through a travel agent but they were told there were no roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzietravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent the recent New Year holiday in this hotel with six other families and it was well worth it. The hotel is located right beside the Peninsula and is facing the harbour. It is five minutes away the Tsim Sha Tsui Station and is two blocks away from Nathan Road. We took the bus A21 from the airport; went down at the corner of Nathan and Middle Road and reached the hotel in less than ten minutes. You have to book early; especially during the peak (holiday) seasons, as this hotel is always full. I fortunately booked ten months earlier so we were able to get a room with the view of the harbour. We were able to watch the Light Show at night, as a result.

The size of the room is around 21 square meters; which is not large. We combined a king with a single bed; and we could barely move around. The size of the bathroom was adequate, as there was a bathtub with shower, a dresser, and the regular toilet closet. They "clean" the room everyday although you have to put the "No Disturb" sign on your door if you still have to use it. On our first morning, we stepped out to the nearby McDonalds (24 Hours Open) to have breakfast; and when we got back, a lady was already cleaning our room. She continued with the task even if were inside the room; and only left once it was completed. The "cleaning" wasn't much as she simply vacuumed the only open space on the floor.

Meals were not included so we were given discount coupons to be presented at either of the two food outlets in the hotel (Mall Cafe and 4th Floor Salisbury Dining Room). It rained when we arrived and we still had not yet taken our lunch so we decided to try out the buffet at the fourth floor. I was surprised to find a wide variety of dishes and which were also delicious. With the discount, we paid HK$ 450 for two adults and one child; which was not bad considering we were very full. On week-days, the rates are even cheaper.

Over-all, I would stay in this hotel again if I wanted to be in the Tsim Sha Tsui area. The location is the biggest advantage and the price they charge (considering) is reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarloRago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,004 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,648 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#100 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,147 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#43 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,061 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $137 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing