We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown and close to Ferries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #43 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Orgh yeah, you cant beat the location, the friendly check in staff and it has a pool. Gym is low ceilinged and ordinary (ie you can jump rope in there), and the gym staff have that classic abruptness to them. single room did the job and breakfast was a winner but i moved out as they put the price up 20 and then 30% for the long weekend...not the real hong kong, cos for that you gotta be on the island, but great for night market and the taxi rank/concierge staff wrote out directions in Chinese, which is a must if you want the taxi to actually drop you in the right spot.

Room Tip: - TUNNEL Taxis - avoid the tunnel to HK island at all costs as they drive like absolute nutters.best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcrooneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 2,868 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location next door to the famous Peninsula is unbeatable and the view from our Harbour View suite was also unbeatable. It is also extremely close to the Star Ferry and the MTR (subway).
One thing that was aggrivating was that it costs 65 HK$ per day to use the Health Club, if you are a hotel guest and over 100 HK$ if you are a YMCA member!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very small. Suites are much lkarger but of course more expensive and there are fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tango191191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I only stayed at this place one night and never again. I had a long flight and just wanted to break the journey so booked a night here to be able to check emails, have a bath and a good night's sleep.
Firstly, the staff at reception were far from welcoming. Then, once in my room, I had to ring to get my suitcase delivered after waiting 15 minutes. When I went to turn on the bath, there were black hairs in it (I'm blonde!). I rang Housekeeping and the cleaner arrived to say 'whoosh, whoosh, water' and left. When I asked it to be cleaned, reluctantly she did. There were also hairs on the toilet and on the floor and mould around some of the fittings.
Next, after the bath, I went to check my emails before retiring to bed. There is a $40 minimum charge whether you use it for 5 minutes or up to 4 consecutive hours. Although not expensive, I was astonished to see a hotel which charges over $A200 a night per room for a partial harbour view, charge for wi-fi. I had never had to pay before anywhere I had stayed. I logged on twice but was still unable to access emails. When I rang reception, they said I would have to come down to them. I explained I was in my dressing gown but they refused so I had to get dressed and go down. They were not able to access wi-fi for me. In the end, I slept, skipped breakfast as was worried about their hygiene, and went to the Peninsula for breakfast and accessed my emails for free!
The only thing this hotel has going for it, is the brilliant location! Even the rooms are small.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Az124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed in the Salisbury-YMCA twice....ten years apart....and both times we were amazed at the value of this amazing property. The view is outstanding and the location to the Star Ferry and Kowloon shopping is just 2 minutes away. The rooms are clean and comfortable. This used to be a "secret" place to stay, but now you must book way ahead of time. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had asked for hypoallergenic bedding but they did not provide this but once we had pointed this out they went out of their way to amend this. We had a great room with superb views. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location was second to none with easy access to the Star Ferry and also to the nearby shops and restaurants. Breakfast was included and again the standard was good. Great value for money overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with partial Harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stupot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Room was nice and clean. Staff is polite and helpful. Location is convenient. You can get to the metro right outside the restaurant door and it's a short walk to the ferry to Central. If you are flying in you can take a free bus from Kowloon Station (Airport Express) to the hotel so you can get from the airport to the hotel for HK$90. They have a bookstore. The breakfast buffet is good and the cafe downstairs has reasonably priced food which is sometimes hard to find in this part of HK. It's a tad expensive, but it's Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful week in Hong Kong. As my wife and I did last time, we stayed at the YMCA Salisbury. But since I took my wife, Daughter, Son-in-law, and 2 grandsons along this time, we booked 2 "Harbour View Suites". My wife and I had one suite and on the same floor, the others had theirs.
I was surprised to find that the suites differed quite a lot. Furnishings were much the same but the floor plans were very different. Ours was quite a bit larger, quieter and being closer to the lifts, more easily accessible.
I wont go into the Salisburys wonderful location, excellent rates, cleanliness, ample facilites, friendliness, etc etc, its all been written here, many, many times before, I just wanted to draw your attention to the fact that if you book a Harbour View Suite on the South Eastern corner of the building you will get a bigger suite that the one at the South Western corner of the building. To explain it better, have a look at the photos I've attached. One of the photos is of the emergency escape floor plan.
Each floor only has 2 Harbour View Suites and their numbers are either 47 or 31. Ours was 1247 and theirs was 1231. I assume this numbering system would be the same on each floor and I recommend that if you get a choice of suites, and you're looking for a spacious, quiet place, then book the one ending in 47. The photos on the Salisburys Harbour View Suites webpage are of the smaller suites http://www.ymcahk.org.hk/sales/html/e_HVS.htm
and the photos I've attached are of the one my wife and I had.
The foyer has been completely upgraded since I made my 1st review and is in my opinion just brilliant.
We had the best service. The staff were polite and helpful, and went the extra mile when necessary. My youngest grandson had his first birthday while we were there and when we returned from our day out that day, there was a cake waiting for him/us.
If you've got money to burn then stay at the famous place next door. Their rates START at HK$4380 per night, so its probably for a lower floor room facing the street. Ours was HK$2350 per night.
All up, we had a great time in Hong Kong and a lot of the success of the holiday was down to the YMCA Salisbury Hotel. Would we stay here again? Most definitely....and we just did. AND there'll be a next time.
Cheers,
Rob

Room Tip: If your looking for a Harbour View Suite, choose one with a number ending in 47. They're bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheMoruya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,973 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#96 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,707 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,586 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#46 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $141 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing