We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel , we'll be back!”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Whangarei, NZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel , we'll be back!”
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Excellent Hotel - we stayed in 2 deluxe rooms that were interconnecting for 5 nights - ideal setup for us with 3 kids (7, 4 and 1) Check-in seems to take ages for some reason, but that's about the only criticism I can think of. Rooms were spacious and clean, with a good housekeeping service. We used the heated pool (with the underwater music!) and jacuzzi regularly - excellent facilities, especially after sightseeing/visiting in the heat with young kids. We ate breakfast in the hotel each day, as we prepurchased, but wouldn't do that if we returned - good selection as you would expect, but expensive, especially for kids who don't eat much. We also had the dinner buffet one night, which also had an excellent selection of good quality food - expensive (and wasted on the kids really) but 50% off normal pricing for hotel guests the night we went. With the shopping mall easily accessed from the hotel there are also other eating options there - great with young kids to takeaway meals back to the room.

Location is good, we found the hotel shuttle service to Tsim Sha Shui wasn't that regular, but we used the Mong Kok MTR which is about 7 - 10 mins walk away (well signposted and undercover) Alternative is taxi which is about HKG$30 from star ferry area in TST to Hotel, which for 5 of us for the convenience was good value we thought. We found the housekeeping and restaurant staff very friendly - I think they all took a shine to our 1 year old.

Found a laundry service a short walk away from the hotel who charge to wash and dry your clothes by weight - 9lbs was HKG$39 for same day. Sunshine Laundry on corner of Fa Yuen and Nullah St's from memory - definitely cheaper than using the Hotel service.

Overall, excellent hotel and we would definitely stay here again upon our return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GizzyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,982
    1,431
    242
    76
    43
See reviews for
1,684
715
172
432
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne victoria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for over a week and used it as a base for our trips to HongKong, Macau and Shenzhen. The place is big and it was as it says in its star rating. I did not eat here because there were so much places to go.....but from what I see, the menu is extensive. The housekeeping staff were on the ball and would chase you if you did not have your room cleaned. The only complain I have is that the bed was a bit too hard for my liking. I would go back again with my whole family to go around and enjoy what HongKong has to offer

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Last April, we went to Hongkong for leisure. The hotel is in a very good location, there is mall next to it and if you want to use the MTR, in the mall there is a MTR Station.

Walk by few minutes, you will meet the ladies market and fa yuen street market.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sepuluhdesember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

stayed for 2 months on a business trip, and I left with a heavy heart, wanting for more work (hah!). Excellent English speaking crew, very nice rooms, amenities are top-notch (liked the coin operated washers) and an MTR station and a mall is right below the hotel. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darthrenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Whenever you are thinking to bring your family with children to this hotel, you should NEVER consider this hotel. This hotel does not like children.
Before staying in this hotel, I was stying in Hong Kong Hollywood Disney Hotel. I went to Hong Kong with my parents and my brother family with 3 children aged between 4-7 years old. Royal Plaza Hotel is not pleasant hotel to stay in. The hotel staff hates children who runs around or making noise in the lobby. The lobby itself is not a quiet area but they dare to scold the children and lecture thier mother (who is pregnant) for not controlling their children well. The children did not take or spoil anything. They just get too excited being in a new place.
Besides, the hotel staff is not friendly or helpful. There was once we saw a hotel bus providing free bus service to MTR train station. We went into the bus but was later told to get off from the bus because we need to register at the counter first. I do not mind to register but as a hotel guest, the driver at least must BRING us to the counter and help us to register. At that time, the bus was not even half full. This is RIDICULOUS when there are 3 children, a pregnant mother and 2 elderly who is over 65 years old who just want to take the bus.
Otherwise the breakfast was OK and expected for this hotel. They stay was OK. But I was not happy that the hotel give us the room which has pay-to-view pornographic considering there are children staying. At least they should take initiative to tell the parents first and change the TV leaflet stating there are pornographic. There are only one cartoon channel only.
In short, this hotel is never meant for FAMILY with children.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My husband and myself stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms were spacious, spotless and we were very pleased with almost every aspect of this place. The negative was when we went to book in after a very long 12 hour journey we were told "come with me". A porter took us up to the executive floor were a staff member tried to sell us an executive room. An extra £50 per night per couple could buy you breakfast, a few cocktails and a better room. She questioned us when we said that we never ate breakfast! We also would never be at the hotel for an evening as we tend to return only at the close of day. We were also not bothered about a larger room as we only intended sleeping there. It was definately in bad taste. All we wanted was to get to our room and pour out a wee drink and relax. We did not reckon on a four star (or maybe its 5 star) hotel giving us a sales pitch on arrival! Anyway, that said, everything was great after we got shot of the "saleswoman". Incidentally, we had lunch at the hotel on three occasions before heading out for the day so they still got our business. The lunch was inexpensive and buffet style as many places in Hong Kong were. Great value. The staff were very courteous and promt in coming to our room when on two occasions the chamber-person forgot to leave coffee. The metro is only a 12 minute walk away and from there you can go anywhere. There is one below the hotel but the travel is more limited (only one line). We did not use the swimming pool as it was Feb. I liked the fact that there appeared to be live music on every evening-a very good female singer. We only ever heard her at the end as we passed in the evening. There is also a shuttle bus to the train and then the airport. Very regular. I booked through bookings.com at the last minute as there are always good quality hotels who reduce their price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enquiries661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed at the Executive Club Room for 2 weeks, Room was pretty decent for the price we paid, clean and equipped with basic need. The card key separate non Executive Club visitor to access the floor and there is a separate check-in area after entering the top floor. They serve free full breakfast and snack at the lounge, which you can see a pretty nice view.

right below there is a 5 floor mall with public transport, and if you love outdoor Mongkok area is just out side of hotel.

Only dice I have is the paid internet service is not as good as the other hotel I stayed in Hong Kong, otherwise I have no complaint.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,285 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,138 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,627 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#29 of 718 in Hong Kong
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing