We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #29 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Had a comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2006

Just stayed in Royal Plaza Hotel for 2 nights. Its supposed to be 5 star but whenever I tell Hong Kongers that the response was "How can there be a 5 star hotel in Mongkok?" True enough it wasn't exactly luxurious and the surroundings are clearly not glam. But its clean and well maintained and the rooms are spacious. I had a very comfortable stay there.

Location wise its quite good. Maybe a 10 minute walk to the nearest MTR station which would take you to most places you would ever visit in Hong Kong (Causeway bay, central, Tsim sa tsui etc etc) within a maximum of 1 change of train (except to Disneyland). The walk to MTR isn't uncomfortable since its sheltered all the way.

Then there are all the cheap bazaars around at ladies market and fa yuen st. And cheap food all around, the hotel being situated in Mongkok.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite bad (or maybe its because our group was huge and the prepared food separately and served us substandard food) but again, this being Mongkok, it your stomach is relatively strong, it shouldn't be hard to find yummy local food to fill your tummies.

  • Liked — That its clean and spacious
  • Disliked — No complaints about the hotel
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank gua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    1,368
    231
    73
    42
See reviews for
1,563
673
155
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

The hotel is of a high standard. Rooms are very pleasant with an LCD TV in each room with there being a surpring number of English channels on TV.

Food is excellent although a little expensive when considering the number of local and cheaper restaurants.

The hotel is in a great location fro shopping - it is located on a large shopping mall and is only a couple of blocks from large street markets which are ridiculously inexpensive although many of the items are, of course, fake. The hotel is, however, some way from Honk Kong Island, being at the edge of Mongkok (although only a $30 HK (£2.50 / $6 US) taxi ride from the ferry to Hong Kong Island).

The gym and leisure centre is superb

Very nice hotel with few major detractions.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank kel_uk321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

Just came back from HK, stayed at the Royal Plaza for 2 nights. Was upgraded to a deluxe room at no extra charge. The staffs were friendly and helpful. The room was clean so is the toilet. The hotel is also located near the night markets. The sheltered walkway from the hotel to Mongkok MTR is a plus point as well as the shopping mall attached to the hotel. The train station below the hotel goes to China so its convenient for those who want to go to Shenzhen for day trips. I would stay in this hotel if I visit HK again.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sgpaperclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

I stayed at this hotel based on the recommendation of my travel agent. Initially I was told that this is a 5 star hotel but found out from some of the online hotel booking websites that it is more of a 4 star hotel instead. However, do not be put off by all these as the service that you will receive once you step into the hotel will make you feel like you are in a 5 star hotel. Front desk reception staffs were friendly and helpful throughout my stay there and facilities like the swimming and Jacuzzi pool were acceptable. I was allocated a smoking room and was duly informed by the reception when I checked-in even though I requested for one when I did my booking. However, the reception reassured me that the room had undergone a treatment beforehand. Once in it, I found the room very comfortable and don’t reek of cigarette smell at all! Everything was in the room as also in a good condition unlike some of the 5 star hotels I've been to where the cupboard doors were virtually going to drop! I requested for an ironing board and iron almost everyday and the hotel always promptly delivered it to my room almost immediately after my call. One thing however, was that the pillows were too soft and you may consider requesting for extra pillows. The location of the hotel was also superb as it’s located close to the goldfish market and the ladies market. If you are looking for cheap bargains, go to the shops along the alleys off Prince Edward Road as the stuffs that you will find at the touristy markets are generally more expensive. If you are taking the MTR to the hotel on a rainy day, alight at MongKok MTR station (Not Prince Edward Station) as it’s linked to the hotel's shopping complex by a sheltered overhead bridge. The walk will take you around 5 to 10 min depending on your walking speed of course. The hotel is also located above the MongKok KCR station where you can take the train to China or other more sub-urban shopping malls like the New Town Plaza at Shatin station. Overall, this hotel was a superb choice and I will definitely choose this hotel when I go back to Hong Kong again.

  • Liked — Good service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank Jianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adealide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2006

Spent 4 nights at the hotel and was very impressed. Impressive entrance, good sized rooms and very clean. This is a top notch hotel.

Nicely located outside the hustle and bustle of Kowloon. Has good links to train and the underground. If you like walking you can hike down to the touristy Kowloon or walk up to the New Territories.

Sits on top of a shopping centre. Taxi to Kowloon Airport Station is around $HK40. We took the airport bus to the hotel and it was a very long trip. On the way back we took a taxi to Kowloon Airport Station, checked our bags in at the Station (you can complete your airport checkin at the station) and then took the very comfortable and fast Airport train ($HK90 each) - would recommend this option over the airport bus.

I would say it is a fantastic hotel if you like to use your feet and be mobile - but if you want to be right in the middle of the action then you might want to select another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Webzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Royal Park Hotel
#43 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,361 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,413 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing