We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...gives real meaning to service and hospitality....”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We've been to HongKong a number of times and stayed at other hotels but none of these could beat our overall experience during our recent stay at this hotel. From the moment we checked in until our departure, we find the staff friendly, very informative and professional in conduct.....from the Executive Lounge staff right down to Engineering staff that we passed in the corridors.
The Executive Floor Suite on the 18th floor is spacious, tastefully decorated and service at the Executive Lounge was splendid. There's a good selection of food and drinks for the complimentary breakfast, teabreak and evening cocktail and wifi internet access was a breeze. We tried out the Chinese restaurant as well and I especially liked the dimsum lunch.
The Grand Century Mall is just adjacent to the hotel with easy access via a side door of the Lobby Lounge. At the other end of this mall is the Mongkok East MTR station and the hotel also offers free shuttle transfers to and from a fixed point at Tsim Sha Tsui a few times a day. Oh, there's also the Bird and Flower market just 5 mins walk around the corner...an interesting way to spend 1-2 hours of your spare time.
Wish we could have stayed longer and we will definitely come back to this hotel when we visit Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clwloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,137 - 3,143 of 4,104 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

It's my first trip to HK and we chose this hotel.
We like the large rooms, unlike others that I saw on review saying HK Hotels were small.
The service was good. Housekeeping service was prompt and you probably need to do a housekeeping call for bathrobes. Otherwise, our stay was pleasant.
We visited the gym and its well equipped. Thought of visiting it but I think our shopping had given us more than enough exercise.
The pool looks inviting but the weather was too cool for me to jump in, I understand their pool has underwater music. Too bad, I gave it a miss.
Maybe its just me and my spouse, travelling together plus cool weather, the walking to the more popular MTR line was a breeze. We stayed in the hotel for 5 days and everyday we walked to that direction. Next to this hotel was a shopping mall, where they have food court, restaurants, fast food and even a supermart. It's very convenient if you are in need to get anything.
Because of its location, its not noisy at all in the night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We took a taxi from the airport because it is really not easily accessible either by mrt or the citybus. The trip with 2 luggages is slightly less than hkd300. Like many travellers had said, the walk to the mtr is a real killer, especially with a lazy 4yr old in tow. Twice, we took a taxi from Fa Yuen Street back to the hotel. Yeh, we lost our way. And its not even my first trip to hk. The Century Mall connected to the hotel is nothing fantastic.

Check-in was swift as I went during off-peak season. Room is one of the biggest i ever stayed in HK, amenities fine, bed is good, pillows sux though. No bath robe. Bedroom slippers provided. Internet is hkd40/hr. .. its a disappointment. I had expected free Internet access

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kye_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and I would certainly give a good 4.5 stars for this hotel.
I stayed here with my wife and 5 year old daughter in the 19th floor executive floor and it was perfect. At check in, we were asked whether we wanted a king size bed or 2 queen size beds. We opted for the latter, we were told that there will be a half hour wait for that, as the room wasnt ready, with the option of taking a king bed if we wanted to check in straight away. We waited for about 20 min when we were given the keys for the room. The room is a good size, esp for HK standards. We were informed that we had free access to the executive lounge and complimentary internet access, and complimentary afternoon tea and evening cocktail at the executive lounge. We could make good use of this as we were traveling with our 5 year old who wanted to come back in the late afternoon or evening after sightseeing in the day. The food at the executive lounge was very good and there was good variety.
The hotel is conveniently located with access doors to the Grand Century Shopping complex at two levels. And also easy access to the Metro stations. Mongkok East station was less than 5 min walk through the Grand Century plaza and Mongkok station about 10-12 min walk from the hotel. This made it a very convenient location too.
We used room service only once and the food was very good.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. My daughter picked up a tummy bug on the day before we were to check out, staff were very helpful, housekeeping provided us with fresh linen and extra towels.
Overall a very good hotel. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsudhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Royal Plaza Hotel is located at Prince Edward Road West Mongkok , next to Grand Century Place Shopping Mall. The bedrooms are spacious, clean with big wardrobe, safe box and ironing board. Hotel staff are friendly. The only drawback is that the nearest MTR Station (Prince Edward Station) is about 10 mins walk and may be tiring for young children or old folks with walking problem. Otherwise, this is a great hotel, value for $$$. Additional +, the famous 'Tai Cheong eggtarts' are sold at the foodcourt on L5 at Grand Century Place Shopping mall.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WuMinSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Me & my husband with our two kids stayed here for 6 days. I booked thru the net a month ahead.I booked for a superior non-smoking and corner room. I communicated to Cherry Wan ( one of their reservationsales agent) for my requests and thanks to her. We checked in without hassle and was billeted to a family room instead ! We had a great view in our room(15th floor). Every morning before going out we took a dip in their swimming pool at the 8th floor.The kids loved it.It's a musical pool (you can hear musuc when you're in the water.) The service was very good. The staff's accomodating. A big mall (Grand Century) is adjacent to the hotel. MTR stations a walk away. You get good value for your money.On our next trip to Hongkong, for sure we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kYLEAPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed there for a few times arranged by my partner as his company always put him there when he is on business trip and he likes it. Like other past review has stated that it is not exactly in central location but the taxi in Hong Kong is so cheap and handy who needs to stay in the city centre where you have to pay 2 or even 3 times of the price we paid? The rooms are spacious compare to local standard. Although the deluxe room seem a bit dated and need some update. we have been upgraded to their executive room once and we love that. a very morden looking room it is. Too bad we were told upon check in that we are not allowed to use their facilities there as it seems nice enough. Overall we like this hotel and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onelightyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 725 in Hong Kong
760 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,078 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#28 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#51 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,459 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#45 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,012 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $120 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing