We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$844
$622
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$266
$199
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$594
$373
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$523
$482
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$304
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$801
$713
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Upper House(Hong Kong)
$637
$596
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$510
$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
$330
$196
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,374)
Filter reviews
4,374 results
Traveler rating
2,364
1,602
272
87
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,364
1,602
272
87
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoko mallflower marketmongkok east stationladies marketgrand century placefood operala scala restaurantlion rockprince edwardshopping centrefa yuen streetfamily roomclub floormongkok areaqueen sizeexcellent hotelroom number
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,648 - 2,653 of 4,374 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed with the recent stay as hotel undergoing face-lift. Closure of the link to shopping mall. Need to detour, making it utterly inconvenient despite its ideal location.
Look elsewhere during this period till Reno fully completed. It's taking much longer than as expected as it's carried out in different phases.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarlingSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We are in our mid 60's and stayed at The Royal Plaza Hotel for 3 nights. We were on aRoyal Club package which included concierge check in, full buffet breakfast, morning and afternoon tea and light dinner. We were there when the typhoon was coming. The staff did not go home and stayed to look after the guests. Peoples flights were delayed and they went out of their way to accommodate guests for extended stays. Jo who was our concierge helped us with all queries and made our stay enjoyable and hassle free.
Next door to the hotel is a shopping centre which contains a railway station. Otherwise you can walk out the front, turn left into Prince Edward West Street, walk as far as you can until the road is blocked, cross the road and there is Prince Edward railway station. You can buy an Oyster ticket at the station and can travel for only about $1 each way. You can go on trains, buses and ferries on tour Oyster ticket. All signs and the announcements are in both English and Chinese and they always announce when the stop is to change lines. The lines are color coded and easy to follow.
We bought a phone chip for our phones which were for Hong Kong and China. The only trouble is when you get to China we couldn't access the $10 credit so you are better not to buy a joint card. Also my husband,s phone was locked by his provider and wouldn't take a different chip.

Hong Kong is very clean and we had no trouble getting around.

Diana and David, Central Coast, Sydney, Australia.

Room Tip: We asked for non smoking and king size bed.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were travelling with a family of four (my parents and my husband) and stayed there for one night! Most of the HongKong Hotels has a late check-in around 2 -3pm and then 12pm check out. We got there before 12 so they were holding our luggages for us till we got back to the hotel later when our room is ready!

We somehow got upgraded to the executive floor on the 18th and we have a family room (two queen size beds). I have read some great reviews before but when I actually got to see the room with my own eyes, I immediately realised that I have made an great decision to stay here!

The hotel lobby and room are all very well designed and decorated! The room is clean and quite big for four of us! I learnt that the hotel is under some renovations during our stay, but that didn't bother us at all! Everything is perfect during our stay and not to mention, the hotel itself is connecting to a big shopping mall with less than five mins walking distance to the near subway station, which located inside of the shopping mall!

We personally like the Causeway Bay area, but if you are looking for hotels around the Mong Kok, this is definitely the place!

Room Tip: We have read that the higher the better, but I think it's all the same! Of course, if you get upgraded, that's probably better :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSSNAKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Modern rooms in a hotel right on the underground tube station. The rooms are lovely as is the Lion Rock bar. Happy hour from 1600-midnight. The La Scala restaurant is great for breakfast but can be very busy at lunch and dinner time with lots of locals taking advantage of the all you can eat buffet. The pool is closed which was a disappointment and there is a bit of other renovation work going on.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac070668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just checked into a room with two queen sized beds. The room itself is lovely but really small for a "family" room. Our kids are 14 and 12 so they were not pleased about having to share a bed to begin with but the lack of space is seeing all 4 of us tripping over each other. Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of our stay was being told the swimming pool is not available as it is under renovations. This information was not provided when I made my reservation through Hotel Club 2 months ago. Front desk was curt and insisted they told all their reservation agents that the hotel was under renovation. I responded that the hotel facility under renovation was not specified. The hotel is offering to pay for a taxi to travel to their sister hotel 20mins away to use the pool facilities there - not really an option. So if you're planning on bringing your family to Hong Kong, give this hotel a miss if you have kids and/or the parents are looking forward to lounging by the pool for a relaxing holiday. Free wi-if is great and condition of the room is nice. Getting to the hotel from the MTR was a nightmare as it wasn't well signed which was a challenge with baggage and kids. You have to negotiate your way up some stairs and through the hotel restaurants (not the shopping arcade) to then negotiate your way through dining guests and down more stairs to the lobby. Bring your sense of adventure and you'll manage or else you'd be rather unimpressed like we are. Would change hotels if we hadn't already paid up for the 4 night stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Team_Mesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews