We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service & value”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here in June for three nights on a room only basis with my two adult (20 & 19 y.o.) sons.The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was elegant with ample good quality toiletries.There were two USB sockets between the beds and two more at the desk; great for charging all our gadgets!There was a beautiful lounge bar with wonderful service. We ate there one evening (from the restaurant menu) and the food was great.We had the buffet breakfast on our last morning. The range and quality was fabulous, I don't believe that anyone could have failed to be fully satisfied.Unfortunately there were renovations going on that led to some construction noise and, worse, the pool being closed. I guess that's the price of progress!The hotel is joined to a great shopping mall (also under renovation) and also a MTR station (Mongkok East). It is also connected to the elevated walkways so you can easily get to the street markets and the Mongkok MTR station.I believe that the hotel has a shuttle service to TST but we didn't use that so can't commentAll the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely courteous.I look forward to returning!

3  Thank Kildress
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.

After the completion of the phase I renovation in November 2012, our Chinese restaurant - Di King Heen, the main lobby and about half of the guest rooms have acquired a brand new look with contemporary design. A new Junior Ballroom which can host up to 400 guests and a chic wine and cocktail bar, Lion Rock, are opened on Level 3.

The hotel is currently undergoing the phase II renovation. Health club and swimming pool are currently closed and undergoing an extensive makeover and they are expected to reopen by the end of September and October 2013 respectively. A new trendy reception area is now temporarily in use and a workout room with gymnasium facilities is currently available for in-house guests until the reopening of the health club.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,580 - 2,586 of 4,219 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 month old baby for three nights, we stayed in the royal club deluxe room with access to the royal club.
Big room, comfy big bed, big plasma tv, free wifi, coffee making machine, free water tea and coffee, breakfast included (both western and local options).
tv screen in bathroom, nice modern fittings, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, 2 items of clothing pressed daily. Cot provided nice and compact. Room quiet.
Royal club on 18th floor, free tea and coffee all day, snacks from 3-5pm, cocktails from 6-8pm, free wifi with a couple of booths to work from.
Close to MTR, Grand Century Palace mall and several markets(Ladies, flower and electronics) all in walking distance.
160 HK dollars per adult catching shuttle from airport or catch a cab 30 mins from airport 280 HK dollars.

Room Tip: Room facing the street is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed 5nights in this hotel with my family. The newly renovated rooms, the convenient location are all nice, but to me what sets this hotel apart is the staff and the friendly and professional service they provide. Any hotel is as good as its staff, and this hotel have mostly the right people doing the right job, from concierge to front desk to the restaurants. Also, they made every communication clear about the renovation work, and the regrets associated with it during the reservation process itself. So there was no surprise.
Out of all of them the one staff that needs special mention is Sam, in the La Scala restaurant. He was extremely proactive in understanding our needs(given we have two small kids), and was always eager to go out of the way and help us.
The only issue that I think needs improvement is serving exactly the same breakfast menu everyday. The same food, same taste kept in the same place became bit boring after two days, and the choices of food are a bit limited compared to other hotels of same standard in other cities. (I haven't stayed in any other hotel in HongKong though)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are glad to receive your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your valuable comment regarding the breakfast menu has been brought to the attention of the concerned department which would help to improve our service quality.

Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked this hotel with 6 of my family. We were give interconnecting rooms - one with King Bed and the other with double beds. Then rooms a huge. I think it can accommodate more than 10 people. This hotel has a mall below it and a direct access to the MTR. From the lobby to the MTR station is just like 2-3mins walk - air-conditioned! There is a free shuttle bus to and fro hotel to Airport Express - Mongkok station. This made our traveling easier. There is also an overpass directly going to Mongkok station- this is like where all the shopping stalls are! The MTR near the hotel made our stay avery convenient since we don't need cabs to go around. The hotel has good breakfast buffet at a very minimal price (try to look for an offer that includes breakfast since I cant find one). I will come back to HK on November and I will surely book with them again :)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank DennisJeux777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and this hotel is awesome.The room is new renovation and of course it is very clean, spacious and modern. They gave us to up grade the room become the royal club room and it was very nice.
The bed is very comfortable and clean, i can sleep well. They provided us coffee maker too in our room and we love it.
I love the bathroom. They have separated toilet and shower , they have nice bath tub too with small TV/LCD in front of the bath tub. The staff so kindly, friendly and very helpful.
This hotel also provide free shuttle bus to tsim sha tsui and kowloon station.

About location, this hotel is on the top of MTR Mongkok East and directly linked to shopping center, Grand Century Place. So, it is very easy to go everywhere by MTR. Also, this hotel is very near with Mongkok and Ladies Market, just need a walk (you don't need to take the MTR to go to Mongkok Area besides you don't want to walk) because you can find a brigde near this hotel or Grand Century Place and you can pass through the bridge to go to Mongkok area. There are so many cheap and delicious cantonese restaurants there. You also can find some bakeries around there which sell yummy bread, chicken pie, egg tart and bakpao ect.

So, I will back to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith_76045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.
Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a fantastic hotel great for family's great location staff very friendly and so helpful . Rooms where spotless and the security was very high . My next trip to Hong Kong will be at the Royal plaza I would not stay anywhere else when visiting Hong Kong

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.
Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I had stayed in this hotel in August 2011 and 2012. The room is very spacious. We always booked for double double room which are big enough to accommodate four of us with a lot of luggages. The room is clean and they provide us with tea, coffee and mineral water complimentary. The bathroom is spotless and spacious. Staffs are polite and helpful. They provide free shuttle bus to go to Mongkok and tsim sa chui. There is mtr station connecting to this hotel. If you plan to go to Shenzhen. You can directly take the mtr from the east Mongkok station located next to this hotel.
There are only two drawback of this hotel are very limited eating places. If you plan to go to Hong Kong disneyland, causeway, the peak, you need to change the mtr station twice before reaching those places. There is no direct connection from mtr service to those places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.
We have 3 dinning outlets in our hotel, western restaurant La Scala, chinese restaurant Di King Heen and a new bar Lion Rock Bar are providing a wide variety of gourmet cuisines, ranging from Chinese fare to international favourites.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,035 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#39 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,121 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,238 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,041 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $131 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing