We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #28 of 698 Hotels in Hong Kong
1 review
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Room have a great view with cozy area. Nice bath tub, great toiletries, awesome range of tv channels. Right next to mongkok east mtr and walking distance to mongkok mtr and the surrounding street markets. Definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLim25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.
we are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    1,217
    208
    72
    38
See reviews for
1,306
574
134
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked more than 21 days in advance for a grand plaza double double room and got more than that! Although I knew the hotel was under renovation I chose it for the location, the double size beds and the Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. I also wanted to stay near an MRT and also somewhere nice in Mongkok where my family could stay somewhere nice while I went out shopping to the Ladies Market and Langham Place (H&M) nearby!

When we arrived we got upgraded to the executive floor on the 19th. Although we had to walk up two flights of stairs to the executive floor as there was no elevator to that floor, the room
was ultra modern and the bathroom was amazing with a separate bath and shower! The glass panel between the bathroom and room made it more spacious. The beds were so comfortable and fitted my family of 4 as well as there was a nespresso machine to indulge my coffee habit! You could hear a bit of the renovation going on but it didn't bother us at all.

The hotel is connected to the Grand Century shopping mall which is also under renovation but once it is done should be awesome. We managed to get a few bargains at Espirit and Bossini as in Hong Kong winter clothes were on special and it was perfect time as it would be winter once we got back to Sydney. They had a McDonalds downstairs so you could have breakfast there or at the bakery and there were other restaurants and café so you didn't need to go out at all. I kept going back to one restaurant for their thai pineapple fried rice yum!

We had an incident coming home from HK Disneyland one day, but the duty managers were so quick and helpful to resolve the issue and apologise to us even to the point that we got given a buffet breakfast, lunch and limo transfer to the airport now that's what I call excellent customer service and definitely royal treatment.

Even if this didn't happen the staff were very polite and accommodating they certainly know how to take care of their customer! I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is good and centralised. It is somewhat pricey, but worth for the stay and convenience. Room is spacious and well-equipped.
On one occasion, I didn't have the room card and went to the receptionist for assistance. They were careful to check against the particulars registered under the room before helping me to tap the lift to get to the level.
Hotel should provide free local calls from the room as part of the service package which could enhance the stay experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miincz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Truly enjoyed the 5 days stay here. Stayed in Royal club deluxe room & it is nothing short of splendid. Being a frequent traveller to HK, and trying different hotels each time, this is by far the best in HK I have stayed. Definitely considering coming back here each time. Hotel staff are very polite and helpful, awesome service and attitude. Room is very clean, spacious and modern. They have a very nice Chinese restaurant named Di King Heen which I have dim sum breakfast for. Definitely will try La Scala on the next visit. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicialeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your valued comments towards our newly renovated rooms and your wonderful compliments to our outstanding guest services.
We are glad to know that you enjoy the food at Di King Heen and look forward to serving you at La Scala soon.
Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
395 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good:
-Walk a few steps to the nearest mall.
-Cosy lobby.
-Lobby has a comfortable bar, for drinks.
-Front office staff is helpful.
-Breakfast buffet has a good spread.
-Nearest hotel to Shenzhen, China.

Bad:
-Standard room is small.
-Because of its old age, interiors maybe outdated.
-Not convenient compared to the city hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singlish_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A good place to spoil yourself. The executive floor option is well worth the extra expense. The service is detailed and attentive. The room is excellent, however, it follows the ridiculous trend in providing a clear view of the bathroom from the living area, requiring an electric screen to be lowered for privacy. The club floor gave excellent service and a very quiet area to enjoy the provided food and beverages, with a view. The breakfast at the club floor was very pleasant and more than adequate, as opposed to the much broader selection but greater chaos provided at the general breakfast restaurant. As we were catching an early morning flight, the club floor reception organised a 5:45 AM room service breakfast. Try it once.

Room Tip: The club floor is worth the extra expensive. The provided food and beverages in the evening are exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilfrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the food and beverages we provided at our Royal Club Lounge.
Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.
Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The location is good very near to MTR Mong Kok East station and very near to shopping mall.
The room is luxury and the bed is very comfortable. We stay on the double double room which fits 4 adults with 2 king beds. You can travel back to airport via taxi (around 300 HKD). The Lion Rock bar on 3rd floor has enjoyable cocktails.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nont N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#26 of 698 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#54 of 698 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#43 of 698 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,438 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 698 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 4,662 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#36 of 698 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing