We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! One of the very best experience !”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. Service was superb, and the bed is very comfortable.

The hotel is undergoing renovation, but we were kindly provided a survivor kit. We normally leave the hotel around 11am, had no issues as it isn't that bad.

We had an easy check in, it's our honeymoon trip our bed was decorated with petals and a basket of fruit was given as complimentary gift. We felt welcome by the team.

The room is spacious according to HK standard, bathroom etc were all modern and clean.

We will not hesitate to come back. As described by other reviewers, its not right next to MTR but it is about 8 mins walk from mongkok station.

Every staff is helpful, every night is well served. We miss HK.... We will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyjff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

We are glad to receive your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms . Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,631 - 2,637 of 4,216 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our trip started by Googling all hotels in Hong Kong. Found out that the Royal Plaza Hotel was the only hotel in Hong Kong which will accomodate a family of four. Most hotels will only fit 2-3 people only. Always look for a new hotel or newly renovated hotels as we are germ freaks, and try to get everything as new as possible to stay in.

We emailed the Royal Plaza and they responded and we gave our credit card over to reserve the hotel room. Double double Family Room. Expensive, nonsmoking, 2 queen beds.

Not able to speak much Cantonese, we arrived to an all English speaking staff. The service was awesome. Everyone smiling, and always offering to help. No smoking anywhere. Took our bags up to our room upon checkin. Have to leave a deposit with Visa credit card. Electronic keys that allow you onto elevator, room, and powers the room.

Interior of hotel was beautiful. We were on the 17th floor. All renos completed at this level. Quiet. New smell.

Two queen beds. Brand new bed linens, towels...everything was new. Didn’t turn on TV as too much to do in Hong Kong. The bathrooms are glass walled, and a mechanical shade could be lowered for privacy. All the amenities of a 5 star hotel.

Didn’t try any of the hotel’s restaurants as too much to eat at street eateries and restaurants, but the restaurants did look nice.

Best hotel I stayed at in China. It would compare with 5 star hotels in Canada.

Do stay here, and you will be carefree about the cleanliness of the hotel.

Hope this helps everyone, and take some of the worries away from travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CalgaryCalgaryfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms. Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

At the airport we bought 2 octupus passes at HK$300 each ($50 each is refunded when handed in at the end less a small $8 fee) which covered 2 airport express train rides to Kowloon station and unlimited MTR rail rides for 3 days. I suggest you top up this amount to allow extra bus rides and small puchases at many stores, particularly the 7-11s, throughout Hong Kong. From Kowloon we caught the 5K free shuttle bus bus to the Royal Plaza hotel. The service runs every 20 minutes.
The hotel room was very well appointed, spacious, has a very comfortable bed and excellent lighting.  The bathroom is large and is glassed in although there is an automatic blind that can be lowered by a  switch  located in the bathroom. All staff were very courteous and friendly.  The breakfast was an extra HK$40 each, which you need to book ahead for at the check in desk for this rate, and was a sumptuous buffet with large selection of cold and hot western and eastern food. Much of the hot food, such as eggs, omelettes, noodle dishes etc were freshly cooked on demand.
The hotel is located above the Monk Kok east MTR railway station however main Mong Kok railway station is a 10 to 15 minute walk away through t he shopping plaza and is via a covered over street walkaway, which is also interesting as you see an overhead view of the markets and streetscape.
The hotel is connected to the Grand Century Shopping Plaza that has a wide range of shops and eateries - including a MacDonalds is you need to eat after 10pm as we did on arrival. There are very good restaurants to suit all budgets in the plaza, The hotel is within walking distance of the Kowloon ladies market, flower market etc as well as the Nathan Street shops - the number of shops is mind boggling.
Although the gymnasium facilities are limited due to rennovations we did not need it in any case as we had enough walking to look at all the shops in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SydneyConcordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked the room not knowing there were major renovations going on. They've closed off the floors from the lobby to the 12th + the swimming pool and gym. You do hear the drilling come 8:30am every morning and while it's not terribly loud the further up you are, it is noticeable. As a nice touch, they provide ear plugs at check-in!

The nice part about the hotel is that it is easy to get to. If you take the airport express train to Kowloon station, there is a free shuttle bus that stops right at the front door. (In the reverse way, this makes it easy to get back to the airport on check-out.) The hotel also sits atop the Mongkok East train station (although this is not the main line to get to most tourist places), and Mongokok station, which is on the more convenient Red line (not sure the name of the line) is only a 7 minute walk away

When we checked in, the first room we were given had the lingering smell of cigarette smoke. When we asked for a change of rooms, we were originally told to stay and that someone would come by to treat the room. This amounted to a housekeeper squirting some perfumed liquid from a small squirt bottle - which didn't work. We were then moved to another room which was fine. The staff who helped us at the front desk and the porter who helped us move our bags were terrific. Over the course of the week, we continued to smell smoke in our room and figured it had to do with the air conditioning system. Not sure why this is but if you're sensitive to cigarette smoke, this could be a problem.

Around the hotel, there are tons of little places to eat and explore so it will keep you busy for a while.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards the convenient location.

The problems of cigarette smell that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of management. We will enhance the ventilation system and try our best to persuade the guests smoking at the outdoor area of the hotel.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is newly renovated and the rooms are spacious compared to others in Hong Kong. They are very clean too. Though it is not located along the Nathan Road or Tsimshatsui MTR line, it is just 5 minutes walk on the foot bridge from the Mongkok MTR station.The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially Alan. He was prompt in helping us to get the safe fixed. When we checked out, he helped us to load our luggage into the taxis quickly. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanjongkatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are glad to receive your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Plaza last end of March with the family, we requested for a rm near the elevator and a late check out , all our requests had been granted, thanks to the staff. Although the hotel is still renovating it didn't bother us much . The room we stayed in was spacious with 2 queen sized beds, the bathroom was clean which is a main concern for me.Its located inside a mall which is convenient for us although I missed the supermarket upstairs and their fastfood area because there used to be one, I hope they put it back after the renovation. Its walking distance to Prince Edward night market and a bit of walk to Mongkok night market. If you want to go to TST they have a shuttle bus that goes back and forth. We have stayed in Royal Plaza previously and if staying in Kowloon area its still the hotel we would choose.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is not well situated. If you are someone who prefers a lively area with lots of shopping just few steps away, this is not the hotel for you. Hotel is located at some neighborhood area with no shopping in sight. The nearest MTR station from the hotel is 15 minutes walk. It is in the middle of 2 stations and the more convenient line for you to take, is the one further away. Alternatively, you can take a taxi to the nearest station and take a taxi back from the nearest station. Even for the taxi, it is not that convenient as the taxi has to take many turns and move up before it can reach the lobby door.

Although it is rated as a 5 stars hotel, it is definitely not up to par. I do not know how the rating was given to this hotel. The location is a big inconvenient, the check-in was slow and the staff were not very helpful or friendly. They even charge you a 100 HKD deposit if you want to get an umbrella from them during rainy days.

The hotel is currently undergoing it's second phase of major renovation and can be noisy in the day to disrupt your sleep. We got a room at the 13 floor but requested to change after we realized that the room can be noisy in the day due to the fact that the renovations are just at level 12 and below. We changed to a room on the 15 floor, but you can still hear the noise.

The gym is located in a small guest room at the 13 floor with no signage. I had to ask the 2 different staff before I could get to the gym. On top of that, the operating hours are from 0700 - 2100. This is not great as by the time you get back to the hotel, it is probably beyond 9pm.

The hotel is so far that once you travel out of the hotel area, you wouldn't want to go back anymore till the end of the day. It makes it inconvenient if you're thinking of going back to the room to put down your stuff before you continue on your adventure.

However, the room is nice and very new. If you prefer a nice room and willing to travel, you can consider.

Room Tip: Higher floors might not be affected by the noise generated by the renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhiteWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of management about our service standard. We will take all necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction. A directional signage will be placed at the lift lobby of 13th floor which indicates the location of the fitness room. Also, the new gymnasium and swimming pool is expected to reopen in the 4th quarter of this year.

Regarding the deposit for hotel umbrella, we found that the loss of umbrella had highly reduced after this deposit policy had been applied. This helps us keep sufficient inventory of umbrella to serve our in-house guests at anytime.

For the location of the nearest MTR station from our hotel, actually, there is a MTR station namely “Mongkok East” located at our adjacent shopping mall. It only takes guest 2-minute on foot from our hotel to there. Also, the travel time from Mongkok East station to TST Station, where is one the most famous shopping areas in HK, is around 10 minutes.

We apologize for all the inconvenience caused by the hotel renovation and we are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,026 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#39 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,120 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,232 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,037 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $129 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing