We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I've been traveled to Hong Kong for 5 days and we check in at this hotel. Overall is good, nice hotel in Kowloon area. The service is good, staff are helpfull. For the food is nice.Presentation for buffet is simple, nice arrangement.
The location of the hotel is very near with shopping area either inside in mall or outside mall. I will be stay in this hotel again if I travel to Hong Kong

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,580 - 2,586 of 4,136 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel couple years ago, when I found out that they have renovated, decided to come back.

Rooms are very nice and stylish but seem smaller than before.
Beds are very comfortable.

Staff are very friendly - including those who work at the Hotel restaurant.

MTR station is about 10 mins walk but if you take the route thru Fai Yuen Street, then you won't notice the time/distance at all.....

One thing that we still notice was the "SMOKEY" air in the hallway as well as inside the room.
We were told that this Hotel is now "SMOKE" free but guess not all Guests abide the rule.

The hotel is still under renovating, if you don't leave the hotel before 9 am, you'd still hear the noise but bearable. We stayed on 13th floor and have requested a higher level but the hotel was fully booked.....

I would recomend staying at Royal Plaza Hotel - it would be nice if they offer better deals once in a while!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms. Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of management. We will enhance the ventilation system and try our best to persuade the guests smoking at the outdoor area of the hotel.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights... Problems that I encounter 1) the room (1618)allocated to us was at the far end of the hotel from the lift ... for wheelchair user to move along the carpet flooring is very taxing 2) from hotel to the MTR or shopping mall u need to get out of the hotel and use the pathway which is not a smooth flooring ( wheels got stuck most of the time especially towards the glass door to the mall and nobody help us to open the 2 glass door because by opening 1 door the space is too small for the wheelchair to pass through and there's on stopper for the door to stay open SO we will left there" ENJOYING" the cold wind as it was raining outside until some passerby help us to hold the doors ) when getting back to the hotel I ask the doorbell to help me with the glass door ...Guess what... The first thing he ask me was( are u coming to our hotel)disappointed that he dun recognize their guest 3) the MTR (mong kok east) the gap for the platform to the train is very big and the height is also too high .... It's really not an easy task to use this line ... The other lines are ok. I ended up using taxi all the time.....Definitely not coming back ( hotel itself is ok but not for wheelchair user)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa_luvrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

I am glad to learn that you have accepted our apology and explanation during your recent tele-conversation with our Guest Service Manager, Jacky.

Meanwhile, I would like to take this opportunity to share some useful information for wheelchair user with you. After the completion of hotel renovation in this summer, some rooms specially designed for wheelchair user will be available. Also, the staircases connecting the hotel and the shopping mall will be replaced by a ramp by end of 2014. All the above changes will make us become more wheelchair-user friendly.

Thank you for your comments. We will look into it for further improvement in terms of service and facilities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel has just gone through new renovations for their rooms and is absolutely stunning!!! Glass bathroom that you can see from the bed. The hotel is connected to a shopping mall and train station which makes it very convenient. Very very close to Fa Yuen market, ladies market, goldfish and flower market! staff are very friendly and is good at speaking english!! We will definitely come back to stay here when we go back to hong kong. The only downside is they are still renovating their fitness studio and swimming pool until next year :(

2  Thank ssusant
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We are glad to receive your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

As the phase 1 renovation was recently completed, over 300 rooms have been already renovated. Also, a new bar called Lion Rock and Chinese restaurant at 3/F are open now. Besides, now all the in-house guests can enjoy free wifi at our hotel.

The phase 2 renovation is currently undergoing. The main lobby, the rest of the guest rooms, the health club and swimming pool are currently closed and undergoing an extensive makeover and they are expected to reopen by the end of June, July and August 2013 respectively.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good point :
1) Room size is consider as big, in such a small Hong Kong Island.
2) Room is clean, new and stylish, just after renovation. In fact, renovation at other facilities of hotel is still going on. However, basically no worries about the noise in the room.
3) Bed is comfortable, shower is very stable with high water pressure. However, toilet is "transparent", and with no blind, hahaha.
4) Breakfast is full of variety, with full of choices.

Some points to be considered :
1) Location is near to MongKok East, but NOT the famous MongKok. You need to walk about 6~8 minutes to MongKok Station.
2) Check in / Check out process is a bit slow, easily take you more than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YSBanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

Regarding the check-in procedure, we will look into it and find whatever ways to improve it.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

First things first..... to get to this hotel from the airport is easy, convenient and at a very minimal cost. Upon exiting the departure hall, proceed to the Airport Express Shuttle counter to get the train ticket. Purchase as group ticket is cheaper than individual ticket. Train ride will take you approx. 15 mins and you wont feel the time as you will be overjoy that you are going to have a holiday in the island. There are only 3 stops from this ride and you got to get off at Kowloon station (2nd stop). Spend another 5 - 10 mins walk to the bus station (indoor) and board the free shuttle bus - K5 to the hotel. The bus interval is approximately 20 mins. If you are unsure, as you walk there are many helpful staff around which will lead you through.

When the bus stop infront of the hotel, the staff will be ready to assist you with your luggage and lead you all the way to the check in counter. Checking in was smooth and since the renovation is still on going, ear plug is provided but we hardly use it. Before the work start we are out and by the time we reached back the work has stopped. There is a tour desk at your dispense and the staff is very helpful giving you all option that best suits your travel needs. The lobby is not very huge hence it may get crowded at times but it still bearable. We were lucky this time around as we got free upgrade to executive floor for 2 of our bookings ie. One Double Double Room and One King Room. Thanks for the upgrade guys.

As we take our lift up the noise level stays within the first few level of the property. By the time we reach 18th floor..... lovely no noise at all and we are greeted with a nicey refurbished hotel. It looks elegant and fantastic. The room is great with good space to move around. Bed is lovely, layout is great, the interior design is classy and makes us feel so comforatble in it. Shower is chicky with a open shower concept. Of course you can opt to roll down the automated roman shilloute shutter from the toilet. On top of all this th little touch of providing free wi-fi is another plus point to the hotel management. A great success on the refurbishment.

One tiny comment here is on the complimentary water. Since is a double double room and is known to accomodate 4 persons, the number of complimentary water should also account to 4 instead of 2 only. Should look into this so that guest wont trouble the housekeeping to bring up the additional 2 bottle although the request is attended to swiftly.

Did not manage to explore other facilities within the property as we are on the move most of the time. Attached to the hotel is a huge shopping complex but majority of the shops still lies within the ground and 1st floor. Other floors are still undergoing renovation for all upcoming tenants. Dont be afraid to explore further up as the 5th and 6th floor do have restaurant to add to the varierty of foods that is available in grd and 1st floor. MTR is just adjacent to the shopping complex, taxi stand is infront and a bus station is just a step from the main entrance of the complex. Transportation is convenient and also free shuttle ride to Tsim Sha Tsui. What more we can ask for.

Within walking distance will be all the Hong Kong famous streets. From the map it looks far but as you stroll along the street with so many things to see and eat, you wont feel the distance. Infact this is the best way to see the streets and blend with the local livelihood.

Overall it is a great hotel to stay in at a strategic location and easily assessible by all mode of transport there is to offer in Hong Kong. Hopefully the management will do enough from now on to maintain the hotel after its successfull refurbishment till my next visit. Of course beside the management, we all as guest of the hotel will also need to play our part on this. Till the next trip to Royal Plaza, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank YongCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.

Also, regarding the supply of compliment water, we will definitely work out a better solution.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The room is kinda big for Hong Kong as for what i have been told most of the Hong Kong hotel's rooms are small. The bathroom is very nice. The hotel is attached to a shopping mall and the MTR (train) is just below the hotel/mall. There are also few famous Markets (Fa Yuen street market, Ladies Market etc) just nearby. A lot of Circle-K & 7-Eleven nearby too. All & all i would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: get the double double room as the bed is a 2 queen size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We are glad to receive your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
824 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,118 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#43 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,052 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,997 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $137 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing