We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good hotel but a bit disappointing this time”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #49 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Jingzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still a good hotel but a bit disappointing this time”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. The first time we took mtr but had to drag our luggage and kids through the mall all the way to the hotel so this time we learned and took the bus from the airport and the stop was right in front of hotel..fantastic. Had to wait for the room so went to mall to eat. Great that it's so conveniently located next to malls. Breakfast buffet is still good. The only thing was that this time we booked the noah's ark exploration package. Which advertised that it included (cut from website):

One night accommodation in Superior Room
Two complimentary Noah's Ark admission tickets.
Round trip shuttle bus service to/from Mongkok Grand Century Place & Noah's Ark
Welcome fruit
Complimentary daily buffet breakfast for 2 persons at 2+2 café.
Complimentary shuttle bus service to/from hotel & Tsimshatsui
Free use of Health Club facilities including gymnasium, swimming pool & steam room

We did not get our welcome fruit but that was fine. But we thought we get two tickets for every night we booked and since we booked 2 nights we thought we'd get 4 tickets...but we were informed that no matter how many nights you book you only get 2 tickets. So if you want/need more tickets then you will need to book each night separately. Then when my husband went to book the listed round trip shuttle bus to mongkok and noah's ark, he was told he would have to pay for it. He was surprised since it was listed as one of the privileges but was told my the manager that since it does not specifically state that it is a "complimentary" service that statement is simply to inform you that it is a service that is available. That didn't seem right. All that to say is if you book this hotel and choose one of the special promotional packages know that if it does not state "complimentary" you will still have to pay for the service mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fucuixia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Royal Park Hotel as your accomodation during your last visit in Hong Kong. I am glad to know you find our hotel in good location and my staff had do their best to make your stay comfortable. Concerning the room package issue, please accept my sincere apologies on the inconvenience caused. The Marketing Team had look into the wording and amend as appropriate. Hope that this isolated incident did not mar your overall impression towards our hotel. Once again, thank you for staying with us in the past and should you wish to visit Hong Kong in future. You may contact the undersigned directly for reservation. My colleagues and myself are look forward to welcoming back to our hotel in future.
Wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    518
    88
    11
    7
See reviews for
397
246
74
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here 10 days on a long stay package as we were visiting people Shatin. The room (1 king bed which they call a double) was really roomy with a sitting area and chaise. People at the hotel are really helpful and speak many languages. There's alot of hotel-run restaurants to choose from which seem to offer some kind of very popular buffet at any time of the day. This hotel was connect to a busy mall which also includes the Yata grocery and department store, lots of eateries, and low-high end shopping. Definitely a bit out of the central HK, but convenient enough to get there by MTR and find some downtime. Well-equipped gym with adjoining pool and deck, steam rooms. Also, very walkable to river, boardwalk and park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choco388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Royal Park Hotel as your accomodation whilst your visit in Hong Kong. I am glad to learn of your positive comments towards our hotel regarding good location and my collleagues did do their very best to make your stay comfortable. Once again, thank you for staying with us, my colleagues and myself are look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel in future. Should you plan to come to Hong Kong, please take some time to browse on our hotel website for our latest room promotion or email to Executive Office for resevation. Wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a family during our visit to HK. This hotel is at a very convenient location, right above the MTR station in Shatin. Rooms are large and easily sleep 4. There
is free shuttle between the hotel and Tsimshatsui. If you get an Octopus card, you can use
the MTR for transportation. The Wifi service is free also.

Room Tip: Good location for shopping and eating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlau2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Royal Park Hotel as your accomodation during you last visit to Hong Kong. I am pleased to learnt you find our hotel in convenient location and my staff did do their very best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. should you wish to return to our hotel in future, please take some time to browse on our hotel website for our latest room promotion. Wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are in Hong Kong for a short strop over this is a great place to stay. The A41 bus takes you from the airport to the hotel door for only HK$24, even better if you are going I to the city get an Octopus card and you can use the MTR and ferries as well. The hotel is efficient and modern. We had a family room for three of us, breakfast included. Good value. We used the MTR to get into the city and went to Star Ferry Pier to watch the light show and crossed back and return on the ferry. Only took some 20 minutes to get there, on a Sunday evening. Breakfast was a great selection and the pool was large and outdoors, partly under cover. Overall we would recommend and return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Royal Park Hotel and taking your time to provide positive comment on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to know you find our hotel location in very convenient location and our facilities is up to your expectation. Should you plan to return to our hotel in future, please take some time to browse on our hotel website for our latest room package promotion. My colleagues and myself are look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming back to our hotel. Once again, thank you for staying with us and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is not easy choosing a hotel in a huge city like HK when you have never been there! We opted for the Royal Park because of price, good reviews, the pool and the room size. Rooms indeed are very large, which is handy if you travel with (a) kid(s) and stay a number of days. The rooms have a vague 70ies feel to them, but this is just the design - nothing is worn and all is impeccably clean. Room is also well designed with a safe, a desk, lots of sockets and room for all your stuff. Large window, so lots of light. Pool and gym both very nice. Staff is also friendly and helpful and English is very good.
Obviously, this place is out of the way. It is very well connected to ShaTin MTR station (you walk directly into New Town mall from the 3rd floor of the hotel. A 10 minute walk through this nice but very crowded mall will get you to the mtr).Even though the MTR is very efficient, you will have to change trains about 2-3 times each time you want to get to TST or island (4 times for Disneyland). This does wear you out over time, especially if you are with s stroller, stay multiple days and want to do lots of sightseeing.
We did not have breakfast in the hotel. Note that tgere are lots of options in New Town mall, but they do not open till 10 am.
We ended up not using the pool that much. On a next visit i might therefore opt for a hotel in Kowloon proper, even though i really liked Royal Park, the room and their service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Royal Park Hotel as your accomodation during your last visit to Hong Kong. I am pleased to learnt you find our hotel in good location and the facilities are suit for your need. My colleagues and myself are look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had recommended this hotel to my sister and saw her room, it was great. I stayed here in early August and was impressed with the room. It was very quiet (I had asked for a quiet room) most of the time, a group on the floor above, were a bit noisy, but quieted down after a couple of hours. The hotel is adjacent to New Town Plaza in Sha Tin, so there are plenty of shops, restaurants, cinema, etc. to keep yourself entertained. The Heritage museum is located only a few blocks away and on Wednesdays, it's free. Transportation to any point in Hong Kong is readily available, including the airport. The rate is quite reasonable too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with Royal Park Hotel and taking the time to provide comment on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to know you find our hotel in good location which is easy to commute to other places in Hong Kong. Hotel is situated next to New Town Plaza which provide plenty of shopping experience to you. Once again, thank you for choosing Royal Park Hotel whilst you are travelling to Hong Kong. Should you plan to visit Hong Kong in the future, please take some time to browse on our website for our latest room packages. Wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pros:
- The room is nicely decorated, well equipped and maintained. That's the most important factor (to me).
- In-room WiFi was included (at least in the hotel deal I got).
- Just a 5-minute walking distance (indoor walk) from the Shatin MTR station.
- The hotel is practically located IN a shopping mall. Very convenient for shopping.

Cons:
- The architecture of the hotel is rather odd. When you enter the hotel from the MTR direction (which was the main entrance from my perspective), you have to walk through the dining room to reach the hotel reception or the elevators. Strange, isn't it?
- It greatly depends where you need to be, but Shatin is a bit distant from the city center.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TalMizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay wit hus and your comments on TripAdvisor. I am glad to learn you find our hotel facilities suit with your expectation and my colleagues had done their best to make your stay comfortable. Moreover, your compliment on our location which is next to the mall is a big plus for all visitors who enjoy shopping. Should you wish to return to our hotel in future, please take your time to browse on our hotel website for all the latest room packages or email to the undersigned for reservation. Wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,719 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Ovolo Southside
#37 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: No.8 Pak Hok Ting Street | Shatin, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Shatin district and adjacent to New Town Plaza, the biggest shopping mall in Hong Kong. Five minutes walk from MTR station. Easy access to Central and TST by means of public transport. Hotel runs regular comlimentary shuttle bus service to and from TST to hotel. Regular public bus A41 run between Hong Kong International Airport and hotel. The journey takes around 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Park
Royal Park Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing