We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service and Hotel”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #46 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was difficult to find a reasonable hotel rate for a family with a decent location / room size / good hotel quality in Hong Kong. Enter Royal Park Hotel. Though it isn't located in the hustle and bustle of Tsim Sha Tsui or Mongkok, I rather appreciated it. It was far enough away from the concentrated crowds while offering many location-based amenities. Shopping, dining, and transportation are all at your fingertips. The hotel is connected to New Town Plaza which is connected to the MTR as well as several other shopping centers (Shatin Plaza, Lucky Plaza, Hilton Plaza, Citylink). RP also offers a free shuttle to TST. All you have to do is sign up for a time and be in the lobby 5 minutes before departure. Every staff member was kind, smiling, and helpful. We will definitely be staying here again when we travel to HK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your positive comments towards our hotel.
I am glad that the our staff had do a good job to make your stay an enjoyable one.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 18 nights in January 2013, as we wanted to explore the entire Hong Kong for our holiday. Originally, we were planning to stay somewhere in Mongkok/near the centre of the busy city as it would have been much more convenient. But weighing up the convenient location in Mongkok or a nice spacious room as what we have read on tripadvisor, we definitely chose a nice spacious room (since we are used to spacious rooms in aus).

It was quite difficult to find the location after our flight from Australia, as we decided to catch a bus ($24HKD compared to the shuttle bus $140HKD). But considering The bus drivers do not really understand english, even after pointing out the map/chinese name of the hotel I printed, we stopped off one stop earlier (at the New town plaza) rather than the supposed stop in front of our hotel. We ventured into the shopping centre as there was definitely a way to get into the hotel rather than walking all the way around. To get to the hotel, you had to be on level 3 of the shopping centre and follow the signs, but it leads you to the 2+2 Cafe and when we asked the ladies where the hotel was we had to walk around and got lost again.

Anyway, the beds were a little bit hard and pillows arent as soft as the ones at home so after 2 weeks we were really feeling the aches and pains where it shouldnt have been! The staff at concierge were always helpful and luckily they could understand english. They even knew our names and room numbers (probably because we stayed there for so long). The free shuttle bus service is very convenient as we would usually get around by the MTR which was fine by us anyway (very easy to use and comes very frequently but regardless of the time it is always packed and busy!). It stops at Tsim Sha Tsui where you can catch an MTR to connecting places or shop! Just don't be late on the way back to the hotel otherwise you will stand there for a while thinking "did it come or is it late".

Great internet service (free with our room package), and their 2+2 buffet is AMAZING. Also, note that if you do not have a "do not disturb" sign up the cleaners will come in at 9:30am to clean only to realise you are still in the room, so make sure you put it up then take it off when you leave your hotel room if you want it cleaned.

Overall I found this hotel convenient as the Sha Tin MTR station is only 5 min walk though the shopping centre and 15mins to Mongkok. Staff and Cleaners are very friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahbzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank yo for your recent stay with us and the time you write us your comments. Please accept my sincere apologies on the comment about our location when you get off the bus one stop earlier than it should be. Regarding your comment on our bed and pillow, please noted we do have different kind of pillows to choose from and the pillow menu is located inside our hotel service directory. Further, i am much appreciated your positve comment towards our staff at the Concierge and our buffet breakfast at the 2 + 2 Cafe.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in Kaloon. Not centrally located but close to Prince of Wales Hospital. Beautiful pool. Excellent breakfast spread. Nice modern rooms with Wifi. Can easily get to other locations by Metro or cab.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your positive comments towards our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in march as I was attending a family wedding in Hong Kong.

Its a very good base to explore new terrotories, a bit far it you want all major attractions - although there is a free shuttle bus to Tsim Sha Tsui from the hotel. My family are based in Tai Po so this served me well.

Theres a massive shopping centre next to hotel with all sorts of brands from European, local boutiques to high end designers. Train station is 5minutes walk across the road as well as bus station - you can get airport express from here.

Aside from outside of hotel which I was a little put off by, the inside was surprisingly modern. The rooms were clean & spacious. Rooms have hairdryer, safe, large bathroom, table chair, lounger chair & tv.

Service was good.
Looks good.
Clean.

Only downfall is no free wifi.

Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking hte time to write us your comments. I am pleased to learnt that our facilities provided are out of your expectation and my colleauges from all levels had made your stay enjoyable. I am looking forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me should i can be of any service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it wasn't for the wifi/internet rates which were pricey and not free like most hotels provide. 1 hour costs 40 HK dollars and 100 HK dollars for the whole day. Bad rates when you are a tourist and won't be there the whole day anyway. I hope they change that feature in the future. There are two computers in the lobby which were for hotel guests but it lacked privacy and are almost always occupied. That was my only gripe during my stay - the wifi service!!!

Overall, the rooms are great, no complaints there. View was excellent, food at the hotel was excellent, staff were courteous and friendly. Stayed here for 4 nights, 3 days for a conference.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Berry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dea Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your time to provide us with your comment. I am pleased to learnt thand you find our hotel comfortable and all my colleagues had done well enough to make your stay enjoyable. Regarding your comment on the wifi charge, we would certainly consider to extend this as a standard service in future.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited China for three weeks and the Royal Park in Hong Kong was the first place we stayed. The bed was confortable after a long flight and when we woke up early the next day it was nice to be able to slip out for a walk around Sha Tin Central Park to ease into the day. Fish were jumping in the river and egrets and storks were out hunting for them while locals exercised in the early morning and the ubiquitous black kites circled overhead.

Breakfast at the hotel was reasonable but we prefered to go out with Chinese friends for dim sum.

The room was great. There was a slightly damp smell from the bathroom, or possibly the air-conditioning, but we were out most of the time so that wasn't an issue for us. The shower was very good and the rooms well cared for. I would have prefered free wi-fi which we received elsewhere on our trip but the exchange rate being what it is this was hardly an expensive overhead.

The concierge staff were helpful when we needed them and unobtrusive when we didn't which is just how it should be. The hotel is attached to a mall over the busy street with a bridge connecting which was useful for snacks and sundries including topping up a local SIM card I had bought.

As this was at the start of our trip and the jetlag was still hitting us we probably didn't take full advantage of all that the hotel had to offer. However we would have no hesitation in going back there should we return to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us recently and your positive comments on our hotel. I am extremely pleased to learnt that my colleagues had do their very best to make your stay an enjoyable one. Your compliment to the Concierge staff will surely an encouragement fornthem to work even better in future. Regarding your comment on wifi charge, please be informed that there is room packages available on our website which wifi service is included.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming to our hotel in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights following a cruise. The reception and concierge staff were extremely helpful without fawning over you. Its a bit out of the way from the main attractions but the hotel runs a regular shuttle bus to Kowloon, not far from the Star Ferry terminal. It also has an airport shuttle but there's a charge for this (equates to what you would pay for a taxi). We used both and they were excellent. The MTR is only a stones throw away and is a cheap alternative to taxis. We used this as well and it was easy once you got used to it,
Room was roomy and clean with plenty of toiletries and everything worked. We had breakfast in the hotel (not included in the package and cost about £25 for two). It was a lovely buffet (far better than we had on the ship - QM2!) with loads of choice and European as well as Asian foods. There's also a large shopping mall next door which has a number of restaurants and fast food outlets if you're looking for an alternative.
The rooftop pool was small but hardly used by guests so was lovely to chill out by when the sun was out. No view to speak of and you could hear a bit of traffic noise but not bad for this type of urban hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrestonSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman C, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us recently and your positive comments towards our hotel.
Hope that we had can have an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,136 reviews
Regal Riverside Hotel
#159 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,323 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#63 of 726 in Hong Kong
671 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 726 in Hong Kong
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: No.8 Pak Hok Ting Street | Shatin, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $131 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Shatin district and adjacent to New Town Plaza, the biggest shopping mall in Hong Kong. Five minutes walk from MTR station. Easy access to Central and TST by means of public transport. Hotel runs regular comlimentary shuttle bus service to and from TST to hotel. Regular public bus A41 run between Hong Kong International Airport and hotel. The journey takes around 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Park
Royal Park Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing