We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Central location”
Review of The Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Garden
Ranked #40 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Hotel has some very good points. The room was very modern, well furnished and decorated. It is in a cracking location and most attractions are reached easily by walking or public transport.
All rooms are around the spectacular garden atrium, which has that real wow factor.
The Hotel advertises a coffee lounge area, but there isn't a sperate area, it is basically one of the tables in the main dining area. A seperate room would be more what we were expecting.
The Bar is possibily the strangest I have ever been in. We found it difficult to find and once we had arrived, we felt a little uncomfortable. In a Big 5 star Hotel you would expect a buzzing Bar area, with lots going on. It was more like your own lounge at home, a very small area with approx 20 chairs around 4 or 5 tables. We were the only people in the bar and it was like a library, great if that's what you're looking for, but thought there would be more options in a 5 star hotel.
The pool on the roof was being renovated so closed during our visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bearstare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good Point:
I have stay in this hotel many years ago for my business trip, it gave me a very good impression at that time, this time return to this hotel, and it was awful.

Good point about this hotel is it's location only, but there are many other hotels just next to it at very reasonable prices.


Bad Points:
(1) The Beds - During my booking, the advertisement stated for 2 adult and 1 child, after checking in, only realised there are 2 x single beds at 1.1Meter.

To me, since the hotel offering 2 adult and 1 child, and I have paid for 2 adult and 1 child, then they should make sure the room or beds can cater for 2 adult and 1 child, sorry it was not the case.

(2) Room size is not as big as I expected, it is just NOT really a 5 stars hotel feels and not comfortable for 2 adults and 1 child at all.

(3) During my stay the swimming was closed (For renovation?), so they arrange another pool for us across the road, but unfortunately this indoor swimming pool is just about 30 feet x 20 feet, I would not call it a pool, it is more like a giant bathtub to me, the water looks dirty also. I think even the swimming pool is closed for renovation, the hotel should choose a better swimming pool for replacement, after all, this replacement swimming pool is carrying their name.

(4) No recreation facilities at all, Not suitable for family with young children or even with older children, the hotel frond desk also admitted this hotel is target for business guest only.

(5) Lobby is tiny, a lot of people walking around, very busy lobby. It looks like a 3-4 stars hotel lobby to me. Therefore there are no sofa or so at the lobby, if you are meeting some one in the lobby, you also will not know where to sit for a chat.

(6) The hotel is connected to a shopping mall, but only selling branded items only such as Rolex.

(7) Room do not have a bathtub, I remember most of the 5 stars hotel have bathtub.

(8) it gave us a small kettle, I could not find a place to put this mini kettle, so I have to put it on the writing desk, also there is no mini bar - At least I could not find it.

(9) Window is dirty and got stain on it, if you want to see thru the window, you will see the dirt too. I do not know how long they have not clean the window.

(10) No view to see anyway from my room 903.

10 bad points at least, I will not go back there again since Hong Kong still got plenty of choices, especially around Royal Garden.

Room Tip: No good room, sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wingwing168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I returned to the Royal Garden and was pleased to find the same high standards and quality.

The Crown Club is staffed by Teresa and a extremely professional staff who are gracious, efficient and eager to assist. Daniel always seems to know exactly what I want as soon as I enter the club room, before I even have the opportunity to ask for it.

The entire hotel is immaculate and management is continuously making improvements. On this trip for example, I stayed in one of the refurbished executive rooms, which was very tastefully done. I was also provided with a complementary global satellite cell phone for my entire stay.

Located in TST, you're in walking distance to Victoria Harbor, Nathan Road shopping, the train station, and a vast array of diverse restaurants (although the ones in the RG are nothing short of excellent).

I've stayed at several 5 star properties in HK and would rate the RG right up there with the very best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrybrandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I just check out from the hotel, location wise its great! Food is excellent! But,
My kids couldnt sleep most nights because it was very very noisy! Music til 1 am
We were told that wifi was free, and when we checked out, we paid almost 1500 us dollar :)

2  Thank Umrashid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a great hotel if you are staying in Kowloon, when I stay away from the airport I always choose the Royal Garden. It is in a fantastic location and the staff is amazing. The rooms are clean and remodeled. You cannot go wrong with this wonderful hotel. My daughter loves the pool and being so close to the harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a premium room and the hotel is in a very good location short walk to TST East MTR and the bustling road of Nathan. Room is of a good comfortable size and clean but during the day time there's construction noise from the roof top. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed for five nights in a Premium-room, and loved the spacious room (for HK standard) with very comfortable beds. Loved the rainforest shower, and the large mirrors and plenty of good lighting. Very clean, and recently refurbished. We were offered half price for the breakfast buffet, and it was really a great and various selection of food. The staff was attentive and polite, and the service was excellent. The relaxed and spacious feeling in the hotel is a nice escape from the busy Nathan Road, which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.
The location is great - within 5-10 minutes walk is TST MTR station, Avenue of the Stars,Harbour City, Star Ferry, Granville Road and Nathan Road. Around the corner you'll find McDonalds, 7eleven, ATM and a bunch of eateries of all kinds. Getting to intown-checkin at Kowloon Station you need to take a taxi (about 50 HKD) or the free shuttle bus from Hotel Shangri-La which is located next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 428Globetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,214 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,019 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Garden

Address: No. 69 Mody Road | Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $147 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In its continuing pursuit of excellence and with a total investment of USD31 millions, the Royal Garden has just completed a sophisticated re-imaging programme of its 420 stylish guestrooms. The Royal Garden, conveniently located in the business and shopping areas of Tsimshatsui - a district well served by Hong Kong's efficient public transport system (MTR), is the only hotel in Hong Kong with a 110-foot atrium, allowing natural daylight to illuminate the hotel's interior by day and an exquisite ambience by night. The hotel has an impressive choice of the award winning and Michelin Recommended restaurants including Sabatini Ristorante Italiano, Inagiku Japanese restaurant, The Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant, The Greenery, Dong Lai Shun, Le Soleil and Martini Bar. Overlooking Victoria Harbour, the roof-top Mediterranean style Sky Club provides top quality leisure facilities including a 25 meter heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi (open daily from 06:30 - 22:00hrs), 24 hours Gymnasium and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Royal Garden Hong Kong
The Royal Garden Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing