We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room too small!”
Review of The Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Garden
Ranked #43 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had booked a double room. At arrival I asked to have an extra bed for my daughter. So I got a "bigger" room. The upcharge for the extra bed was extremely expensive, even for a 4 stars hotel; about 4 times more than usual price at a 4 stars hotel. Then we went to the room, and there was no place to move, after the extra bed was installed. Absolutely no suitable for families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlSave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,052 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in March- 6th to 10th). We were disappointed that the view wasn't what we expected. The size of the room was ample for us. However, we did take the Club option but that included breakfast (which we did have as it was more peaceful than the large buffet) and cocktails with canapes in the dedicated lounge on Level 12. Also it means we were on the 14th floor. This option is well worth paying for).
The staff were excellant - you could not make a complaint against them they did everything to make your stay pleasant. The only small problem there were at times language problems at the Concierge we had some difficulty making our selves understood.
We didn't notice the construction noices until the last day when we went back to the hotel early for a rest and they wre using jackhammers. We went down to the front desk to complain. The Duty Manager, Ivan Chiang, handled very well and gave us the use of a lower room until the workmen had left. Thanks Mr Chiang.
We would stay there agin and recommend others.
Michael & Valda Neels

Room Tip: Try and get a room with harbour views. We booked months in advance and still didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Rooms were clean and well furnished, although a little small compared to other hotels we have stayed in at HK. Good soundproofing from atrium (restaurant) area. Views limited, unless in the right section (eastern side) of the building. It always amazes us that even though you book six months in advance you still end up with the backside of the hotel. Wi-fi is good in the rooms (free). TV system a little complicated - ignore the on-line billing function, it is always wrong - get a print out if you have concerns. Breakfast supplement is reasonably priced although there are many nearby options at cafes that are quite cheap. Hotel provided a birthday cake for my wife which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: If booking in advance try to insist on a harbour side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCarruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I'm a big fan of Hong Kong but it was my first time staying at the Royal Garden. The good - clean room, big TV, fantastic buffet back fast and lunch, great location close to the water if that's what you're after and one of the best Italian restaurants in Hong Kong right there on the 3rd floor. The bathrooms were great, really nice use of space in what is usually a bit of a tight squeeze in these hotels. The massive shower was pretty cool. The not so good, of which there is little was at the pool was out of action due to renovations. Can't help bad timing... And for me, the location is actually the most convenient. I like that I can walk to the intercontinental so easily for dinner, but you have to remember that half of what you see is water and one side is fairly industrial. I prefer being up Nathan rd a little even up in mong Kok at langham place so that I walk out into a thousand shops, train line and restaurants. But that's just me.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank rycon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fab hotel with exceelent leisure facilities including a roof top putting green and heated swimming pool!

If you are staying for more than a few days, i would advise to book a club room, this offers you free drinks and cocktails in the evening, free breakfast and reduction in laundry. Plus free Internet.

The hotel is very well placed for TST, its only a very short walk to TST East Station with its direct access to Chinese border where you can visit for the day quite easily. (you just need a visa in advance)

The fast ferry across the harnour to Central is a couple of minutes walk. If you have never been to HK before, if you only do ONE thing, its travel across the harbour on a ferry, the best 20p you will ever spend!

Room Tip: My advice on room choice would be a high floor room on the front of the hotel not the rear, this sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkeyboyBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If a 5 star hotel in prime Tsim Sha Tsui location makes special package offers, one must expect to pay a price. This time it is construction work noise. And the pool shut down (which doesn't bother me much). And the gym equipment relocated to less than glorious substitute locations. Pity.
Hongkong hotels are always expensive and the rooms are always small. The small room here was actually quite nice and the noise its only flaw. Not only construction noise,but also noise coming up from the open space restaurant and bar area on the third floor, from where the music travels up to the roof, due to the inner court concept of the structure.
No complaints about staff and efficiency. Some question marks about advertising. If you look at their website, you will find a window view over Victoria Harbor. A few rooms with that view do exist, but really very few, as the hotel is not on the immediate water front. You must catch a glimpse between two malls that stand between the hotel and the water.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed 5 days in this hotel and were charmed by the excellent service of the personnel. The rooms are small and quite expensive, but that seems to be the way in Hong Kong. We would certainly recommend this hotel. We had an unpleasant experience when we checked out, being billed for multiple connections to the internet, which was not made clear at check in. The manager reduced the amount we were charged. A good place to stay.

Room Tip: When you check in, you should find out what is included in the rate for the room and what is extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,136 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,118 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#55 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,058 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Garden

Address: No. 69 Mody Road | Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $152 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In its continuing pursuit of excellence and with a total investment of USD31 millions, the Royal Garden has just completed a sophisticated re-imaging programme of its 420 stylish guestrooms. The Royal Garden, conveniently located in the business and shopping areas of Tsimshatsui - a district well served by Hong Kong's efficient public transport system (MTR), is the only hotel in Hong Kong with a 110-foot atrium, allowing natural daylight to illuminate the hotel's interior by day and an exquisite ambience by night. The hotel has an impressive choice of the award winning and Michelin Recommended restaurants including Sabatini Ristorante Italiano, Inagiku Japanese restaurant, The Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant, The Greenery, Dong Lai Shun, Le Soleil and Martini Bar. Overlooking Victoria Harbour, the roof-top Mediterranean style Sky Club provides top quality leisure facilities including a 25 meter heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi (open daily from 06:30 - 22:00hrs), 24 hours Gymnasium and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Royal Garden Hong Kong
The Royal Garden Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing