We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Service, Hospitality, Price=all the BEST”
Review of The Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Garden
Ranked #46 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked hotel because of price and good comments.
On arrival I found other reasons too:
1. Not far from airport (taxi 35-40 US$)
2. Earlier check in and late check out are free of charge (2-3 hours).
3. WiFi is free
4.Location, Service, FOOD=all the BEST
5. Close to subway (metro).
I recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: all rooms are good except roof floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

excellent room when compare with neighbour hotels in tst, excellent facilities, good breakfast, good room service food and good service! the most attractive thing is their garden and swimming pool with ocean panorama view. only problem i found is distance from the main tsimshatsui train station... that's it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kharavas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is in East Tsim Sha Tsui which is only a few minutes walk from Nathan Road, and actually really well positioned for the Avenue of Stars, MTR, Ferries, shopping, etc.

Apparently it's recently been refurbished, which may have meant it was noisy during the renovation, but from what we saw, this has all been completed.

We stayed here for 10 days and struggle to find fault with this hotel - it was really well priced compared with the other 5 star hotels we looked at, the rooms were really well laid out, the service good rather than memorable, and everything was modern and clean. The rooms are compact (but no smaller than a lot of others in HK) but as mentioned, had a clever layout that gave us plenty of room (easily fitting in our extra 48kgs of shopping) as well as our luggage.

One of the best things we found was the Sky Deck, which is their new pool area on the roof of the hotel. The walls are all glass which means as you lay on the sun lounge you look out over TST. The weather was quite warm and very humid during our stay so it was great to go up to the pool at the end of the day and read a book after a dip.

We go to HK for leisure/shopping at least once/year and choose our hotels based on price, but prefer to stay in a 5*. I think this hotel is better than the Mira, not as good as the Peninsula, and almost as good as the Langham TST, which we love (although completely different in style & service), so if the price stays at a reasonable level, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmannix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a busy hotel, which means that you spend a lot of time waiting for a lift. This is further compounded by the fact that two of the lifts only go to the third floor, so that entails a change, and another wait if you need to go to the lobby. The rooms are clean and tidy, but small, and there is not a lot of storgae space for two people. There was only one comfortable chair, in spite of the fact that I had a double room. Many of the rooms have a lousy view, but a handful have either a partial view or direct view of the harbour. I was travelling with colleagues and we were all on the same business rate, but were treated quite differently from each other. Some had a room with a view and others not. It took the hotel quite a while to recognise that the needs for a 10 week stay were very different from the more typical business traveller who stays only a few days, and I had to protest my case before I actually got a room with a decent view. Once the staff got this into their heads things improved. I was there while a trade fair was taking place and the room rate almost doubled for that period, despite the fact that I arrived before the fair and stayed for a considerable period afterwards. The breakfast buffet was good and there was plenty of choice, though at over $500, the dinner buffet was expensive, as was the hotel laundry. Fortunately, there are lots of restaurants and a local laundry close by that are significantly cheaper. The entrance to the hotel is off a square that it shares with the Regal Hotel, so traffic is a nightmare, with endless buses, taxis and congestion. You take your life in your hands just leaving the hotel, let alone trying to get across the road to the shops, so not a good location from that point of view. However, there is a lovely roof-top garden and pool where you can escape to, and there is a fitness room. I have stayed at other comparable hotels in Hong Kong, and this one, despite what it likes to promote, is not significantly better, though there is a good choice of restaurants, if your business allowance will stretch to them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look over a car-park or the buildings opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is really a mixed bag, the rooms are on the positive side clean, and very well equipped and has an absolutely stunningly gorgeous large swimming pool on the roof.( And there is proper room service twice a day -when is properly cleaned )The negatives are, the rooms are very small, and it just does not cut it as a high-class hotel in that the business services are just not there, the Internet is extremely slow and not particularly reliable. And most importantly for the first time in my life once I checked out of the hotel, in spite of having agreed this before attending the hotel there were no proper facilities to enable me to work. Therefore make sure that you agree before you book the hotel and keep the name of the person that you speak to confirm that they will allow you Internet access, without charging you and allow you access to the facilities again without charging you. It is the norm that I have found in all hotels that I have stayed in. I must say on the positive side the person at reception who told me I would have to pay to use the facilities was embarrassed by it and apologised. All in all if you're looking for a nice four-star hotel for holidays this is a great hotel. If you need a location for business it is very well located for Kowloon and is on balance a very decent hotel. The staff are definitely do try.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Givemeaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

As I found that all HK hotels in October are very expensive, I chose the Royal Garden as it was recommended. The location is convenient in Kowloon close to the waterside and the facilities are excellent. I particularly enjoyed the rooftop pool which was a grea place to end the afternoon and sunset. Cost is on the high side but we had the delux package that included cocktails and afternoon tea which helped make it better value for money. It is still mainly a business hotel but for a short 2 day stopover is ticks all the boxes

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthurwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hong Kong has many upscale (some VERY upscale) hotels, especially in the Kowloon area. This is one of them--not the very top tier, but just a smidgeon below and very, very nice. Rooms were quiet, extremely well-appointed, and comfortable. If some are 4-star, this is 3 3/4. Compare costs--staying here is far cheaper that most of the others, and, believe me, your stay will be just as pleasant.

Room Tip: some rooms have nice HK harbor views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nippnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,097 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,073 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 725 in Hong Kong
744 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Garden

Address: No. 69 Mody Road | Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $157 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In its continuing pursuit of excellence and with a total investment of USD31 millions, the Royal Garden has just completed a sophisticated re-imaging programme of its 420 stylish guestrooms. The Royal Garden, conveniently located in the business and shopping areas of Tsimshatsui - a district well served by Hong Kong's efficient public transport system (MTR), is the only hotel in Hong Kong with a 110-foot atrium, allowing natural daylight to illuminate the hotel's interior by day and an exquisite ambience by night. The hotel has an impressive choice of the award winning and Michelin Recommended restaurants including Sabatini Ristorante Italiano, Inagiku Japanese restaurant, The Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant, The Greenery, Dong Lai Shun, Le Soleil and Martini Bar. Overlooking Victoria Harbour, the roof-top Mediterranean style Sky Club provides top quality leisure facilities including a 25 meter heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi (open daily from 06:30 - 22:00hrs), 24 hours Gymnasium and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Royal Garden Hong Kong
The Royal Garden Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing