We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Prudential Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prudential Hotel
Ranked #134 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very conveniently located. Links direct to the Jordan MTR. Room is big enough - rare for Hong Kong hotels at this price. Staff is friendly & helpful. Room is clean. Only 'bad' experience is that the main lobby is not on ground floor, so you have to lug the luggages up 2 flights of escalator. And the main entrance is from a side road, which we missed on 1st arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    577
    223
    58
    25
See reviews for
217
199
85
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel for all my trips to Hong Kong for many years. Very convenient location, clean, good hotel either for business or pleasure. The staff are very helpful as well. Hotel lobby is on 1 st floor, therefore u need to take an escalator up. Escalator size is narrow so hv to be careful when u have big luggage. MTR is just right below the hotel so in the event of rain, you will not get wet. Overall, its a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Good bed size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Initially I found the language to be a slight issue, but once that was overcome a very pleasant stay. The only thing about the rooms is that they love their air conditioning temperatures set down low. Attempts to raise the temperature at time failed. In all this hotel is central to everything that I needed, and sits on top of Jordon MTR.

Would I stay here again yes I would.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is situated just above the Jordan MTR. It's quite convenient to travel to other parts of Hong Kong. However, the escalators from the MTR to the hotel level will stop after 10 or 11pm.
The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our second stay in the Prudential Hotel, we love it for it locality, as it is above Jordan MTR, and an easy walk to Harbour City. The room we had this time was good, it appeared there had been some renovation work done as the bathroom was quiet acceptable. The only issue I had was with the hairdryer, next time I will take my own. Also there was no iron in the room, this required a call to housekeeping for pressing services. We did not try the restaurant for dinner, as it was serving a seafood buffet every night, and crowed by tour groups. The Nest Bar served snacks, which were good, especially if you had a big lunch. Happy Hour ran from 4.00pm to 9.00pm and George was a very good host. We would stay again, as the cost, when converted to Australian dollars makes for a reasonable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy_roby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012. The room is old and not fancy, and the bathrooms are dated and certainly not luxurious or even comfortable, but for $200 a night in one of the world's great cities, I thought the Prudential was excellent value. It is a favourite of mainland Chinese and big groups so you certainly don't get personalised service, but put it into perspective - you're paying a small amount to be in a great location in a comfortable room. The room size was fairly average - not large but also not small with a king size bed and a desk as well as a TV, the bathroom was small with a shower in the tub, but the water pressure was great. The towels were smallish and showing their age but Prudential never says that it is 5 start so I wouldn't expect that. Location wise this hotel was brilliant, right above Jordan station and on the main street or Kowloon so you could walk all the way down to the harbour if you wanted. There were many great eateries that were very cheap surrounding the hotel. I also splurged and stayed somewhere pretty deluxe on the Island side after this and yes it was nicer but it was alos more than 3 x the price! Having said that if I wanted a place that was great value, clean and well located I would not hesitate in giving the Prudential a go. Make sure you manage your expencations though and if you do, you will be pleased. I love Kowloon side so if they had a 5 star in Jordan (that ain't going to happen however) I would definitely stay here again but if you want a well priced hotel in walking distance to a lot of great eats, in a more "local" part of town this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Haven't been to Hong Kong in some time. My usual haunt, the Hyatt in Tsim Tsa Shui is gone. Did some research and came across this hotel, and I can report it's completely acceptable for business travellers.

Like most mid-range hotels in Hong Kong now, they're overrun with Mainland Chinese tourists. The Prudential makes an effort to separate these visitors from the business people, to ensure quiet for both divergent groups. Security was good, and in the heart of Kowloon restaurant choices are abundant.

Hotel is just above Jordan MTR station, making travel anywhere in Hong Kong a breeze.

I wouldn't recommend the breakfast buffet. It was perfunctory and unremarkable. Breakfast can be had in other local places for 1/3 the cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
652 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
845 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#87 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,812 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,235 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#99 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prudential Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prudential Hotel

Property: Prudential Hotel
Address: 222 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prudential Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prudential Hotel is sat atop of Jordan Mass Transit Railway Station which is just a transient distance to China Ferry Terminal, Hung Hom and future Express Rail Link station. Adjacent to Prudential Hotel is Prudential Centre where guest can enjoy shopping and is just 3 minutes walk to Park Lane Shopper’s Boulevard and Temple Street Night Market. Prudential Hotel is a cluster of shopping, entertaining and leisure.432 stylish fully-furnished guestrooms, including 17 Duplex Suites and 2 Executive Suites, are spacious and comfort. Our guestrooms are available for broadband internet access. Stylish rooms on Executive Floors are equipped with iPod docking. To gratify guest various needs, Prudential Hotel provides smoking and non-smoking rooms for selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prudential Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pruton Prudential Hong Kong
Prudential Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Pruton Prudential

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing