We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”
Review of Panda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panda Hotel
Ranked #130 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Rangali Island
2 reviews
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed there from 1-7 april on a business trip with colleagues. We got the rooms on the same floor. One night my friend got locked outside her room and she was in bathrobe in the middle of the night. She called to reception from my room and requested to send housekeeping to open the door for her, but the reply was despite of the reason, she has to go down to the reception if she want to open the room. I never had experienc ethis kind of service from any hotel i have ever visited. Room service closes at 2am and after that you wont get anything. When ever I stay in this hotel, there is always a notice in the room saying, renovation in progress and apologise for the noise. It seems like a never ending rennovation.
The breakfast s terrible, you wont find anything that is good. You get a coupon for the breakfast and even if you forget the coupon in the room, the staff will chase you out, intsead of checking from their system for room number. The staff there speaks english, but very unhelpful. Most of the days, there were no chef in the open kitchen, so you wont get an omellete or noodles. No meat at all.
The bed and mattress in the room looks like a 100 year old one. If you get a twin room, you wont have space to put your luggage. I will never ever recommend this hotel to anyone. My worst experience ever....

Room Tip: Rooms on executive floors are little bit better than normal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear stewartv_13,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel and sharing your comments.

We are very sorry for the unpleasant experience happened to your colleague upon her request of opening her room door. We have shared the incident with the concerned department head. It does not reflect our service standard and we will conduct briefings and trainings to our colleagues to avoid reoccurrence. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused

For the quality and service of breakfast and room facilities, we have kept it for record and passed to departments concerned for investigation. Your comments are well-noted and it will be put into our consideration for future facility improvement plan.

It’s our pleasure to serve you during your stay in Hong Kong and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again with a refreshing experience.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    781
    412
    84
    39
See reviews for
400
239
138
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel was very nice. The shopping areas are on the G/F down to B3 of the hotel's building so its really easy to get what you need. What i like most is that, there is a supermarket on B3? and the 7 11 is very near too so in case you need something in the middle of the night, its okay.

The rooms are awesome. Well, they are a 4 star hotel so they must be! its very comfortable esp. the bed and pillow which i really love. not too much on the TV channels but they have english movie channel though... everyday, they are cleaning the rooms and replace towels and etc. The MTR is few minutes away. its in the red lane so we easily knew the way to mongkok and tsim sha tsu. its pretty far on those places but you can get a train like every 5 mins.?


downside? NO FREE Internet :( 1 day unlimited on hotel's internet connection is 40HKD.

The Hotel is near on the disneyland and aiport but very far on the ocean park...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banyaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Banyaga,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel. Please rest assured that our Hotel Wi-Fi system is planning for upgrade soon and we would also take the chance to review the charging mechanism.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We (2 adults and 1 child) stay at Panda Hotel for 3 days. My 9 years old girl really love our deluxe room. It is very clean and has mini refrigerator. Bathroom also very clean and looks new. Air condition works very well. The only minor thing is no free wifi at this hotel. MTR station (Tai Wo Hau) is about 10 minutes walking distance so we can go everywhere around Hong Kong. Nearest attraction is Disneyland Resort, Ngong Ping (Giant Buddha) and citygate outlet (you can buy many branded fashion on sale there).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda_stwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear linda_stwn,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel, and we are glad to know that our Hotel met your expectation.

Regarding your comments about the paid Wi-Fi service, please rest assured that our Hotel Wi-Fi system is planning for upgrade soon and we would also take the chance to review the charging mechanism.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Arrived early, and lobby was full of guests checking in/out or just sitting at the couches. Front Desk Officer Ricky assisted us, and upgraded our booked two deluxe rooms to a deluxe two-bedroom suite, for free.

The deluxe two-bedroom suite was huge, clean, well-lit and had 3 LCD plasma TVs, and separate aircondition controls for the living/dining area and the two bedrooms. The two bathrooms had tubs and toiletries of bath gel, conditioner, lotion, bath gel, comb, toothbrush,shower cap, nail file. We had bathrobes and complimentary slippers. Minibar was well-stacked and had a complimentary expresso machine.

Buffet breakfast at Cafe Panda offered steamed rice, beef sausage, steamed ham, mixed vegetables, different mini pastries (delicious), had a noodle bar, a salad bar, cereals, oatmeal, and fresh fruit as well as canned salad, express machine, tea maker, apple juice and orange juice. Waiters/resses tend to be a bit too zealous in taking used plates, even if eater is not yet finished with his/her meal, if he/she leaves his/her table.

Hotel location was far from Tsim Sha Tsui, but the hotel offered a scheduled complimentary bus shuttle service, with 30 minute travel time, with a stop at Mongkok, if requested. Hotel has its own shopping mall, Panda Place, with several dining options. There is also another mall next door.

Of the hotel staff, I highly commend the housekeeping assigned at the 28th floor, the concierge, and Front Desk Officer Ricky for their exemplary service.

Room Tip: Get a free upgrade when you book two deluxe rooms with senior citizens, look for Front Desk Officer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Travel B,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel. It’s great to know that you have had a nice stay.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 15 nights with my mom (a senior) & a young child. They both can't walk that much. This hotel is a little far from the city center. But The first reason I picked this hotel was the location surroundings and free shuttle bus services to Tsim Sha Tsui & Mongkok. Every hour pickup & return 20 min bus rides. Very Convenient. If you miss the last shuttle bus returning to hotel, you just need to take MTR subway also very easy. One train ride from TST straight directly to closest MTR subway stop (Tai Wo Hau) to the hotel. Walking would take about 5 minutes from MTR to hotel, but if you're too tired or carrying too many shopping bags, just take a taxi costs $20 back to the hotel (very cheap). In fact, we never walked from/to MTR to hotel, only took the taxis, very convenient & cheap.
This hotel is surrounded with everything, you named it, they're all there (shoppings,bank,grocery stores,restaurants,parks etc). First 3 levels of the hotel is the Japanese Aeon Department store and a shopping mall. Right outside of hotel at different corners: there are Seven-Eleven, Macdonalds, HK styled restaurants, Parka grocery store,Pharmacies, banks. Just amazing!!! If you don't feel like going to the city, just hanging out at the hotel or around the area is still sufficient.
Panda Hotel is a little out-of-date, but it's still very comfortable and Services are still fully provided. Lobby is beautiful decorated with pandas. Lots of staff hanging around the lobby for assistance. For Non-smoking Rooms, make sure you specifically ask for it. Inside the elevator, only 2 floors(12 and 13) are specifically indicated on the button as non-smokings. The room was a good size for 3 of us and able to fit 3 big luggages. This hotel rooms are definitely bigger than the one in the city where I previously had compared to before booking. The bed was very comfortable. My mom didn't have problem sleeping at all when normally she has a bad sleep patterns. The couch can turned into an extra bed. The bathroom is huge & can fit 3 of us at the same time. We loved the shower with strong pressure. But the toilet needed extra strength to push the flushes. It was very strange for this hotel not providing a clock in all rooms. We had to buy a clock for this room for our long stay in this hotel.
Staff were great. Very helpful and very efficent when we called down to Reception to ask for extra utilities. Even when we asked to change a burned light bulb, a staff came instantly for our request.
My HK relatives and friends came to visit us at the hotel and they were very surprised to see the good size of the room and bathroom and the convenient and comfort of this hotel.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. I'll certainly return to this hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheSky338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear InTheSky338,

Appreciate your sharing with other travelers, thank you!

We are happy to know that our Hotel facilities and services met your needs during your stay. To provide a better experience to our guests, we carry out improvement works progressively. Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is in the New Territories but its distance from Kowloon should not be a deterrent. There are mixed reviews on Trip advisor and so I had mixed views about what I would encounter.
The hotel arranges a shuttle from the airport for which there is a charge. This was speedily arranged by following the hotel instructions and the waiting time was reasonable.

This large hotel, it has a thousand rooms, is situated in a mall starting at the third floor and access is by express lift from the mall. Another lift after check-in accesses the other floors. Refurbishment was underway two weeks ago on two of the higher floors so the management is reponding to some of the criticisms featured in these reviews. Having said that , the room I had on the thirteenth floor, although basic in its furnishing was very clean, very quiet (it overlooked the pool at the rear of the hotel) and the bathroom had good towels and an array of toiletries. Slippers were provided but not robes though these are mentioned on the website.

Some reviews have mentioned the walk to the MTR. This can be avoided if you book the free hotel shuttle which leaves every hour through the day to Kowloon, stopping at Mong Kok and China Ferry Terminal on request. Return journey can be made up until 10.45. This is a speedy and comfortable option especially at times when the MTR is busy. The hotel states that it is at the end of the MTR red line but I found that the stop prior to this is a shorter and more direct route.

With a midnight return flight to Europe I had to leave my luggage. The hotel provides a key to toilet facilities for guests who have vacated their rooms. These are immaculate and there is a family room which gives the opportunity to change into travelling clothes if you have spent the day sightseeing.

There are several restaurants in the hotel and a bar which provides a complimentary welcome drink The view from the 30th floor restaurant is most impressive at night. In the basement of the mall there is a supermarket which has prepared fresh fruit which is a bonus.

Certainly, I was impressed by my experience. I have stayed at many four and five star hotels throughout the world and I rate this three star experience highly and given the prices in Hong Kong it is great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear patricia026,

Thanks for staying at Panda Hotel and sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the stay. It is always most encouraging hearing we have lived up to your expectations, thank you!

It’s our pleasure to serve you during your stay in Hong Kong and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Panda Hotel and have to say, we were very pleased with our choice. Yes it is a little way out, but a 5-10 minute walk to the subway isnt a huge hassle and its very straightforward getting more central. We actually preferred staying a little out of the city. The nearby shops and restaurants were very close by, and there was a great local market too. The room was fine, clean and comfortable and no complaints there. Overall, compared to more costly hotels in HK, it was good value for money. We chose to have breakfast in the hotel on the last day and again, it was very nice and good value. I would stay at this hotel again without a problem. I also liked the underground shopping mall which was also very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyoung777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear lyong777,

We are very happy to know that you have had a nice stay at our Hotel. Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
879 reviews
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#162 of 718 in Hong Kong
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#212 of 718 in Hong Kong
513 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#172 of 718 in Hong Kong
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panda Hotel

Property: Panda Hotel
Address: No.3 Tsuen Wah Street, Tsuen Wan | Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1026
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panda Hotel is one of the largest hotels in Hong Kong. The combination of our friendly service, approximately 1000 comfortable guest rooms and suites along with four highly acclaimed restaurants and catering venues with full range of business and leisure facilities, it makes Panda Hotel your true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panda Hotel Hong Kong
Panda Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing