We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean an great cocktails!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nathan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nathan Hotel
Ranked #96 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean an great cocktails!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Four of us stayed three nights at the Hotel Nathan in Feb 2012 and were generally impressed. Externally, it's not the prettiest hotel around, but inside it's got a high spec of decor and is very clean.

Our room was comfortable and well appointed. The staff are polite and helpful. However, although the decor in the corridors and landings on our floor, which was near the top of the hotel, looked great on first sight, it was actually quite tired and could have done with a makeover. The carpet, for example was stained in places and there was a distinct whiff of tobacco smoke. I can't remember what the smoking policy was, although our room was definately smoke-free.

Situated on Kowloon Island there is plenty to do. There is a very busy night market about five minutes walk away, where you can shop for souvenirs and other wares, or enjoy local cuisine with the masses of local people who flood the area after work. There are loads of street cafes and restaurants if you're feeling brave, although the sight of dinner swimming about in bowls and buckets is rather off-putting.

Hong Kong Island is just a short hop away aboard one of the famous Star ferries. It's worth taking a night-time trip over to watch the nightly laser show over the harbour. When we went there was very low cloud which made for some very interesting photographs.

Back at the Hotel Nathan, be sure to take advantage of their two-for-the-price-of-one Happy Hour. There is a comfortable cabana in the roof-top bar, and the four of us curled-up with "Long Island Ice Teas," "Around the Worlds," " Whiskey Sours," and of course "Sex on the Beach." After our second cocktail, we didn't really care that we still hadn't found anywhere to eat!

All-in-all, the Nathan is a well-appointed, comfortable hotel that offers good service at an affordable price. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Kowloon is quite active through the night, so if you're a light sleeper it's probably worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petercaulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    640
    164
    38
    24
See reviews for
300
391
89
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

the rooms are big and clean.they do have daily buffet breakfast if you stay 3 nights or more.its near Jordan MTR station.if you want to buy souvenirs temple market is just 2 blocks away.there's Chinese restaurants,McDonald's,pharmacy,7eleven,money changer nearby.you can't go wrong with this hotel and most especially the staff are very friendly.going to Nathan hotel from the airport I advised you to take the bus it's cheaper and the bus stop is just a walking distance from the hotel.enjoy :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank neyluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Unlike many I do not expect much when travelling, after all I am not going to hang around the hotel foyer or pool wanting to be seen. I travel to see not be seen. I booked this hotel based upon location recommendation by a HK local. I the read some reviews and thought "Oh no what have I done." Let me tell you some people are so precious thye should never leave home, thing is I supect they live in seriously dodgy homes. OK my home is probably better than most hotels but when travelling all I want is a bed with clean sheets and a hot shower. The Nathan has all that and more the rooms are used, of course they are and there are bumps and scrapes from people who are unfamilar with their surrounds. But it is a nice hotel, good food etc. Yes the lobby is smaller than The Peninsula but the Nathan has put a very affordable Starbucks in its Foyer with coffee better than you get in America (not hard BTW) The staff were ultra helpful and the location id pretty good for everything you could want. Get an Octopus card use the MTR, then pay for your coffee at Starbucks. Oh use it for the busses the trams and to get to the very top of the peak. The staff will tell you all this. Oh yes the wifi in your room is average but it is less tha average all over HK so is that a bad thing hmmm might actually be worth another half star it was free,

Room Tip: Spent the $220 nHK for an upgrade to a Nathan Room it seems the Superior Rooms on the lower floors w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tezzaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel met our needs very well.
We were staying at the Nathan floor, had a good sized room which was clean and had a comfortable bed.
Breakfast was very good, both local and international dishes.
Of course the location was very convenient; would book here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravellery06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel staff are very friendly. Great location on Nathan Road close to all the shopping and Temple Night markets. Starbucks on the corner of the hotel. Close to the MTR great fast way to get around Hong Kong. Buses travel up and down Nathan Road.
First night our floor and room stunk of smoke so bad couldn't stay in room as I am asthmatic but they moved us. Had a Nathan room, rooms are small and bathroom is too. Buffet breakfast good value. No swimming pool. Bed was only a double bed.The staff were friendly and helpful.
Free internet but it drove me mad as it kept dropping out all week on my phone.

Room Tip: Nathan room very small no real storage space for luggage. Make sure you ask for a non smoking room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAnniston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location is good, right on Nathan Street only a block from the a temple Street Night Market. Easy walk to Star Ferry terminal if you enjoy taking in the sights on the way or Taxi to Ferry terminal is only about HK$25. When booking, check the floor you are on. On check in we were told that we'd been upgraded from a room with one double & one single bed to a larger room with 3 singles on the 6th floor (the lowest floor with rooms). The room was fine, spacious, comfortable, with modern control panel for lights, air-con etc., but faced onto the back of another building. There were signs of wear & tear on wardrobe doors & bathroom surfaces, but overall it was OK. Bathroom was spacious, clean but a bit dated, certainly not luxurious. I think that the rooms on higher floors are superior. There are plenty of rooms that face Nathan Street & Jordan Street, so one should check this when booking. The reception staff, porters etc were all very polite, friendly and efficient. The lifts are a little on the slow side. I think there were only 2 lifts servicing the 15 floors, but it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was OK, with fresh egg/omelette station, but the buffet section was fairly limited compared with other hotels. The quality of the food and service was fine though. Overall it's probably what one will get in this price range, I imagine that we were spoiled by a recent stay in Bangkok hotel which was much nicer at almost half the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room facing the back of adjacent buildings (unless you love the look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Posenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I searched reviews for several hours before deciding on the Nathan. A great choice, helpful friendly staff, very comfortable 3 night stay. We were upgraded, room large for three, plus had an additional sitting area with TV. Have booked again for our return journey through Hong Kong.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#83 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#91 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#93 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Prudential Hotel
Prudential Hotel
#134 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hotel

Property: Nathan Hotel
Address: No. 378 Nathan Rd | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the heart of Kowloon's Golden Mile Nathan Road and only 3 minutes by walk from the Jordan MTR subway station. It is surrounded by a large variety of restaurants, transportations, retail shops and night markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Nathan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hotel Hong Kong
Nathan Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing