We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nathan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nathan Hotel
Ranked #98 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed in a Nathan room. Good sized room by HK standards with good amenities. Bathroom was a very tight fit and only had a shower . Great hot water and no water all over the floor after a shower. Breakfast was good. Not sure of the Nathan Lounge concept. I was expecting a club type lounge rather than a small room on each Nathan floor. It didnt really add much value to my stay other than a decent coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    587
    144
    34
    20
See reviews for
254
358
80
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Nathan Hotel for 6 days, based on recommendations from Trip Advisor. We booked a Nathan room on the Nathan Floor with breakfast, and were upgraded to a Nathan Suite upon check-in. The room was very large with a sitting area, good size bathroom, clean and very quiet. Hotel staff helpful and no problem getting a late check-out. This hotel is in a great location, close to the Temple Street night market and public transportation. The breakfast buffet was not huge, but was nice to have eggs made to order, bacon, pastries, fresh fruit and juice, yogurt and coffee/tea each morning before heading out for the day of Chinese culinary options. We had no problems with the light control panel and air conditioning was more than adequate. There is still some remodeling that is occurring, but none on the 9th floor where our room was. We were very pleased with this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a city view room and asked if it had been remodeled, which it had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMK702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed an special offer including breakfast, so for me it worth what I paid
Small rooms
Clean
Limited buffet breakfast options
Great location
Calm and quite
Friendly staff
Enjoyed a late check-out
Bali bar is not bad if you are tired to leave the hotel, but don't expect so much, just drink
Recommended

Helpful?
Thank Aidin489
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is just minutes away from the Jordan MTR and Temple Street. Lots of nice food and eateries around. The service of the hotel was quite ok. The shower curtain emitted a foul smell. We called for cleaners and they came almost immediately to change the curtains. I was pleasantly surprised when the cleaner politely declined the tip which we prepared for her.

I stayed at a Triple Superior Room instead of Executive Studio Suite. I did not really mind as I was traveling with my mother-in-law. Good to each have our own bed.

As mentioned by many other reviewers, the light control panel is highly confusing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thinksg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novatel in Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For those who are not Australia "not happy Jan" is a take off from a TV advert in Australia. Hotel had been used before = very good experience. This time the good points...excellent foyer baggage staff, nice power adapter in room. The bad things... like Polywhirl before..the light contral panel is an overkill and complicated. Why not a simple switch. My continued hate is kettles that do not fill from bath room tap - why can they not have sufficient clearance. Room is basic. With a group of us would have been nice to have a toilet brush to clear of odd nasties.Seems they cut costs by only having one door so either the toilet is closed and the wardrobe wide open to view of visitors including the safe No hair dryer

Now the MAJOR COMPLAINT. Arrived after 15 hours of road and air travel. Reception DID NOT have the entire party of 6 booked in. For nearly 40 minutes there debate at the counter and the demand for an extra $A1000 for the last person (a six year old child). Eventually they relented and gave compensation - a few drink vouchers dated for the same day (not so helpful as we just wanted to sttle down after the long trip).

May be they had better take down the trip advisor certificate they have on the front reception

Room Tip: If you need a condom they provide one in the drawer (at a cost of course)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziiesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
160 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I read good reviews of this hotel but my experience there didn't match those. I booked direct with the hotel through their website for an Executive Studio Suite for 1 adult and 2 children (not cheap!) but when I got to the hotel I was told that the room could not accommodate 3 people (even though I specified three people when booking online), so the receptionist told me he would happily 'upgrade' me to a standard triple room. I wasn't convined so I asked to see both rooms, the standard triple was a big room with three beds, but was a standard room (i.e. a downgrade not an upgrade) and also smelled badly of cigarette smoke, I refused. The studio suite i was taken to I was told actually was a suite consisting of a living area with sofa, TV, wardrobe, desk and chair with a separate bathroom and large bedroom. Both the living area and the bedroom had nice flatscreen TV's but the decor was dated and the bathroom old-fashioned, nothing luxurious at all and felt grubby and in desperate need of refurbishment. Amenities included robes, safe, free water, wifi, aircon. I know this sounds very stupid but the room lights in the bedroom are controlled by a high tech gadget next to the bed that looks like a radio. We didn't realise that this gadget controlled the lights I think becuase it was so high tech it just didn't fit with the rest of the old fashioned decor of the room, we searched a long time for switches to turn off the lights but had to give up and ask someone to come up and turn off the lights for us. We also had to ask them to fix the wardrobe door which did not close properly so the light inside the wardrobe remained on even though the door was closed, as a result it lit up the room when all the other lights were (eventually) turned off. The maintenance guy came and then told me he fixed it but he didn't actually do anything, the problem remained, so I called again and he came back and just took the bulb out, problem solved I guess! The living area just had enough room for a rollaway bed for the third person. Our room rate didnt include breakfast so I can't comment on that. If Im honest my experience there means that I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel on the Internet and it was better than expected. We checked in early after having a transfer meet us and we were given a room upgrade. All of the staff were friendly and helpful especially Leo Leung at the Concierge desk. The hotel is centrally located to Nathan road shops and the MTR, which is one of the easiest forms of public transport to use. The breakfast had a good variety of choices each morning. We will stay here on all future trips to Hong Kong. Just a small note don't feel you can't see any tourist attractions unless you are on a tour. Everything is easy to get to and it is also a lot cheaper.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Djanaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#78 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 3,223 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#96 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#26 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#100 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Prudential Hotel
Prudential Hotel
#169 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hotel

Property: Nathan Hotel
Address: No. 378 Nathan Rd | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the heart of Kowloon's Golden Mile Nathan Road and only 3 minutes by walk from the Jordan MTR subway station. It is surrounded by a large variety of restaurants, transportations, retail shops and night markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nathan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hotel Hong Kong
Nathan Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing