We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breaking new ground !!!”
Review of The Mira Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mira Hong Kong
Ranked #43 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Breaking new ground !!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

After a 4 night stay on the executive floor I can thoroughly recommend the Mira Hong Kong.

The Hotel is very modern in decor, atmosphere and technology which give this hotel the WOW factor. Although it has to be said that the "media centre" does require some thought to use it and the light switches can be a little frustrating when the room is dark.

That said, the big winner is the service which on all occasions is with a smile and are all very efficient. Most staff are extremely knowledgeable and if they weren't the can do attitude shone through and they found out what you wanted. Even the omlette chef you must have the most repetitive jobe ever, was polite despite being under pressure from some unreasonable guests (afterall cooking fresh does take a minute or two).

Breakfast in the executive lounge was good, where your eggs are made to order although the freshly squeezed juice station on the buffet in Yamm is a big bonus. Room service was also good qulaity and prompt.

The spa and pool are serene oasis from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

Defiantely recommend and more cost effective than the some of the other 5 stars around.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregorylives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    995
    207
    65
    46
See reviews for
393
880
232
951
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Was recommended The Mira by a friend who told me it's ideal for food and shopping in terms of location and that the recent renovations made The Mira very POSH despite its 4-star rating.
Stayed in the MIRA 80 SUITE for a night,
ROOM: it had a large spacious see-thru bathroom/ bathtub/shower area, a decent sized King size bedroom and a nice generous living / writing area. I think you might find the hotel room slightly small if you just book the normal rooms.
But the High tech part is the LCD is HD and can be used as a computer, a Hi-Fi, a DVD player set and the normal TV. All the lightingss are superintelligent and programmable.
FOOD: I adore the breakfast buffet at the Yamm- quite comparable to the best in terms of spread and quality, and I just came from a 5 -star hotel.
SERVICE-very good by HK standard but the registration desk can be a little cold. Most staff can speak reasonable English.
FOOD AND SHOPPING:Just outside the hotel along Kimberly Rd are alot of small local and Western eateries at very reasonable prices(USD 5-15 each per meal). We found a rather good foot massage joint nearby called Maple leave - clean, skillful and reasonable service(USD $22-70)!
The Miramar Shopping Centre has a lot of good medium-range shops like MUJI, UNIQLO,CK,DKNY for shopping if you are lazy, but do walk a little further down Nathan Rd for more good buys: G2000/ Giordano/Esprit/Sasa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This is a great location hotel, especially if you like shopping. There are malls and shops every where outside the hotel, and great restaurants. Also close to the MTR which is great if you want to get around. So if you are looking to stay on kowloon side, this is a great choice to stay at.

In terms of the hotel, it's very modernly designed. The rooms are high tech and everythign looks new. The bathroom is seperated by a glass window which can be blocked with a curtain. The bathroom also had all the amenities, like shaving kit, toothbrush etc... There was good selection of channels on the TV. However, the ceiling is a bit low, and the corridor and the hotel itself are quite darkly lit. (which was quite strange, but i think this is part of the design).

In terms of sleep comfort, i would rated it as a 7 out of 10. The room was a bit dry because of the air-con / heater in the room (as this was winter) .

Service was ok. We stayed over during new year period so the hotel was crowded and the staff all seemed very busy. Also we had to wait 30 mins to get our luggage when we checked in.

Unfortunately didn't get to check out the pool or the food or the spa.

Overall this is a nice modern design boutique hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profiterole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I traveled to HK on business with my adult son. Upon arrival we walked into the lobby. It was so dark we did not know where the reception desk was. Then we heard the very loud construction noise.

This construction noise began every day of our 5 night stay at 8:00am and lasted till 6:00pm. The room was small even by Hong Kong Standards for such a costly room. There was very minimal closet space. Only enough room and hangers for three shirts and slacks. Barely enough room for any suits. The bathroom had two full length glass walls that looked right into the bedroom. I could appreciate how some people would like this but I really did not like it at all. There are shades that allow the bathroom some privacy but still it is not that comfortable.

The beds were comfortable, but over all the room was not a relaxing room. After a long work day in hectic HK I would have rather come back to a room that was bigger, that had a a comfy chair and desk that i could relax and take care of the days paper work. This room was not the room to relax in at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldfalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The service is superb, the staff were very kind and humble. The reservation team did a great job in coordinating our arrangements. The team quickly provided us with a room. Very professional.
I completely adore the concept of the Hotel lobby, the design and the furniture was cozy and stylish. We stayed in their Suite room. I was awed by the layout and the design of the room. There's 2 toilets in the Suite Room. 1 toilet in the living room and another in the bedroom section. The bathroom were amazing and it even had a steam room/sauna. There are two large LCDs and a PC at the living room for free internet access. The room were high-tech and well designed.
The Mira Hotel is strategically located at downtown Tshi Sam Tsui, and the hotel is also near the MTR Station. There are many exciting attractions and shopping centers near this hotel that can be reached by a walking distance. They had a pretty swimming pool and AMAZING facilities.
The buffet restaurant is sooo good! The food is fantastic and the food is everything ranging from roasted beef and creme brulee to sushi and satay. Everything is very delicious and the desserts were very satisfying. The only thing bad about this hotel is the lame air-conditioning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbieHanggara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed at the mira 3D2N. No one pretty much knew where was the Mira because it changed it's name from Miramar to The Mira. Check in was pretty fast. The room was bit tiny with three huge people in it. i enjoyed the computer but noticed the wireless keyboard was pretty much dead. the beds were good. when you check in, the staff will carry the bags for u, five star indeed. the hotel's pretty high-tech.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessapple03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Booked the Mira for four nights in November '10 based on reviews and it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is recently renovated, ultra chic contemporary, and high tech. The room we had was lovely, overlooking beautiful Kowloon Park.

The King Size bed was very comfortable with pillows that my wife, a difficult sleeper, loved. The room came equipped with a huge flat-screen TV with Western cable, an integrated computer, I-Pod connection, and a cell phone that one could carry around at no charge, paying only for calls made. (Calls to room could automatically go to cell phone). Did not have a chance to try out the complimentary health club and swimming pool.

Service was excellent from check-in to check-out. Complimentary bottled water supplied daily as well as in-room coffee and tea (in the mini-bar) along with a tea kettle, and a free in-room safe. Robes and slippers were provided along with the usual pleasant amenities typical of a hotel at this level. There was a big shower and a separate tub. We did not make use the hotel's dining facilities which looked great.

The location was excellent if one likes the hectic energy of Kowloon (which we do), right on Nathan Road (entrance on Kimberly). Multi-glazed windows muted out all street noise.

High and low-end shopping was all around and inescapable. It was two short blocks to the TST stop on the MTR (metro), exit B. For Americans, it is one more block to a Citibank branch where account holders could save on conversion fees at the ATM. It's a 10 minute walk to the Harbor Promenade (and the spectacular free Sound and Light Show evenings at 8PM), and the HK Cultural Center. It's 5 minutes further to the Star Ferry.

It's a 10 minute walk in the other direction to the Hong Kong Historic Museum (recommended and free on Wednesdays).

The outstanding, fast, comfortable, and inexpensive Airport Express rail line provides a free shuttle bus (Route K4) that stops right at the front door so transport couldn't be easier.

Only quibbles: closet space and drawer space were tight.

We would go back to the Mira without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank on_the_Bummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,629 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#38 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,392 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#19 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mira Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mira Hong Kong

Property: The Mira Hong Kong
Address: 118 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mira Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip interiors, award-winning cuisine, and personalised guest service continue to build on our reputation as Hong Kong's hottest Design hotel. And now, our Michelin recommended restaurants: Cuisine Cuisine at The Mira and WHISK offer some of the finest culinary experiences the city has to offer. Stylish, iconoclastic, individualised. Marked by art, music, cuisine, and all that's uplifting and edgy in-between. A discreet designer haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Mira Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mira Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mira Hotel Hong Kong
Mira Hong Kong
Miramar Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Miramar Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing