We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Equipped Hi-Tech Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mira Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mira Hong Kong
Ranked #41 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Equipped Hi-Tech Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the best hotel so far that I have stayed besides other hotels when I am in Hong Kong. It is Hi-Tech and spacious which is unusual for HK hotel standard. Good location and convenient with access to MTR, banks and shopping mall and eateries. Look out for discounts extended to hotel guests to nearby Shopping centre, dining and is also available on the mobile phone provided to shop at eg H&M.

It provides guests with mobile phone in each room with free unlimited local and international calls to 25 popular destinations with discounts to shops, eateries e.g. H&M etc. There is an iphone charger available for those iphone fans. The room is spacious compared with other 5-star hotels that we have stayed and it has a unique toilet set-up which at first we are not used to it. We later found the practicability of having the sink outside the toilet which is located in the hallway of the room just outside the toilet facilities which means one does not have to wait for another user to open the toilet door to wash his/her hands. We love the big rain shower which most hotels do not provide such size although there is a bath tub for one to soak after long hours of shopping. The room is bright and makes reading easy too. We will definitely recommend friends and return to Mira Hotel if the rate remains attractive.

Highly recommend a meal at the Michelin-starred contemporary Cantonese cuisine. We have no regrets with the quality of dim sum and other dishes e.g the crispy chicken, bbq meat and roast pork. They also have a unique appetiser which is winter melon soaked in orange sauce. Hotel guests dining at the restaurants are entitled to 25% discount which we were not aware but thanks to the service personnel who highlighted to us but we felt sorry and bad for them as we are in a hurry and did not leave a small token of gratuity for their excellent service. We hope to do so again on our return when we stay or dine at the hotel.

The only set back is the passage way wall is too dark to rooms and to elevators. It can be a long walk and Directory posting to indicate where the lifts are and it is a dead end would be helpful.

Guests who visit HK be aware there is no longer a free airport shuttle available outside the hotel as I remember there used to be one where one could see people queuing to board.

Room Tip: Ask for good view, kind of bed size, higher floor away from supplies room and or lifts area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,662
    964
    200
    64
    44
See reviews for
380
860
219
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Good:

First of all, I am writing this review using the internet TV in the room. Quite cool to have a wireless keyboard with touchpad connected to the internet TV. Very convenient. The rooms have very modern and functional designs, perfect for couples. Plugging your Ipod to their Ipod dock also pipes in music to the bathroom speakers which increases the quatlity of your bath experience. Ultra-convenient location in Tsim Sha Tsui, nuff said. And lastly, the Samsung Galaxy Note 2 that they let you use is great. Perfect for navigating all over Hong Kong with internet and free local calls. Free international calls too, to certain countries, so be sure to check their website for which countries.

The Not-so-Good:

Although the service is good, as in they will try to accommodate any request you may have, the response is quite robotic, meaning it lacks passion. Unlike some smaller high-end hotels, they like a personalization to their service. Everything is quite mechanical. Oh, yeah. the views aren't that great so just close your curtains and enjoy the beautiful room.

All in all, not that much to complain about, so I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I only got to have one night here, and a short one at that, between connecting flights, but my experience was fantastic. The Mira had been talked up so much to me I had high expectations and it didn't disappoint. The one issue I had on check in was there was a name error on my booking, my error entirely, but it gave me a good look at what my clients would have to deal with (I'm a travel agent) in the same situation. The hotel suggested I pay again or make a call to fix it. It was an easy call to make so I don't quite understand why the hotel couldn't make it, but I can imagine the frustration of someone else feeling more helpless than myself thinking they'd have to pay again because of such a silly error. I booked a club room so I could take advantage of the evening cocktails and included breakfast, both were lovely (although service at cocktails rather slow) and i'd book the club room again. It was an easy walk down to the harbour and avenue of stars, and if i'd wanted to shop at the start of my trip then I was in the right place to do so. The hotel has a mobile phone you can take out with you, which I didn't realise, but was disappointed to have not made use of, even just for google maps. The hotel is very modern, so you need to want/expect it to be as such. If you stay here, try to check out all of their facilities, as I feel I missed out because I didn't have the time to look into it a bit more... Definitely recommend this hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tooks_meri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Upgrade - as a returning customer, we will always ask if we are entitled to a complimentary upgrade to the next room tier. The receptionist gladly upgraded us to a room with views of the Kowloon Park and IFC tower! Excellent!

Rooms - getting a bit tired with mattress that didn't look as firm

Value added - they provided each room with a Samsung Note II phone that allows unlimited international, local calls also 3G enabled with unlimited mobile plan...this is really 6*

As usual great location, service and ambience. Will return again. Do read my previous review for a holistic description of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catteaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

1.The tastefully upgraded hotel is worth considering.
2.The rooms are now very tastefully and functionally renovated and is much larger than when stayed there under previous management and ownership.
3.Location is excellent right next to the TsimShaTsui MTR station,and the Mira Mall.
4.The Star feature is the Samsung Galaxy tablet supplied free to every room with free SIM card and wifi.You are contactable anywhere so long as you have the tablet with you. I commend this hotel for providing a travellers need free of charge. The so-called 5*hotels rip you off with outrageous and unjustifiable WIFI and telephone charges.
5.The service staff give excellent service with a smile.
6.For the quality,the room rates are fair.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms facing the Kowloon Park is very pleasant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEIJING
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Have booked this hotel based on TA reivews. Found out it is really good choice for business and family trip in HONG KONG. I arrived late due to flight delay and check-in at midnight. The front desk staff was very efficient and I was upgraded to club level but I only found out next morning when I opened the curtain and see the wonderful park view.
The room is spacious with Hong Kong standard, very clean and nice decor. Nice bathroom with seperate shower and bath tub. Bed is very comfortable. Large Sony LCD TV and minibar.
Location is great for shopping, dinning and MRT. etc.
The great surprise come from the free HANDY - Mobile phone that you could bring around Hong Kong for free unlimited local/international calls, 3G for internet or even wifi hot spot,

The only minor weakness is the shower water is a little bit weak and not hot enough. I have not tried the bath tub so do not know the water is ok or not.

Overall, very good choice for short visit in Kowloon, Hong Kong. Recommend for sure.

Room Tip: Room better choose higher floor or pay a little more for club level, park view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNSONLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The service, professionalism and attention to detail are impeccable! We stayed for 4 nights and couldnt wake up before 12 as the bed was sooo comfortable. The excellent location, helpful door men, reception and cleaners are so nice. We ate in and had the pasta alfredo and beef burger. Yum! The Vibe Bar and smoking room is a pumping place to be; Mojitos Yum! My only negative is some noisy neighbours and the lack of choice for a smoking room; one of my indulgences on holidays. Did i mention the hot shower? If youre looking for relaxation, 2 things are the shower and bed and we got that and more at the Mira.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#44 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,360 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mira Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mira Hong Kong

Property: The Mira Hong Kong
Address: 118 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mira Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip interiors, award-winning cuisine, and personalised guest service continue to build on our reputation as Hong Kong's hottest Design hotel. And now, our Michelin recommended restaurants: Cuisine Cuisine at The Mira and WHISK offer some of the finest culinary experiences the city has to offer. Stylish, iconoclastic, individualised. Marked by art, music, cuisine, and all that's uplifting and edgy in-between. A discreet designer haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mira Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mira Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mira Hotel Hong Kong
Mira Hong Kong
Miramar Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Miramar Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing