We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very reliable choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #52 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a trendy or overly stylish hotel, this probably isn't the place for you. Metropark Causeway Bay offers great service and immaculate rooms at a good price. We were given an upgrade to a suite on the 25th floor overlooking the bay and were bowled over by the amazing views across the city, Victoria Park and the streets below. We couldn't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NankeenNightHeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and service was really good! The staff are friendly and very helpful. Bell boys are very friendly and service of a higher star hotel. Taxis come thru the area less often so bell boys are very helpful in calling taxis. The location is also very good. Only a few steps from the tin hau tmr station and a tram away from causeway bay! Excellent hotel!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank KylieL644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Dec 11-13. Staff at reception are very efficient, warm and friendly. Communication in English is a breeze with them. Housekeeping service is also excellent. Though we were on the non-smoking floor, the air along the corridor has this unpleasant stale cigarette smell which can be annoying. One let down is that the free internet in the rooms is not wifi. this Thus iPad and mobile are useless. However, wifi are available down at the reception area which has only 4 arm chairs. One Concierge staff proved to be not too empathetic. I had to request him to cancel my taxi booking at the last minute due to unforeseen circumstances, he showed his annoyance and my 'thank you' was not even acknowledged by him.

On the funny side. We were elated when told we were given rooms on the 18th floor. Tot we will have a panaromic view. Got into my room, draw the curtain, was taken aback. Our 'joy' was short lived. My room looked right into a block of apartment. Distance between is probably only 50 meters. It will cost about HKG$300 more to switch to harbour view. Decided not to switch cos the 'harbour view' is actually rooms facing the road with a view of the harbour from a distance. Anyway, if you want a panaromic view, get to the top floor where the pool is . Look at the photo of the hotel displayed on the web site. One side of the hotel faces the main road. The other side faces a neighbourhood with a network of high rise apartments.

Location wise, it is excellent and I feel very safe walking-about all myself. Many food outlets. Round the corner is a supermarket, 'Welcome' , where we discovered that the prices are much lower than 7-eleven. Coral Cafe, 3 mins walk, is like a fast food outlets that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Well patronise by the locals.

Overall, I prefer this hotel to Butterfly@Morrison. Though I would say Butterfly Hotel's mattress and pillows are far more superior. Metropark mattress are hard. Pillows are either too hard or simply too soft.

However, if I am not prepared to pay more to avoid having a 'apartment view' , I will try another hotel. This time, I must have a good look of the photo shots of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seekingadvice2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark C, Public Relations Manager at Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear seekingadvice2410,

First of all, thank you for choosing Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong and taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not entirely satisfactory in this case. Meanwhile, as customer service is always our vital concern in running the hotel and no toleration even in those minor aspects, we therefore have passed on your comments to the concerned department for review and further improvement.

In response to your particular experience on the guest room, we really astonished by the situation that mentioned in your review and absolutely have to make an in-depth investigation on the hotel ventilation. However, thoroughly checking on all records with concerned department had been conducted immediately and it is incomprehensible that we failed to find any complaint within these couple of month regarding the captioned. Therefore, we would like to seek for your kind assistance in providing more in detail including name of the registrant, staying period, room number etc. via pr.hkcb@metroparkhotels.com to facilitate our searching process.

Regarding the complimentary in-room Internet service, in addition to the wired broadband Internet access, we also provide wireless routers on request to connect to the Wi-Fi signal to ensure our honorable guests can access broadband Internet service at convenience.
As for the view from guest room, we are sorry that your room allocation was not satisfactory while the hotel is experiencing high demand and critical room situation during the said period. However, we are pleased to let you know that our Harbour View Room is well designed with not only the famous Victoria Harbour view, but also the extensive greenery of Victoria Park and city view so that guests can enjoy a full picture of Hong Kong's busy lives. Hoping these pieces of information allow us to the chance of giving you more pleasure of stay in the future.

Again, thanks for your valuable comments, which encourage us for a higher level of service quality. Should you have any further comments or enquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us at sales.hkcb@metroparkhotels.com. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the coming future.

Best regards,
Joanne
PR of Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel. Perfect location, just outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown Hong Kong. I have a 10 month boy and this location was just great for us. The staff at the hotel were so helpful and friendly. The food was magnificent (I recommend the buffet dinner) and the room was very clean. Easy to get to any other part of Hong Kong. 10 out of 10.

Stayed: December 2012
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and thought it was a great hotel. It was located close to Victoria Park, and a few minutes to the MTR station, which made it very easy to get around. And it was really easy to get here from the airport - took the Airport Express to the Hong Kong station, then transferred to the Island line and got off at Tin Hau. There's nothing extra special about the hotel, but it's clean, the staff was friendly, and we were walking distance from some great Causeway Bay shopping. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mishelley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Hotel is located near Tin Hau station - 5 mins walk away. This is only a few stops on the MTR from Admiralty and Central. There are plenty of local shops nearby including a supermarket and a 7Eleven (useful for a phone card to make cheaper calls).

The standard rooms are not big but are comfortable. We stayed for 7 nights are were well looked after by the staff. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as the freedom cafe next door to the hotel is far cheaper and the breakfast was good there. The hotel has a happy hour where the drinks are buy one, get one free. This was quite good value as drinks are expensive in HK.
Our room had sockets for UK plugs which was useful. There is a small pool and gym on the top floor with amazing views.

There is loads to see and do in HK. Highlights included the Nping Pong 360 cable car, Wooloomooloo steakhouse and roof terrace in Wanchai, afternoon tea at the Peninsula hotel, Junkboat trip around the harbour (get tickets from HK Tourist Office Kowloon side of Star Ferry - bring your passport, only HK$100 each), Spoon restaurant at the Intercontinental, Temple near Diamon Hill and our friends wedding at Repulse Bay,

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcusf1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the metropark when we were in Hong Kong. I will give you a honest and fair review of the hotel.

I think it's good value for money and i would stay again. I wouldn't class this as a luxury hotel but it's of a decent quality. When you arrive you do notice that it's a bit 90s and is not ultra modern or contempory in style but for the price you pay you have to be realistic. The plus sides really are the price, the stunning view from the pool and scenic bar, the free pool and gym and the service. But there are some downsides which of course we must discuss; firstly there's the lifts.

The lifts are painfully slow and only 2 out of the 3 lifts go all the way to the Roof top. And that's fine unless you want to go to the pool which is on the roof and you press up and the lift that doesn't go to the top arrives. Twice.

As i mentioned, the hotel was clearly built about 20 years ago and therefore Eveything is a bit 90s, which is fine, just saying.

The 'free' wireless is only available in rooms on levels 1-3 but free broadband is available in higher level rooms provided by something called a 'cable' which i understand connects to something called a 'laptop'. Now, if, say, it was 1995 i would no doubt have had both of them but it's not and i don't so i could only access the internet from my iDevices in the lobby.

Plus sides:

There is a free internet PC in reception; handy.

The staff are ace and very friendly. One man desperately tried to get me the lift i needed to get to the roof and when we checked out they couldn't have been more helpful storing our cases and allowed us to use the pool area and showers etc before we flew home (many hours later).

The roof top pool is great and they don't charge guests to use it (well done) and provide towels etc and a small free gym. The pool itself is a bit 90s (shock) but i think the dolphins (not real ones) are actually almost retro cool.

The room is fine, clean, compact, marble bathroom, with a lcd tv and mini bar.



  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nobby001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark C, Public Relations Manager at Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Nobby001,

First of all, thank you for choosing Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong and taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not entirely satisfactory while the hotel is experiencing high demand and critical room situation. Meanwhile, we have shared your comments with the concerned departments for continual improvement.

We understand that our hotel is going through the years, yet we are sticking with regular cleaning work and refurbishment, which are always our vital concern in running the hotel and no toleration even in those minor aspects. We therefore have passed your comments to the concerned department for review and further improvement.

In response to your comments on the complimentary in-room Internet service, in addition to the in-room broadband with hard-wired cords for all of the guest rooms, we also provide wireless routers on request to connect to the Wi-Fi signal to ensure our honorable guests can access broadband Internet service at convenience. Hoping these pieces of information allow us to the chance of giving you more pleasure of stay in the future.

Again, thanks for your valuable comments, which encourage us for a higher level of service quality. Should you have any further comments or enquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us at sales.hkcb@metroparkhotels.com. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the coming future.

Best regards,
Joanne
PR of Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#53 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,406 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
TUVE
#29 of 723 in Hong Kong
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#65 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,388 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#105 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,431 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Address: No.148 Tung Lo Wan Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $126 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong, a business and leisure hotel with unrivalled harbour view, full range of facilities & services and convenient location, just 2 minutes walk to Tin Hau station and 10 minutes to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre by Hotel Free Shuttle, welcoming you to experience a contemporary retreat featuring comfort guestrooms and relaxing ambience. Innovative dining concept and well-equipped facilities are complemented by great service and stunning views of Hong Kong's harbour. All round facilities include Free Wi-Fi & Broadband Internet Access, Rooftop Outdoor Swimming Pool (close in Jan & Feb), Health Club, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Business Centre, Restaurant & Pub and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropark Hotel Hong Kong
Metropark Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing