We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to LIVE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Metropolis
Ranked #117 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I don't think any other hotel offers so much value for money as much as Harbour Plaza does. Rooms are not that spacious but the overall ambiance and the view from your hotel room makes it all worth while. The staff is friendly and go out of their way to help you.
I strongly recommend this place to all!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Well I decided to try this hotel for just 1 night on a 5 night trip to HK....and was disappointed. we were greeted with a long line upon our arrival to check-in. had to wait 35 mins. the same treatment on check out. it seems this hotel is popular with japanese tourist groups that arrive by the busload and all check in and check out together...

anyway, the hotel itself is quite big and sprawling in a somewhat isolated part of Kowloon 15 mins away (by foot) from all the action / hustle and bustle of Tsim Sha Tsui. There is nothing really around the hotel and you'd have to venture out to find any restaurants, shops, etc.

our room was small and overall our experience at this hotel was not the best! however, your mileage may vary but i would not recommend spending $150/night for this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTT-789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A large hotel in a good position with views of Victoria Harbour.

We had a suite and it was excellent. Light and airey and everything worked as it should.

The restaurant was good and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast.

Walking distance to the shops and many attractions.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

very quiet, not bad at all, about five to ten minutes walk from MTR, some construction is happening next door and this made it little inconvenient, value for money and had good harbor view. The Indians at the door are excellent and can help with any question. Service at the front desk was excellent and they gave extra welcome drink because room was 30 mins late.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Harbour Plaza Metropolis. The address is Hung Hom. However, it is very close to east Tsim Sha Tsui. You can walk to TST in less than ten minutes. You might need help navigating the first time but it is quite easy and fast to walk to TST from the hotel. If it is raining or you do not like to walk it is easy to hail a taxi from the hotel to any HK destination.

The rooms are not large. The beds are the typical hard beds that you get in Hong Kong and China. But I prefer a hard mattress so I have no problem with them.

The breakfast buffet offers a wide selection of food. It is quite good. Try to get a room package that includes breakfast. Otherwise if purchased separately breakfast is very expensive.

The lunch and dinner buffets are also very good. However, they are very expensive as well. If you are on a budget there are many other cheaper alternatives in HK for lunch and dinner.

The hotel has a very nice workout facility that overlooks the pool. The facility includes many stair climbers and treadmills as well as a wide selection of weight machines and dumb bells.

Check in and check out is slow and painful. The hotel could definitely improve the process.

The Hung Hum MTR and KCR train station is about a two minute walk from the hotel. The KCR train to Lowu or Lok Mau Chau China boards at Hung Hum making China trips very easy from this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

the service at front desk for check in and check out is slow , probably because many people chose this very nice location close to everywhere. the price i had was extremely convenient and my room was comfortable enough. it is quite. i 'll go back if i find same price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristianoBernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Needed a two night stopover in Hong Kong and the girlfriend booked this hotel. I had to admit that, while the experience was not exactly bad, there was something "off" about the whole hotel, like bad "feng shui".

This is a five star hotel but with nothing particularly well designed - as though it was all done as cheaply as possible. Consequently, the large main lobby was always too busy and felt more like the ticket office at a large bus station when attempting to check in and out. The overspill cafe on one side and mall entrance on the other only added to this feeling.

The rooms were clean and modern, but worn and characterless - as though someone had, once again, merely bought the minimum needed to furnish the room; and not even welcoming at that.

We had been upgraded to a suite, but unlike a suite in a five star European hotel room, this was simply an extra living room/space with a sofa bed for the kids; and a small kitchen that had been fitted with some very poor appliances and cupboards. Nothing about the kitchen encouraged me to use it!

The bathroom was small, with only a shower, and the taps were worn and temperamental - taking a few minutes of experimentation to get the temperature right. And as this was a suite that encouraged more than a couple of people to stay I did expect a separate toilet, or at least a separate toilet from bathroom.

As suites go, this was designed to make it possible for a family to stay, not a luxury; and did not impress me enough to recommend the upgrade. In fact, if it actually costs money, I'd actively suggest not taking the upgrade.

The hotel restaurants were badly arranged, terribly expensive, and not welcoming. The food may have been good but we did not stop to eat there.

The location of the hotel was itself odd. It's right next to Hung Hom MTR stop, in a post industrial site currently being redeveloped, and alongside one of the main roads leading to a road tunnel to the Island. While we had a spectacular island harbour view, the near location was hardly inspiring.

One other point about the location. Travelling on MTR in HK is easy. But the interchange at TST to get on to the line for one stop to Hung Hom is so convoluted that you end up walking for the better part of fifteen minutes - longer than the one stop journey on the MTR. So if you want to get to Nathan Road from the hotel, far better to use the hotel shuttle bus rather than MTR.

And it's the simple things that really sell a place. We needed to print off our boarding cards for our onward flight, and while there was a modern business center where we could do this, there was a charge - as there was for everything in the hotel. I think if that one thing had been free (we only needed fifteen minutes of internet and a single printout) I may have changed my view of the hotel.

On the whole, while the experience was fine, the hotel was featureless and characterless. It would not be on any list of mine to return to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldcitizen999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kowloon Harbourfront Hotel
#178 of 726 in Hong Kong
265 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#57 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,062 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#92 of 726 in Hong Kong
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#88 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,804 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#114 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,497 reviews
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#53 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Metropolis

Address: No.7 Metropolis Drive, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $119 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza Metropolis 4*
Number of rooms: 822
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Plaza Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing