We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Service, Good Location”
Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Service, Good Location”
Reviewed December 10, 2006

Stayed here for 5 nights in Nov/Dec.

Used the hotel shuttle from the airport as we had 4 large bags and did not want to use the Express Train and handle the baggage.

Room was smaller than expected but did have a great bed with a choice of pillows, great amenities and a wonderful view of Hong Kong. The washroom with glass walls takes a little getting used to but makes the room feel bigger and more contemporary.

The service was great. About 3 days after checking in I went down to request another key. I spoke to the same agent who had checked me in and she remembered my name and the room number!

On one night I wondered down to the buffet resteraunt to purchase a few crackers as I had an upset stomach. I was immediately given some crackers from the buffet and told not to worry when I offered to pay.

As other reviews have stated, the pool and gym area are well maintained, very modern and offer great views of Hong Kong.

I really liked the location. Mong Kok is only 2 MTR stops from Kowloon and a good base for any visitor. Wonderful shopping and resteraunts all around. When we were walking around Kowloon we were constantly being bothered with offers for suits etc. You will not find this in Mong Kok as I feel this is where many of the locals eat and shop (vs. the tourists).

Make sure to try the Dim Sum resteraunt (on level 3) located in the mall next to the hotel. Some of the best Dim Sum I have ever tried!

  • Liked — Clean and Modern
  • Disliked — Rooms are a little small but very functional
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Ladies Market and Food Court in the mall for meals
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Ridgesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,572
    1,364
    245
    67
    34
See reviews for
1,446
2,150
457
1,219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Englishman abroad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

The High Tech features are a little daunting at first as is the see through window from the superb bathroom which as well as enabling one to watch TV whilst taking a bath, also exposes the tiolet to anyone in the bedroom!
Rooms are rather small but very comfortable and the proximity of the Langham Place Centre a real bonus. Views are not great but I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Noisy corridors
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HGWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

There's not much to add that hasn't been said already - this is a great hotel! Our 29th Floor room had a fantastic view. It was very clean and contained everything we needed. The jacuzzi / pool area on the 41st Floor was excellent and was also quiet so you never felt crowded.

The location is brilliant, Mong Kok is a joy to walk around: interesting streets, shops and people. The MTR subway station is very close for trains to the main tourist attractions.

We also booked some tours through the conceirge with a company called "Splendid" which I would recommend.

  • Liked — excellent location
  • Disliked — no faults whatsoever!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank sm_1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

We booked this hotel because our first choice, based on this website, Hotel Nikko was unavailable. Having stayed in the Langham Place I'm glad.

Langham Place is in the bustling area of Mongkok. The hotel is attached to a shopping centre which has a food court with an immense variety of food outlets. It is also surrounded by streets full of shops and markets which have an unbelievable atmosphere both during the day and at night.

The hotel itself wholeheartedly deserves it's 5* rating. The quality, efficiency and warmth of the staff, from the moment you step out of the taxi is wonderfull. Little touches such as the beautiful scent which greets you when you walk in, to the refreshing towels the staff give you whilst you are checking in make the experience, for someone who doesn't normally book 5* unless the rate is too good to miss.

The room we booked was an executive room and we were more than happy with the standard of comfort and cleanliness. The bed was huge and we were offerred a choice of differently scented pillows. Having already read the reviews on the TA website we were well aware that the wall between the ensuite and the main bedroom was made of glass and we found this added to the feeling of space in the room. Besides that if you wanted you could watch the Plasma TV from the bath if you wanted.

It was quite hot in Hong Kong when we were there which we were not expecting and so we found that upon returning to the hotel after a long days sightseeing and shopping we needed to refresh and shower. The main thing which impressed us was that when the staff came to turn down the bed in the evening they also completely cleaned and replenished the bathroom and shower area again rather than wait until the next morning.

We eat breakfast in the hotel on a couple of mornings and the choice was wide ranging and excellent. I particularly liked the fact that the honey was from a honeycomb.

We also spent most evenings in the bar which had an excellent Canadian jazz singer on most nights. The atmosphere was congenial, the choice of drinks good and should you get hungry they had an excellent display of fresh seafood (oysters etc) for you to choose from.

All in all I would have to say this hotel has it all. I worried initially that it's location away from the harbour would be inconvenient but the MTR was right on the doorstep and the surrounding streets were lively and vibrant. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — The consistently high standard of accommodation and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — If you don't want to eat in the hotel restaurant try the Food court in the mall next door.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank hxdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights.
The deco of the hotel is great, very chic & modern.
The hotel is located right above the Metro station and shopping centre, which makes travelling a lot easier.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophdobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

The Hotel was awesome...it's true about what earlier reviews have commented...the aroma when you walk into the lobby, the greetings you received when you walk in. I stayed in the executive room...it was very nice, the plasma tv, the bathroom, and the view...i'd definitely stay there again... what's cool: i made my reservation through their website in july...when it came close to my arrival date, the price went down two times...so, if you plan ahead, check periodically on the rates...you may be surprised! I'll post photos in the near future.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Sportster168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

First Class Five Star Hotel with terrific contemporary design which manages to avoid the stuffiness of competing Five Star Hotels in HK.

Situated in real Hong Kong with hustle and bustle of local Chinese in the surrounding streets. Avoids the rather sterile Central Business District atmosphere of eg Four Seasons and Mandarin Oriental.

Excellent communications as situated on top of Mongkok MTR giving direct access to Kow;oon waterfront and to Central. Rapid road access to Central on HK island in just ten minutes via Western Tunnel which avoids congestion around middle Harbour Tunnel.

Five star service amongst the best I have seen. Unbelievable comfortable beds. Room size absoloutley fine although perhaps not as big as at some five star establishments - but bigger than I expected having seen some comments on this website. Excellent bathrooms with glazed screen providing breathtaking views.

Relaxed and buzzing Portal bar full of wealthy Hong Kong Chinese as well as hotel guests. Terrific live Jazz every evening (except Sunday).

A great hotel for a businessman wanting to escape from the sterile atmosphere surrounding Mandarin Oriental or Four Seasons and great for wealthier tourists too. Can't receommend it highly enough - I will be back.

  • Liked — First Class Service, Contemporary Design and Great Location
  • Disliked — That I could not stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — Escape Package bookable on hotel wesite excellent value
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank NickfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,625 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,771 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,848 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing