We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Excellent Hotel. The staff were very efficient, polite and helpful. The Club Team were excellent and made our stayed very special. Can fully recommend and would definitely choose this hotel again when we next stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,717
    1,393
    249
    69
    35
See reviews for
1,505
2,205
465
1,257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is probably my fifth or sixth stay and this hotel and it continues to please. All staff from check in to check out are friendly and professional. We booked a club room which is definitely worth the extra money and the staff member who checked us in left a card for us to say goodbye as she wasn't working on the day we left. The amenities in the bathroom are of good quality and replenished regularly. There was iceceams in the freezer with a note which said now you've found them they're yours!! There were also jelly beans and rubiks cube hidden in the drawer with the writing paper. As we had stayed before they were complimentary champagne and chocolates. Always a nice. touch. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozartandmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I recently statyed at Langham Mongkok with my family, and we all had a wonderful experience.
The rooms are big (by Hong Kong standard). We had a Trio room and a Essential Place Plus.
The staff are attentive and helpful : the boys at the concierge ensure the taxi driver understand exactly where we want to go whenever we needed a taxi to go out; the check in and check out were fast and efficient, I do not need to wait long for that; the Ming Court restaruarnt was marvellous too. Will definitely stay at Langham again for my next visit to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeWenDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed here for business on the recommendation of a colleague. It's a new hotel located directly next to Langham Place Shopping Mall and the Mongkok MTR station. So it's convenient for shopping, dining out and getting to the rest of HK. It's also just a short cab ride to Kowloon Airport Express station.

The rooms are not the largest but have ample space and all the conveniences that you need for business - ergonomic desk, plenty of power outlets for chargers etc, good lighting etc. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The bathroom was very functional and my room had the optional raindrop shower.

I went for a rate that included wifi and a discounted breakfast. The connection was very fast and reliable. The breakfast buffet was above average and extremely good value. Lunch can be a bit limited in choice. There is a soup and salad bar which is okay. But if you want anything else from the Portal lounge, you may have to wait a bit longer.

I didn't try the Michelin rated Chinese restaurant - but a colleague has. He rated it as the best Chinese restaurant he's ever been to.

Overall, extremely good value for money in a convenient location. Mongkok is far more traditional HK Chinese than say TST. It caters for both tourists and locals - but mainly locals. With the Ladies Market just a two minute walk away, it's a real taste of HK culture.

I will stay here again and would recommend this highly to anyone visiting HK or here on business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I always stay here. It's convenience right in the middle of Mong Kok, Kowloon. You can walk around, lady market, sport market, gold fish market, and flower market. The hotel also connects to the Langham place shopping centre. Lot of nice brand shops and restaurants around. Depend on what do you like from cheap to expensive. The room is a good size, worth the price and staffs are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peung22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a hotel in the middle of Mongkok, a bustling area of HK. Access to a mall and metro is very good. The hotel provides all modern conveniences and all the things required from a business class hotel. But that's about it.

Service is not personal, but maybe the culture of HK itself is like that. You cannot expect service or kindness like in Thailand or Bali. HK is a rough city with a lot of people. In the hotel, service is efficient, but without a smile and you feel like you are imposing on the staff when you ask for a service. Maybe, the GM of the hotel can teach the staff to smile more and ask simple questions like "Are you satisfied? Would you like something else etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPHKG, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi NR S,

Thanks for sharing your feedback, disappointing to hear of your experience. It would be good to communicate with you further on your feedback, my email address is simon.mchendry@langhamhotels.com. I hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

After going back and forth with a few hotels we had shortlisted, we were down to Hotel Icon and Langham Place. We chose the latter based on rave reviews from our family and friends. Lugging our heavy suitcases and 3 grumpy young kids after checking out of HK Disneyland. Hotel, we took a cab with a terribly rude driver who demanded we pay him an extra 50 bucks when we reached our destination, who stayed glued to his seat while we loaded our stuff with our kids at the peril of a particularly busy Hong Kong street (he dropped us at a side door of the hotel).

There was no reception nor staff at the place where we arrived, so we wandered to level 36 for the Club L check-in. The check-in was wonky, us being lost with our luggage and kids and no signs or staff to direct us. We finally found out that the check-in counter was actually inside the Club Lounge, after making several futile trips up and down the corridors. There was someone else at the counter, so we waited, me with a heavy toddler sleeping in my arms. We were up in our room after 20 minutes or so. Again, no bell service nor staff to direct us.

However, the good parts started here. The suite was lovely, the bathroom spacious, the kitchen well-equipped and generally clean and comfortable. During our stay, the service was always prompt and polite, requests attended to swiftly. Children amentities wee provided, loads of complimentary bottled water placed all over the room, and little surprises placed strategically in different parts of the room (eye visor, rubric cube, fun dice, jelly beans etc). Cute. I love the view of the full glass windows in the living area.

The breakfast on the first floor was spectacular. Fresh, hot, tasty and superb selection. I am hardly a buffet person because I feel that the quality is almost always compromised for the quantity, but everything I tried tasted good. The hot stations were delicious, namely the laksa and noodle soup. Definitely spoilt for choice!

The club lounge was ok. I don't take liquor, and the food selection was not fantastic although decent. The view was spectacular and the service was polite. But we didn't use the lounge that much as we were usually out the whole day and I needed to be with the kids when they rest. There was also a TV room for the kids.

On my 2nd morning, I met an amazing concierge Eddie. He was friendly, efficient and very knowledgable. Only 3 minutes, I got all the information I needed dispensed in a most comprehensive and efficient way, with sightseeing recommendations and route suggestions. Very impressive!

The location of the hotel was good too. As we had young kids with us, we were a little apprehensive about staying in Mongkok because we read that it was rowdy and crowded, and maybe the HK side would be better. But I love it! The mall is connected conveniently whenever we needed food or groceries, shopping is great and the markets are within walking distance. The area surely oozes character, is authentic and crazy packed everyday. Throngs of crowd, but I love the atmosphere, lively, noisy and so local. I am glad we didn't choose a hotel in Central (manicured shopping belt, tall buildings and big brand names atypical of developed countries).

On our last day, we were helped by a hotel staff, Chong. He was very polite and helpful. We were grateful for his help.

Thank you. Langham Place, for a wonderful stay in HK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YeokJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,823 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,891 reviews
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,957 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing