We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky hotel in a cool location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in a cool location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am from HK originally and now live in the UK. My family lives not far from the Langham Place hotel, and I stay at the hotel every time I come back to visit. It is in an area called Mongkok which is a very "LOCAL" area, never used to be very touristy but that just adds to its charm. You stay in this hotel not because you want to compare it to the other Five Star places in the city, but because it is a cool area, much less sterile than Central. It is very reasonable for this city price wise, less than half the price of the Mandarin etc. I stay in the Prime Place rooms which are a bit more pricey, probably one below a suite, but they are very spacious, with a super huge comfortable bed, walk in shower and separate bath, a mini kitchenette, seating area, huge TV, floor to ceiling windows etc. It is cleaned twice a day, and I cannot fault the people who work there. It is not as luxurious as the Mandarin or the Shangri La (which let's face it are FANTASTIC), but it is a different type of hotel really! Much more funky, much less expensive. It makes up for it with great service and the location.
Mongkok is a busy place full of interesting streets that never go to sleep. It is a very convenient location, you can catch the tube, the bus, or a cab really easily (by cab via the Western tunnel, you can be in Central in 20 minutes). Nathan Road is 5 minutes walk away, which is the road you see in all the postcards with the huge neon signs and shops etc. It is attached to a great shopping mall with lots of restaurants and interesting shops (starbucks, local fast food places, high end dim sum restaurants, fashion, makeup, accessories shops etc). This is open until 11pm and it's where the locals hang out (where lots of young couples come for dates at the weekends!) If you don't have breakfast at the hotel, you literally wander across a glass bridge and you are in the mall faced with all the choices in the world (Starbucks, Japanese, Singaporean....) If you feel more adventurous, come out of the hotel and to the side streets and you have all sorts of "local" cafes and restaurants (roast duck noodles, huge bowls of congee etc). There is also a wet market right behind the hotel, where my mother goes shopping for seafood (it is well known for its seafood). The big development "Elements" is not far away, if you fancy high end entertainment. If you want something more affordable, Ladies Market and Fa Yuen Street market are both also walking distance away.
The restaurants in the hotel are good, if a bit pricey. The Chinese restaurant serves excellent food, great dim sum, very good roasted/ barbecued meats (it has a Michelin star). The Japanese restaurant is good too, although a bit of a strange space and not necessarily atmospheric. I have not eaten in the other restaurants, as there is just so much choice outside of the hotel within walking distance.
The swimming pool is small but quite fun as it is on the roof. The changing rooms are spotless and very well maintained. The gym is excellent, very well equipped and maintained, superb views. The spa is good although it is expensive. It is very luxurious, a treat. But bear in mind there are a HUGE array of spas in HK which provide equally good treatments (if not better) but definitely not as luxuriously decorated.
All in all, one of my favourite places to stay in the world. I like the way it is managed by excellent staff, it is very comfortable, I love the location, and it has good energy!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a no smoking floor and request a quiet room if you are solo or a couple. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPHKG, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Heidi T,

Your insight into all that uniquely sets us apart from other hotels in the city is much appreciated. As always, it will be great having you back with us when you visit your family here again.

Sincerely,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,392
    1,328
    241
    65
    34
See reviews for
1,394
2,081
445
1,166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

i've stayed in a few different hotels in hong kong, and for the rate this is the best. rooms are spacious and comfortable, and staff is unbelievable. always an incredibly warm welcome and attend to every need i could have. location is perfect - mall across the breezeway with starbucks and great shopping, walking distance to ladies market and sneaker street, very close to metro. "portal" bar is great - live entertainment (that's actually good) with extensive wine list and great food. i travel in asia for business and always leave the hong kong portion until last to stay in this hotel to have the "best for last".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I strongly recommend to anyone to upgrade to the Club L at The Langham Place Hotel, Mong Kok in Hong Kong - the BEST way to end our holiday.

Having drinks on-tap all day in the Club L lounge, plus canapés, sandwiches and cheese and biscuits late into the evening meant that we knew whatever time of day we returned to the hotel there would be something to pick us up. The views were stunning from both our room and the lounge - as we were staying over the National Day holiday we were so high up we could even see the fireworks in the harbour!

The service was impeccable, location for shopping in the major markets - the best, and the ease to pop in the underground and travel to Hong Kong Island - so easy. Great value and quality for money.

Room Tip: The higher the better - floor to ceiling windows give a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adèle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney NSW
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

There were 2 major differences on my most recent trip to Hong Kong where, again, we stayed at Langham Place Hotel, Mongkok.

Firstly my wife and I decided to bring two neices (14 and 19) for their first overseas experience, Secondly and more significanctly, my wife had recently been diagnised with Coeliac disease and had to avoid gluten containing foods, an issue which had caused her problems in Canada a couple of months ago.

As to the former, the staff of the Hotel, especially The Club staff, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. From the welcome at the door by a Frenchman (described as 'dreamy' by one neice) to, swiming 42 floors up, to being escorted on departure to the shuttle, the neices could not have had a better time.

I dare say the girls will have a hard time ever having as good a time at a hotel as they did at Langham Place..

Given our Canadian experience, my wife and I were a bit concerned at her food issues.

However, the staff again outdid themselves.

On arrival they had little cards for my wife in English and Chinese about having to avoid gluten in food she ordered in various restaurants.

At the Hotel's 'The Place' restuarant, Club staff introduced my wife to the chef, who kept an eye out for my wife whenever we were in the restaurant.

He went through the menu with her and walked her around the buffet to let her know what did and did not have gluten.

On one occasion, he noticed she was about to take some gluten containing food. He intervened and made her a gluten free serve which he personally delivered to the table.

We went there to be looked after and were.

Someone else has done a tripAdvisor review of the hotel entitled "Best hotel on the planet”

I agree

Room Tip: Go for a Club room. We have stayed on both sides of the building, both have good outlooks and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grestymosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel is located close to Mongkok station, there are wet markets at rear, shopping mall out the front, close to ladies market. Staff are great lovely breakfast buffet. It's typically Asian, a contrast right outside of high end luxury and then street markets with live frogs for sale for food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALTTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I think this hotel is overrated. During this same trip I spend a night at the Langham Place and the other night at the Interconti. You can't compare these two hotels, because the Interconti is a thousand times better.
However, the rooms at the Langham are very tiny, but clean. What I didn't like is, that they didn't really care about my Langham 1865 Voyager status. I think that a guest with such a status should be upgraded to a room with access to the club lounge, but I didn't even get the newspaper I have selected in advance! The location is not perfect, because there is a big bus right at the bottom of the hotel. The service was ok, but it could have been a lot friendlier! I will definitely not stay here again. I would rate this hotel between 3 stars plus and a lower 4 star level, but for sure not 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPHKG, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi familyde,

As an 1865 member, we very much value your loyalty to Langham and were disappointed to read that your experience with us fell short of your expectations. It would be good to personally communicate with you on your feedback, I can be reached at
simon.mchendry@langhamhotels.com

I hope to hear from you soon

Sincerely,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is truly amazing in all aspects. From the moment you arrive the beautiful fragrance imparts a calming effect from the noise and excitement of fabulous Mongkok.
The staff swiftly attend to treating you with respect, courtesy and style making you feel special. Absolutely everyone smiles and is genuinely happy to make the stay perfect. We were given a beautiful room with panoramic views, brilliant beds, spotless bathroom and every convenience under the sun. The breakfast is stunning with coffee individually made not from a pot sitting around stewing up or going cold.
The wifi was included so meant a very quick connection to family via FaceTime enabled family to see the spectacular Chuan Spa facilities first hand. The attention to detail is truly spectacular at this hotel. Even the housekeepers engage in fun conversations asking if there is anything they can assist you with. Nothing is too much trouble for any staff member. The concierge tried to track down size 13 Nike shoes for my son in law as it was quite tiring walking everywhere and we preferred to sit by the pool area drinking lychee cocktails. When I admired the pens and stationery I was given 4 pens as presents.
I can't explain how brilliant this hotel was except to say that I can compare another 5 star Hong Kong property where I stayed 6 months ago but there is simply no comparison. Other 5 star hotels are only interested in speaking to you if you are firstly Chinese and secondly filthy rich. They are only interested in dealing with businessmen in suits rather than an Australian who wishes to have fun, conversation and fabulous food and drinks in an outstanding environment.

Do yourself a favour and stay there. We stayed for 4 nights and it was sensational.

Room Tip: High floors have amazing views of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4thtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPHKG, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Lennox Head,

For sure the team enjoyed engaging with you as much as you with them! Do come back again soon!

DREAM BIG!
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing