We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed there for a very short 4 days (due to work, could not stay longer) and it was a memorable one!

I must say, the concierge staff were very knowledgeable and delivered impeccable service! Gotta give it to them!

The room was clean (no musty smell) and the housekeeping did a thorough job whenever she makes the room. Everything was vacuumed, mopped and wiped clean. Oh, and the turnover service in the evenings was simply superb! Very detailed! Must give it to them on this one too!

The location of the hotel is really very good! I read up on Trip Advisor before deciding on a hotel. And I must say, it was a good recommendation! This hotel is located right smack in Mongkok where the street markets are just a walking distance away. Accessibility to the train network is very convenient because the shopping mall of the hotel is connected to the Mongkok MTR station, making travel to other parts of Hong Kong very convenient. The taxi services were also very good. No surcharges etc and they get you to your destinations quickly (provided there are no jams along the way).

Food is also not a problem. There are nice restaurants serving local cuisines from dim sum to Japanese & Western food is available around the area (if you don't plan to travel out of Mongkok). The local eateries around the area open till late at night where some even open for 24 hours. We didn’t eat at the hotel restaurant nor did we opt for the hotel’s breakfast package as we have already planned to venture out and dine at the local eateries and especially the convenience of waking up in the late morning.

We tried out the massage and it was really good and relaxing! The hotel has a roof-top pool and outdoor jacuzzi. Best part, both are heated. So it wasn’t a problem if the ouotdoor temperature drops to 10 degress or lower. You can still enjoy a nice warm swim.

We are already planning another trip in June this year. And if we decide to fly to Hong Kong again, there is a high possibility that we would come back to stay at Langham Place again...and this time, it would be a week at least!

Room Tip: Do note that the hotel charges for internet in your room. We opted it out as there is a business cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leezardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,382
    1,325
    241
    64
    34
See reviews for
1,390
2,075
444
1,163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in the Langham Place Hotel recently, and really quite enjoyed it. It's a great option if you need or want to stay in Kowloon as opposed to HK Island. On previous visits to Hong Kong I've always stayed in Tsim Tsa Tsui, which is convenient but very crowded and overrun with annoying touts trying to sell you everything from tailored suits to Rolex watches. The Langham Place Hotel is a few miles north of Tsim Tsa Tsui, in Mongkok, and it's really quite a different atmosphere. It's a good deal less crowded (although of course it's Hong Kong so that's a relative term), and generally has a more local vibe than Tsim Tsa Tsui.

The hotel itself is quite nice if a bit soulless; there's really not much memorable about it, but I don't suppose that's a bad thing. The room and bed were both well-appointed and quite comfortable, and the room AC was fantastic and kept the room nice and cool. Breakfast is also good but a bit sparse on options. Certainly well worth it if you can get a room package that includes breakfast (I did). The adjacent mall has at least a dozen restaurants right across the walkway, although I don't think they're open early so they may not be good options for breakfast. You can also get to the Mongkok subway station through the mall, but it's a bit of a maze and requires going down several floors and walking through quite a good bit of the mall. It honestly might be easier and faster to walk on the street, weather permitting.

If you have the luxury of pre-planning your trip, be sure to double-check the rates periodically. They seem to fluctuate a good deal. I think I saved around 1000 HKD on my 4 night stay by keeping an eye on the rates and re-booking when I noticed a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pw_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Its always my first choice to stay at langham place whenever i am in hk since 2007, was rather disappointed when i didnt get my preference room, and it seems that they tell this to every customer they check in, the only inconvenient part is you might hav to passby the busy mall when you wish to head out, if not thats the best choice to stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndyoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I booked a club room as a surprise for my wife as a 15 wedding anniversary present/break.

We were offered a corner room ending in a ##01 at reception, I had read that these room were bigger and gave a great view. We took the room and were both very happy with the room and great views from the 37th floor over Kowloon and HK Island. The room was clean and comfortable with a great bathroom.

The Club lounge was great with a great selection of food and drinks ran by some fantastic staff, a real credit to the hotel. It's s shame that some middle aged women on a free-bee from the Australian government thought it a "free" RSL with the drinks. I do recommend the up-grade to a club room as the club was a great reward after a days shopping, pooping in for a drink and a beautiful snack and cocktails in the evening

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I visited Hong Kong in February 2012, staying at both Langham Place Hotel, and it's sister, The Langham Hotel (courtesy of an incorrect itinerary & missed flight back to Australia !).

I spent two nights at the Langham Place Hotel, which is located in the Mongkok area of Kowloon. It is in a very busy commercial area, which can make the area difficult in terms of orienteering. However, it is connected to the Mong Kok MTR stop, although it is a bit like playing an old level game like "Pitfall" on Commodore 64 to get there, as you seem to go up and down escalators to get between the two locations.

The hotel is very new & modern, and one of the best hotels I stayed at during my three month around-the-world trip. The rooms are very modern, with an LCD TV, ensuite toilet/bath, etc. I appreciated that the hotel put an iron in the room without me prompting them, and there is a laundry service (although it is 48 hour, which wasn't much good for me).

The hotel has a pretty good lounge on the fifth floor, that also has some Windows & Mac computers as a courtesy for guests, and the whole hotel had wi-fi. The Wi-fi was a little unsteady in areas, and I found myself regularly having to log back in with my password if I lost connection. However, on the whole, I didn't have too many problems there.

I had one dinner & two breakfasts at the LPH - on both occasions at breakfast, I had scrambled eggs, which were cooked fresh by chefs at the hotel's egg station, and the staff are constantly coming to you asking if they can give you tea/coffee, or if you need anything at all (even half way through eating my breakfast !). The staff are very polite and serious about getting it right !

I liked the interior design of the LPH - at the entrance in the lobby there is a statue of a couple of commie guys waving their little red books around, which shows that Hong Kong seems to have embrassed post-colonial rule reasonably well.

While the hotel is not on HK island, don't regard this as a barrier - you can be at the Admiralty or Central stop in about 20 minutes from leaving your room if you use the MTR. Going the other way, you can get to Lantau Island (Disneyland/Airport/Cable Car & Buddha) pretty easy by taking the red line at Mongkok MTR a few stops, then alighting at the Lai King MTR station and taking the blue line if you are going to the airport, or orange line for the other locations. You can be on Lantau Island in about 45 minutes from leaving your room.

Next time I go to HK, I am likely to stay at the LPH hotel, and I thoroughly recommend it for other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PietroMorrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days. The rooms and service, including concierge staff are topnotch! From what I've read here, the reviews on TA are pretty accurate and I agree...The street market is just downstairs, there are eateries and stalls nearby. In the middle of Kowloon and Mongkok MTR is close.

I recommend staying here. We had a great experience at Langham Place. After a busy day of sightseeing, it was relaxing to return to this hotel, the rooms are modern and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed in the property more than two years ago but failed to review this. This trip was our third in Hong Kong and have stayed at different hotels before. Langham was by far the best for us. We were talking about our travels and Langham will always come up as the one that reminds us of that fresh baby powder scent all over the hotel. We arrived quite early for check-in but we were provided one room so we can rest (we had two rooms for my family of five). That was a very considerate and generous gesture I would say. The regular rooms were not that spacious but it's ok for Hong Kong's standards.Bathroom was spotless and amenities were adequate.We had a tub and there was a glass wall where you could be seen inside the bath from the bedroom. But you could always roll down the blinds if you feel uncomfortable with this set-up. Beds were comfortable and sheets were of good quality. What we liked best about Langham was the location. You are just within the mall. Numerous restaurants of different price range were all over both in the mall and outside the mall. We just walked around the streets of Langham and saw shops, stores, food stalls, and more stores! It was a very lively place. It may be quite crowded but we loved the energy and the "happy and busy" feeling. You will not hear any noise though once you're in the privacy of your room. We don't remember any unanswered request from the desk or the housekeeping. Everything was to our liking. We have recommended this hotel to our other friends who visited Hong Kong after us and they were not disappointed. When in Kowloon (and we might visit again this year), Langham is our choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redstone1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPHKG, General Manager at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Hi redstone1365,

Thanks to you and your family and friends for all your seals of approval! Vibrant Mongkok and the team here at Langham Place keenly await your return later in the year.

Regards,
Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,456 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing