We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but...”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #271 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good but...”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks nice and clean. Breakfast buffet is good. Room sizes are just right for it's class. Bathroom is very clean and Spacious. Location is perfect. Near shopping places. But looks like I got bitten by bed bugs :( I was the only unfortunate one who got bites. I'm probably allergic

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    363
    394
    126
    79
See reviews for
228
247
94
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The outside and decor makes the hotel look good, and generally it does look good, but given that the main purpose for a hotel is to provide a place to get a nice restful sleep. We booked for three people, and we found that the third 'bed' was a fold out couch. These can be ok, but this one was atrocious. The 'mattress' if you can call it that, was so thin that it provided no protection against the springs of the couch. We rang and complained and to their credit they did come back with another thin 'mattress' to put on top. This did little in making it a suitable place to sleep, so we had to complain more vociferously. This time they bought in a roll away bed, which was much better but no where near the standard I would expect given that we had booked a room suitable for 3 adults. Be careful that you get down to breakfast in time else you will have difficulty getting anything. We were lucky that another cafe in the hotel were kind enough to serve us. It is handy to the buses and metro, but it does not take long to walk to things such as Ladies market, Jade market (very pushy and off-putting) and plenty of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davec50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui and within walking distance to the subway (TST Exit A). The place is also very accessible via Airport Express with free shuttle (K4) that will take you to the hotel from the train station. Going back to the airport, you can simply hop on a cab towards the train station or simply walk a little towards Nathan Road and take A21 bus to the airport. You may also take A21 bus from the airport to Nathan Road (Miramar Stop which is in the corner of Nathan Road and Kimberley Street) although bus ride may take you 45-55 minutes while airport express will just be around 25-30 minutes.

The hotel is also a walking distance to the Kowloon Park, Canton Road and TST promenade (Clock tower, Star Ferry Terminal, Symphony of lights every 8 pm, etc.). If you want to take a day or two in Macau, the China Ferry Terminal is also from the hotel. It's around 10-15 minute walk or a very short taxi ride from the hotel.

The room that we had is relatively ok for a standard hotel room in Hong Kong just don't compare it with other cities like Singapore because this may be considered small.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Kimberley Hotel is located in Tsim Sha Tsui, which is the central hub for shopping. The hotel is about a 5-minute walk from the nearest train station (Tsim Sha Tsui), so it's easy to get around. Housekeeping was fast when we requested for extra pillows and an adaptor.

That being said, I also want to point out some things:

1) The check-in is really slow. It took us almost 30 minutes just to check-in. We booked through Agoda, so we didn't know what the problem was.

2) The hotel design is obviously dated and the rooms are quite small, but we didn't mind those. However, the toilet flush in our room kept getting stuck, and the room smelled like cigarettes even though we requested for a non-smoking room.

3) We assumed that the water in the fridge was complimentary, but it was not. Perhaps it was our fault because we didn't double check, but doesn't everyone assume that all hotels provide 2 bottles of complimentary water? A couple of days after our departure, the hotel now wants to charge us for the water we consumed (though credit card) -- but why didn't they say anything when we checked out?

The hotel is value for money, sure. But we could've done better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury East, South Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

After travelling greater China for 3 weeks it was a welcome rest at the Kimberley hotel in Hong Kong. The location of the hotel is good and been placed on the 19 th floor we didn't hear Ny traffic noise. The room is on the small size but big enough for two people. The bed was a lot softer than most beds we had experienced in China and we were able to get a good nights sleep. The hotel has 20 some thing floors. The lobby (second floor) is a little crowded when checking on but the staff ok every good English. The hotel breakfast was good and lefty of choice, both Chinese and western cuisine is available. The room was clean and bright. My only disappointment with the hotel is that the wifi is not free but after speaking with the lobby staff for a little while and informing them that I was deeply disappointed with the fee I was granted wifi access free of charge. Extra pillows were delivered upon request and a power socket adaptor. Wheel chair bound guess would find this hotel easy to use only the bath rooms might be a bit tight to manoeuvre around on. There is no smoking in the general areas but I was asked when checking in if I wanted a smoking room. There is a safe and refrigerator in the room plus the usual items like a electric kettle, tea and coffee etc. the TV in the room was easy to use and a good size, a writing desk with lamp also. I would stay at this hotel again and I have no hesitation recommending it to other travellers. So nice to be able to use a western toilet and hot water for showering after touring main land China. I was able to check in a couple of hours early which was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Safe and fridge available in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at the Kimberley Hotel for a couple of nights in early April 2014. It was an average hotel that was clean and comfortable. We didn't need a 5 star luxurious hotel in Hong Kong as we would be out most of the time and this hotel fitted our requirements. We arrived a few hours before the official check in time, but they let us check in early anyways; they also upgraded our room to the next one up. The location of the hotel was 5 star! There was food everywhere at all hours; shopping and the MTR was within walking distance. We were in the middle of it all. It was an average hotel, at an average price and at a fantastic location. We do not have much to complain about and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvrgJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Kina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has ok standard and the breakfast is just so so. The best is the good location if you want to stay in Kowloon. There are many good shoppings streets and local markets. There is also a very nice alley with bars and restaurants only a few hundred meters from the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Acke_Gbg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheKimberleyHotel, Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed our great location and that you were able to explore the sites in and around us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us we hope to see again soon. All the best.

With warm regards,

The Kimberley Hotel, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Empire Hotel Kowloon
Empire Hotel Kowloon
#119 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#75 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#45 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#86 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#272 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: No.28 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Hotel is centrally located in the bustling shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui in Kowloon with 45 minutes drive from the airport and 15 minutes from the Hung Hom Train Station & Kowloon Station. The MTR station, Star Ferry, Avenue of Star, Hong Kong Space Museum, Cultural Center and major corporate offices are within walking distance. At the Kimberley Hotel, the three elegant restaurants and Bar are on offer to guest, as well as a business center, gym and health spa for your recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hong Kong
Kimberly Hotel Hong Kong
Kimberley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing