We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #272 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The only thing I loved about this hotel is that it is very accessible from all the places you need to go to while in Hong Kong - restaurants, malls, stores, money changer, MTR, etc.

If a spacious hotel room is a requirement for you when traveling, you will be disappointed here. Otherwise, Kimberley Hotel is tolerable enough since the rooms are pretty clean and can still give you a good night's sleep. Their breakfast was nothing special but then again most hotels are like this as well.

You can also avail of their wifi for 600HKD valid for 7 days. Fast connection but I find it too costly.

Kimberley Hotel is surely not the best hotel around TST but the location would surely make up for all its flaws.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the hotel amenities and facilities. It is regret to let you know that the WiFi service is not complimentary at the moment. Regarding the fee, our price is in line with the other hotels in Hong Kong. However, our management definitely will take your comments into consideration as we always strive to make guests’ stay a pleasurable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
There are newer reviews for Kimberley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in many hotels in various parts of the world and unfortunately this hotel was the worst one ever.The only good thing about it really is the location which is terrific.
This hotel was recommended by our travel agent and I have since placed a complaint as I feel their information was misleading in giving this property a 4 star rating...no way!!
Thankfully we only had a two night stay here.
The reception staff were very unhelpful,room was very small,bed -barely a double,black mould in the bathroom and water stains on the ceiling.We paid extra for the breakfast which was satisfactory but again staff were unhelpful and there is threadbare carpet on the floor.
We paid a lot of money for this hotel and were extremely disappointed and totally disatisfied.
I would not recommend this hotel in Hong Kong-find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the hotel services and facilities.

With regards to your comments, we have shared your comments with the relevant department. We can assure you that we have already re-trained our less experienced Reception staff.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our management definitely will take your comments into consideration as we always strive to make guests’ stay a pleasurable one.

Hope we will meet again in the soonest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel was the worst I had been in all my life! first of all we arrived very late at night and the girl at reception was terrible slow to do everything! we paid a lot for a room that have nothing really, and dirty everywhere you look. Wifi it's not included, so you have to pay for it a lot, Breakfast it's also not included, of course i didn't tried the one you can pay , but i'm sure it is disgusting.

Terrible hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Erimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

With regards to your comments, we have brought these issues to the relevant departments’ attention. As we strive to provide guests with the highest level of service, we can assure you that we have already re-trained our less experienced Housekeeping and Reception staff.

We believe we could serve you with the best service during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

It's conveniently located right at the heart of Nathan Road - perfect for those who want to get around HK and snotp shop :) Convenience stores (Wellcome, 7-11) and malls (Miramar, The One) are just a few steps from the hotel. It's 5mins away from the MTR TST station. There are also a bunch of good restaurants around the area.

The rooms are decent enough. Size is ok (as per HK standards). Check-in was fast and hassle-free.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzzuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope we will meet again in the soonest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I booked a room under my name at this hotel online. However, I was contacted by their reservation team that they are not able to proceed with the booking unless we submit a copy of her credit card to them. Below is exactly what they wrote to me:

“Greeting from The Kimberley

Du to your credit card holder’s name is difference of the guest name. Please advise fill in the “Third Party Payment Form” and copies the “Front and Back” pages of the credit card details (Visa/Master card) with us for room payment. If there is no reply from your side on or before 16 May (15:00), we will assume that the booking is no longer required and room space will automatically be released. Thank you.”

I find it absolutely absurd because we booked a room for 2 person and the online booking system only require me to key in one name, and now the transaction is not able to go through because it only has my name and I am not the payer.

Totally frustrating before I before go on my holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JessicaToh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at The Kimberley Hotel.

With regards to the on-line booking, in order to protect the card holder, the hotel must request a copy of a credit card of a third party with an authorization letter according to our hotel policy. In order to avoid misunderstanding, we would appreciate if you could add the second guest’s name under “Additional Comments” for our reference; otherwise, the hotel would consider the room paid by a third party.

Hope we will meet again in the soonest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Room dirty , musty , noisy , the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in HK. Do yourself a favour book elsewhere. Moved to Grandstanford Intercontinental on Moody road, what a pleasure . In fact it cost me less !!

Room Tip: Look for another hotel !
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dina123Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers.

Regarding the room cleanliness, our management can assure you that this incident was an isolated one and will not happen again in the future. Your compliant has inspired us to re-train the housekeeper to meet the highest standard.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused due to the room cleanliness. We sincerely hope of exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed there for one night, The hotel gave us the corner room on 21st floor , which has no access to elevators, you have to take stairs to floor below to use the elevators. The hotel is very old need badly needs renovation. Room was stinking and water was dripping from air conditioner. Only thing good about was the location, breakfast and concierge. The room rent we paid HKD2250 for one night but it was one of the worst hotel of all my stays in HK and no value for money. There are other hotels in the block which costs similar and better than Kimberly.

Room Tip: Dont take rooms on 21st floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ROCKYPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the hotel facilities.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We wish we could have done more to make your night more comfortable. Our management definitely will take your comments into consideration as we always strive to make guests’ stay a pleasurable one.

We sincerely hope of exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#65 of 721 in Hong Kong
775 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#265 of 721 in Hong Kong
744 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#162 of 721 in Hong Kong
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#75 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,666 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#135 of 721 in Hong Kong
143 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Empire Hotel Kowloon
Empire Hotel Kowloon
#117 of 721 in Hong Kong
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Address: No.28 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $85 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Hotel is centrally located in the bustling shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui in Kowloon with 45 minutes drive from the airport and 15 minutes from the Hung Hom Train Station & Kowloon Station. The MTR station, Star Ferry, Avenue of Star, Hong Kong Space Museum, Cultural Center and major corporate offices are within walking distance. At the Kimberley Hotel, the three elegant restaurants and Bar are on offer to guest, as well as a business center, gym and health spa for your recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hong Kong
Kimberly Hotel Hong Kong
Kimberley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing