We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont waste your time”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #273 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“dont waste your time”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

it was our second time we stayed here ,we booked a suite and a standard room for our 2 boys on the basis of there website saying the hotel had been renovated,well the suite ( WHICH IS NOT CHEAP ) was an absolute disgrace,threadbare carpets ,fridge that barely worked,power points that were hanging out of the wall,curtains that should have been replaced years ago ,expensive WI-FI ,and alround poor service.never again

Room Tip: to chose a good room look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    363
    394
    126
    79
See reviews for
228
247
94
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Kimberley Hotel was in a central location. It was clean, the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast arrangements were a bit to be desired. The food was acceptable but not brilliant. We found that when we left our table with our Tea and Juice on it while we went to get our food that another oreintal guest had just pushed our items out of the way and sat down with his own. When we came back to the table he just blanked us and carried on eating.

Room Tip: Rooms were ok but the beds were so hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ditzydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Your comment is important to us in improving the service standard. Thanks for letting us know about the incident at our restaurant. The concerned department will pay special attention to it in the future. We believe we could serve you with the best service during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Right in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, practically a stone's throw away to many places of interest, it is surrounded by endless shopping malls and streets.

The MTR is also a slow walk away, and I really enjoyed exploring the little streets around this hotel.

I liked that there is a cluttered camera store below the hotel which has probably been there for years.
Also, the staff were friendly and room was clean.

Clean rooms are very important, don't you agree?

Nothing much to say about the hotel itself, no pool either.
But I believe in Hong Kong, you should be spending time on the pulsating streets instead, isn't it?

All in all, a nice, basic hotel which you should consider if location is your main concern.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKimberleyHotel, N/A at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks for staying with us during your trip in Hong Kong. We hope we could greet you with the warmest welcome soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Kimberley Hotel was very nice! The room was beautiful and comfortable. The hotel staff was welcoming and the tourist information desk was very helpful through out our entire stay. The only negative that I would say is that there was construction going on to the building next to us, so it was loud early in the mornings, but that is not something the hotel could control. The hotel is in walking distance of restaurants, parks, shopping areas, and a few short blocks to the train station. Don't be intimidated by the train station. It was so easy to navigate and understand!!!! Much cheaper than a Taxi! There are also a lot of Laundry mats in walking distance, since getting your laundry done in the hotel is very expensive. There is a coffee lounge, and two different restaurants with in the hotel to eat at, but just be advised it is you can get a much cheaper meal (same quality) else where. There is a Spa available and it looked beautiful but I did not use it, so can't comment on the service. There was also breakfast available, but we did not get the chance to experience it.

Room Tip: Make sure you request the type of bed that you would like when booking....even though the room may s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although, a decent hotel, there were many problems with the room. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up, shower floods too quickly as the drainage is located on the side of the wall. Seriously, on the side of the wall?!?

And the mini bar fridge was hot.

And prove me wrong but don't hotels usually give you free bottles of water every day? Well this one doesn't.

Only thing I liked was the restaurants located within the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeroTau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel was okay the room was clean and was just big enough for 3 people. The beds are very hard but they will put another mattress down (on a sofa bed) if you ask which makes a lot of difference. Lots of restaurants and shopping near by and staff were friendly. Location wise this hotel is good but not so good in the way of comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriSmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights. staff were not rude but far from welcoming. Our first stop was the bar where no staff spoke english, cockroaches on the wall and the bar was very old with sticky tape holding the padded cushion edge of the bar together. Got to our room, the beds are like concrete slabs, the bathtub was blocked and would not drain and the only power point for the kettle was on the floor under the desk .Our view was of a derelict building behind the hotel. In the buffet the staff would not give us new cutlery between courses. we would finish our first course and the staff would clear the plates but leave the old cutlery..quite bizzare. All in all i would not recommend the Kimberley as a place to relax, spend time and enjoy yourself. It is a place to sleep between day and night. the only positive is the position...close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drymaster_balmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Empire Hotel Kowloon
Empire Hotel Kowloon
#117 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#75 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#45 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#86 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#277 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: No.28 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Hotel is centrally located in the bustling shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui in Kowloon with 45 minutes drive from the airport and 15 minutes from the Hung Hom Train Station & Kowloon Station. The MTR station, Star Ferry, Avenue of Star, Hong Kong Space Museum, Cultural Center and major corporate offices are within walking distance. At the Kimberley Hotel, the three elegant restaurants and Bar are on offer to guest, as well as a business center, gym and health spa for your recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hong Kong
Kimberly Hotel Hong Kong
Kimberley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing