We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good price, no free wifi”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #257 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed twon nights in this hotel in December.

Pros:
+ good location in kowloon
+ good price for value
+ cleanliness
+ rather new hotel
+ quiet during the night

Cons:
- no free wifi, available for $2 per hour
- no breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during December and was not happy with one of the housekeeing 'inspector' (as she identified herself as). This 'inspector' opened the door to my room, even though i called out that i was coming to open the door. Not only she did not wait long enough before she opened the door, she walked in and managed to see me half dressed (luckily...the bottom half) coming out from the bathroom!! Shockingly enough, she did not apologise nor did she leave the room. Instead she asked 'whether the room was cleaned and whether the housekeeping job was done properly'. I've stayed at this hotel years before and had good experiences which made me choose this hotel again. But ever since this incident, and no wifi available anywhere, I will definitely NOT come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fred_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location just off Nathan Rd in TST, plenty of shops etc nearby. Room very comfortable, service very good. No free wifi though, which was disappointing (I had to go to McDonald's over in Granville Rd as they have a free 20 mins offer per day to check emails).
Baggage Room was very good as they kept our suitcases for a week whilst we did an excursion.
Overall, a good choice given the convenient location. Short walk to Star Ferry and TST MTR station. Kowloon Park nearby, also Temple St night market.

Room Tip: Higher up is quiet - we were on the 19th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed tthe second time in this hotel . the location is good . walking distance to most places in tsim tsa tsui .

cleanliness is good . staff is good . only drawback is the room size . thats very small . we were 3 people staying with an extra bed . there was literary no place to walk .

last time whwhen I came ththey had free wifi in lobby . this time its chargeable . I mean for tourist wifi is important . This service should be free for sure .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitGathani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Their front desk service is excellent & the housekeeping service is excellent too!! Keep it up the good service!! I will definitely come back again for my next trip to Hongkong. Every morning when I was greeted morning by the housekeeper whenever they are outside my room level. The room cleanliness was up to my standard. The best location & best value in Tsim Sha Tsui area..... The room was big enough for the triple

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene_HYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel with another couple. When we arrived around 2pm which is the normal check in time, we were told that our rooms were not ready. We were told to come back in an hour which we were then assigned rooms on the same floor but rather far apart. What irks me is that this hotel does not provide complimentary wifi or bottled water. Rooms are very tiny and clean, decor is outdated.
Location wise, this hotel is in a good spot and close to the shopping areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolngoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our accommodation at the Kimberley was in 2 stays of 5 nights per stay .
The first stay our small room was near the elevator shaft and housekeeping. Adequate but very noisy. Banging and clanging from who knows where but also from other guests. The in-room safe was not bolted down and I could pick it up and walk around the room with it. Hence we had to use the hotels safety deposit box which was a nuisance.
On check out we requested a better, quieter room for our return. We were placed in a room equally as small as the first room. The TV was on a desk the far end of the room (instead of mounted on the wall in the middle) so lying on our respective beds gave both of us sore necks. The noise from guests was unbelievable at all hours of the night in a corridor room. Thin walls I guess.
The hygiene of the linen was questionable with old blood stains and a torn doona. Upon request this was changed.
The front desk was disorganized at the best of times, with the so called concierge area unmanned when most needed. A command of the English language by the front desk staff should have been better for the job that they were doing.

Value for money? No.
Stay there again? No.
Good Location? Yes.
Internet? Too expensive.

Room Tip: do not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citizen a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#64 of 723 in Hong Kong
784 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#263 of 723 in Hong Kong
746 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#159 of 723 in Hong Kong
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#136 of 723 in Hong Kong
150 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#73 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,692 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#99 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Address: No.28 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $97 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Hotel is centrally located in the bustling shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui in Kowloon with 45 minutes drive from the airport and 15 minutes from the Hung Hom Train Station & Kowloon Station. The MTR station, Star Ferry, Avenue of Star, Hong Kong Space Museum, Cultural Center and major corporate offices are within walking distance. At the Kimberley Hotel, the three elegant restaurants and Bar are on offer to guest, as well as a business center, gym and health spa for your recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hong Kong
Kimberly Hotel Hong Kong
Kimberley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing