We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old interior, old furniture but clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #281 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Old interior, old furniture but clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

They should renovate it. I was in room 824 for 5 days. The rooms are old but clean. Nothing to see out side the window covered by buildings. Room size is ok. In the corridor they had put fans, maybe the AC was not working.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mosesrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    358
    387
    126
    77
See reviews for
222
246
91
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Kimberly Hotel as it was only one street over from Nathan Road and great shopping. The lobby had a large assortment of stores as well. The rooms were slightly small but very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast buffet was wonderful with Chinese and American Specialties. There were nice amenities in the bathroom which was very clean and bright.

Room Tip: I did not have a view so I do not know which room would have one - I think you have to be on a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorilimelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We asked for a budget hotel close to halal foods possibly a mosque in Hong Kong. Kimberley Hotel is exactly what we asked for. Various convenient stores to get your quick breakfast supplies, walkable to MTR stations, and to Nathan Road where you can shop till you drop.
However, since this is a three star hotel, so condition of the room, and the hard bed, and furniture are three star quality only.
It does the job if you are looking for good location hotel, but not comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loneshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The location is an easy walk to the Star ferry and ideal for the airport express bus that goes down Nathan road. The buffet style breakfast provided many traditional style chinese choices and it was ok. The rooms were clean and very quiet from any road side noise especially from the eleventh floor, and the staff welcoming.

Room Tip: I spent 3 nights at the Kimberley hotel. The rooms were clean and good for the airport express bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The perks of staying here:
– Great Location: Right smack in the middle of the city's bustling activities. It is just 3 minutes walking distance to Tsim Sha Tshui MTR (exit B1). You can easily tour the city. Also the essential thing was that it was near many convenience stores and restaurants.
– Price is reasonable.
– Hotel staff are quite helpful. Don't hesistate to approach them for help.

The downside of staying here:
– Overcrowded: The hotel is popular with many holiday makers, so be prepared. It gets rather noisy at the lobby and restaurants.
– Rooms are not very clean: We have requested a non-smoking room and yet we can still smell lingering cigarette ashes on the bed sheets, pillows and floor. The room we had booked for came with a kitchenette. It was very old, grimey. not well maintained. Even the kettle was rusting from age!
– We had booked a room for 3 persons to share. When we entered the room, there was one double bed to fit 2 persons. The other bed to fit the 3rd person, was a crummy mattress fitted onto some flimsy metal frame. After that it occurred to me that it was a convertible sofa! It bed was creaky and shaky and not comfortable at all!

Overall, it did not feel satisfactory considering we had booked a "Deluxe" room.

Room Tip: Get a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaelleloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

i cant really say the location is really good as compared to the other hotels in hong kong i've stayed at, but for me the essential thing is that it must be near convinience stores, restaurants and main roads, although there aren't many restaurants near the hotel, i still enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r3ch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in a standard room en route from Australia to Canada and were not impressed (see my previous review). On return Canda to Australia we booked a four night stopover in a "Deluxe" room and were looking forward to a bit of luxury.
Upon our arrival we were sent to our room (no escort) which turned out to be on a stinking smoking floor- the whol floor stank of stale cigarrette smoke. We located our room and upon opening it the stink was even worse. The carpets were filthy, the two seater lounge had stains and mark all over it. The room was tiny with a small double bed.
We complained and were moved to another floor which was better with no smell and new carpets. The room was small with only a double bed (not queen as advertised) - I should have complained again but we had just flown for 15 hours and taken four hours to get from the airport to the hotel and just wanted to lay down.
The bedding was uncomfortable and the bottom sheet had a rip in the area just above where it was tucked under the mattress. I thought the sheet would be changed the next day but it wasn't -- I left it to see how long before it was changed and it was left for the whole four days of our stay. I felt the rooms were most unsatisfactory for a supposed "deluxe" room and was very disappointed.
The buffet breakfast is marvelous with plenty of fresh food and variety. There are some nice restaurants on site and quite reasonably priced with attentive staff.
The hotel is well located near the MRT and shops etc.
It seems to mainly cater for chinese tourists as there bus loads of them being dropped off and picked up.
I would not stay there again because of the poor room standard

Room Tip: Make sure you stipulate NON SMOKING room AND floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Empire Hotel Kowloon
Empire Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#44 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#87 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#270 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: No.28 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Hotel is centrally located in the bustling shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui in Kowloon with 45 minutes drive from the airport and 15 minutes from the Hung Hom Train Station & Kowloon Station. The MTR station, Star Ferry, Avenue of Star, Hong Kong Space Museum, Cultural Center and major corporate offices are within walking distance. At the Kimberley Hotel, the three elegant restaurants and Bar are on offer to guest, as well as a business center, gym and health spa for your recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hong Kong
Kimberly Hotel Hong Kong
Kimberley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing