We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #270 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good and bad”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The perks of staying here:
– Great Location: Right smack in the middle of the city's bustling activities. It is just 3 minutes walking distance to Tsim Sha Tshui MTR (exit B1). You can easily tour the city. Also the essential thing was that it was near many convenience stores and restaurants.
– Price is reasonable.
– Hotel staff are quite helpful. Don't hesistate to approach them for help.

The downside of staying here:
– Overcrowded: The hotel is popular with many holiday makers, so be prepared. It gets rather noisy at the lobby and restaurants.
– Rooms are not very clean: We have requested a non-smoking room and yet we can still smell lingering cigarette ashes on the bed sheets, pillows and floor. The room we had booked for came with a kitchenette. It was very old, grimey. not well maintained. Even the kettle was rusting from age!
– We had booked a room for 3 persons to share. When we entered the room, there was one double bed to fit 2 persons. The other bed to fit the 3rd person, was a crummy mattress fitted onto some flimsy metal frame. After that it occurred to me that it was a convertible sofa! It bed was creaky and shaky and not comfortable at all!

Overall, it did not feel satisfactory considering we had booked a "Deluxe" room.

Room Tip: Get a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaelleloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    370
    404
    128
    81
See reviews for
238
252
97
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

i cant really say the location is really good as compared to the other hotels in hong kong i've stayed at, but for me the essential thing is that it must be near convinience stores, restaurants and main roads, although there aren't many restaurants near the hotel, i still enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r3ch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in a standard room en route from Australia to Canada and were not impressed (see my previous review). On return Canda to Australia we booked a four night stopover in a "Deluxe" room and were looking forward to a bit of luxury.
Upon our arrival we were sent to our room (no escort) which turned out to be on a stinking smoking floor- the whol floor stank of stale cigarrette smoke. We located our room and upon opening it the stink was even worse. The carpets were filthy, the two seater lounge had stains and mark all over it. The room was tiny with a small double bed.
We complained and were moved to another floor which was better with no smell and new carpets. The room was small with only a double bed (not queen as advertised) - I should have complained again but we had just flown for 15 hours and taken four hours to get from the airport to the hotel and just wanted to lay down.
The bedding was uncomfortable and the bottom sheet had a rip in the area just above where it was tucked under the mattress. I thought the sheet would be changed the next day but it wasn't -- I left it to see how long before it was changed and it was left for the whole four days of our stay. I felt the rooms were most unsatisfactory for a supposed "deluxe" room and was very disappointed.
The buffet breakfast is marvelous with plenty of fresh food and variety. There are some nice restaurants on site and quite reasonably priced with attentive staff.
The hotel is well located near the MRT and shops etc.
It seems to mainly cater for chinese tourists as there bus loads of them being dropped off and picked up.
I would not stay there again because of the poor room standard

Room Tip: Make sure you stipulate NON SMOKING room AND floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel several times - because the price are quiet reasonable
The location are good. The rooms are small but clean. The staff were frienly but I think the hotel needs a bit of revamping

Room Tip: Higher floors have
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AirDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The only thing in this hotel's favour is the location. Although it is clean it is very very old and needs drastic renovations. Our first room reaked of cigarettes so much that it gave me a sore throat, we were only in there long enough to have a shower and they had to move us. 20% of the staff were friendly and helpful, the rest were rude. This was our second visit to HK and I have to say I have never experienced such rudeness from hotel staff, shop assistants and general public. We had two rating 9 typhoons during our stay and can only imagine that it was the electricity and frustration in the air that led to our disappointing visit. We were in a large family group - 9 rooms in total. You would think the hotel would appreciate so many rooms filled. The breakfast was average and exactly the same every day. There buckets everywhere catching leaks from the rain... and wet carpet smell. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KarePhilBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our second stay here was not as good as the first time.Check-in process was poor - given key to a room already occupied. Location was good for the price. Rooms are tired.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Like all hotels in HK, i think it was a little to expensive for what it offers, It is situated in the city center of Kawloon Peninsula, Tsim Sha Tsui near the Subway(Tsim Sha Tsui station exit B1) and from the HK Airport there is a bus that stops at Kimberly Road! 10 min. walking from the START FERRY station. 20 min. walking distance from Temple and Lady's Market. The rooms are small, not so clean, but I had a little problem! The windows are locked and you can't open them (safety reason). Because I'm a smoker I asked for a smoker room. The room smelled heavily and because there isn't a way to ventilate the room I couldn't stay there. So I moved to a nonsmoking room. A little better. The rooms at the back of the hotel are very noisy DON'T RECOMMEND, preferable at the front. In the period I stayed at K. H. there ware some working done for a new floor of the hotel and it started very early in the morning. The service of the hotel is good, the personal is nice and the bell boys are quit professional. I didn't try the breakfast because there is a Starbucks and Pacific Caffe near. NO WI-FI, only cable internet and you have to pay for it.
In my opinion is not a 4* hotel, maybe 3*. I only recommend this hotel for it's location.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor in the front of the hotel. The back is very noisy from early morning to late i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#263 of 718 in Hong Kong
740 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#78 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,636 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#164 of 718 in Hong Kong
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Empire Hotel Kowloon
Empire Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 718 in Hong Kong
627 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
753 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: No.28 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Hotel is centrally located in the bustling shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui in Kowloon with 45 minutes drive from the airport and 15 minutes from the Hung Hom Train Station & Kowloon Station. The MTR station, Star Ferry, Avenue of Star, Hong Kong Space Museum, Cultural Center and major corporate offices are within walking distance. At the Kimberley Hotel, the three elegant restaurants and Bar are on offer to guest, as well as a business center, gym and health spa for your recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hong Kong
Kimberly Hotel Hong Kong
Kimberley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing