We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to be ill!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #87 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Well, I can certainly give a review of the bed and toilet!
I was ill with a stomach bug during my flight and arrived in poor shape, requiring three days in bed. Hence I can confidently give an excellent review of the comfortable bed and good toilet, but also of the reception staff who phoned to check if I was alright and offered to take me to hospital if I felt worse. Full marks.
The room was pleasant and relatively quiet, although facing the front main road, it did suffer from the odd noisy motorbike or lorry. A colleague stayed in one of the rooms facing the rear and found it very quiet.
Location was perfect for easy access to the tram and bus route, and within walking distance of the business and tourist areas.

Room Tip: No great views from any of the rooms I saw; quieter to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear EdinburghSky,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel during your recent visit and for taking time to post a review about your stay. We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked the Island Pacific for a business trip to HK. Sheung Wan area is quite convenient both for business and leisure. I've also stayed at the nearby Ovolo and Holiday Inn Express. The hotels in Sheung Wan are better value than Central, and you do get a bit more of the real HK at your doorstep. As a tourist, you can indeed take a long walk to Central, or you have your choices of the MTR, buses, or the most fun way, the tram.

I booked the lowest priced quick deal room, which came with breakfast. Firstly, the breakfast is OK. Nothing to write home about. If you like good coffee however, you won't find it here.

The rooms are small, but kinda what you get used to in HK at this price level. The room is decently functional, but if two people were to stay, each with a suitcase, space would get pretty tight. But you could mange. Room is similar in size to the nearby SOHO Holiday Inn Express, but larger than the Ovolo at 286 Queens Road. What these latter two hotels have over the Island Pacific is more updated decor. The Island Pacific is a bit dated. Also, despite being on a non smoking floor, the hallways reeked of stale smoke smell. Thankfully my room exhibited no smoke smells. Decor needs an update, but I guess at the price i have little to complain.

If I were to come for a weekend with my wife, I'd probably pick a more updated hotel. For business however it suited me just fine.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Free shuttle bus to HK Station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larrybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear larrybud,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at the Island Pacific Hotel during your recent visit and for taking time to post a review about your stay. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here with a friend of mine for four nights and it was a great experience! The staff were extremely professional yet friendly! Ranging from the porters, concierge, receptionists, housekeepers and the food and beverage attendants from the restaurants. Staff had fluent English so communication was not a problem at all! Everyday, without fail we'd ask for advice from the staff - whether it be where to go for dinner, recommendations on what to do, where to go etc. they have recommended us secret spots only locals will know of, and they were amazing!

The rooms were not the most spacious rooms, but seriously. When you're in Hong Kong, you will be out most of the time till late anyway. So all you really need is the shower and bed. The shower was spacious considering it to be a shower in Hong Kong. And the beds were comfortable to sleep in! Rooms were quiet, and we were on a high floor so we got to enjoy the view (even if it wasn't the ocean view, it was nice to see the city lights). Rooms were clean, and the housekeepers kept our rooms clean everyday while we were out!

The location is about a 5-8 minute tram ride to the Central of Hong Kong (only costs a couple of bucks HKD). Personally, I loved every bit of the tram rides to and from the hotel. You got to enjoy the view if you sat on the top deck of the tram, and the views were even more breath taking at night time. And it's nice to stay away from the busy life in Central, it can make you feel exhausted just watching people be busy and rushing in Hong Kong. There were shops and restaurants a corner away from the hotel so you didn't need to travel out just for some food. There's also a shopping centre a few minutes walk from the hotel and a 24 hour convenience store just across the road from the hotel. Although it wasn't in the CBD of Hong Kong it was at an extremely convenient location!

After staying here for 4 nights, my friend and I had to leave to stay in another hotel in Kowloon (which was pricier than this hotel) and if we knew how much we would've fallen in love with this hotel, we definitely wouldn't have booked with the hotel in Kowloon. Not saying the hotel experience was poor or anything, but it just wasn't the same! You wouldn't look forward to returning to the hotel from a day out. Walking through the hotel at Island Pacific was actually something we look forward to! We missed it so much we had to go back right before we were leaving back to Sydney. And even though we weren't a guest anymore, the staff still remembered us and allowed us to leave our luggage in the premises and recommended us a restaurant to go to!

Absolutely amazing service!!! Will definitely stay in this hotel again ONLY when we come back for a visit!!!

Room Tip: Request for a high floor to avoid noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cchoi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear cchoi93,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

Our team is grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay and experience with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Overall pleasurable stay. Had the nicest porter named Calvin, very friendly, professional and helpful. Location was good, close to the tram/rail. Room was also nice and clean, would definitely stay there again and recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Onn L,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days to unwind after a 6 week vagabond tour of SE Asia, and glad we did! Hong Kong is not cheap, nor is this hotel. We got a non-smoking room with full ocean view on the 21st floor for around US$130/night, far more that we paid at any other hotel on our trip, but not bad for a great room in a big city. It was a nice splurge. Service and facilities at the hotel were top notch. There is a nice pool and gym on level 2. The buffet looked good but we did not eat there since there were so many good eateries, especially along the mid-levels escalator corridor.
The double-decker street cars stop behind the hotel and can take you close to anywhere you want to go for 35 cents. The subway is faster but inconvenient to get to.
Bus number A10 goes non-stop to the hotel from the airport for $5. Ask the driver to stop at Island Pacific. Return bus A10 or A12 to the airport stops on Water street 3 blocks from the hotel. Or take a taxi for 10 times more.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view on a non-smoking floor high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Loren S,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Das Hotel liegt nahe der Fährestation.
Die Zimmer sind etwas schmal aber auf der richtigen Seite hat man einen schönen Ausblick.
Aber will sich in Hong Kong schon im Zimmer aufhalten.
Das Frühstücksangebot und die Sauberkeit hat sich, im Vergleich zu meinem letzten Aufenthalt 2004, erheblich verbessert.

The hotel is near the ferry station.
The rooms are a bit narrow, but on the right side there is a beautiful view.
But wishes to reside in Hong Kong already in the room.
The breakfast and the cleanliness has, compared to my last visit in 2004, greatly improved.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merkur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This HOTEL is very well located, has the best value for money possible for HONG KONG ISLAND. The standards are good and the level of service rendered by the staff is very nice.
They even sent me back for free by courier my forgotten trousers !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 29CHRISTOPHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear 29CHRISTOPHE,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel during your recent visit and for taking time to post a review about your stay.
We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#64 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,801 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#81 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#59 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,262 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#56 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,452 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#106 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $97 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing