We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good 3 star hotel in hongkong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #92 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good 3 star hotel in hongkong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed in the hotel and had a memorable one on the hongkong side
The rooms had a excellent view of the hongkong harbour
The rooms are small but good with all the facilities.
Location is average as the mtr station is very far and have to walk 15 mins for mtr station

Room Tip: rooms with a view of the hongkong skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsjhaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear hsjhaveri,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    884
    236
    34
    18
See reviews for
208
462
210
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Island Pacific Hotel may not be in the most central location (it's to the west of the island), but it is the best hotel for the price and harbour view. I wished I had stay longer but due to my itinerary I was able to stay here for only 1 night. I took such a long time to decide on a hotel on HK island and eventually settled for Island Pacific simply because you cannot find any other hotel at the same price, for the room size, harbour view and accessibility.

Staff at the hotel were wonderful and helpful. I arrived quite early from a night flight and thanks to someone who checked out early, I was also able to check-in within an hour of arriving after housekeeping cleaned the available room. The hotel provides a shuttle bus to key locations including HK station which makes it convenient. There is also an airport shuttle but I did not use the service as the hotel is easily accessible by airport bus Cityflyer A10.

Getting around is easy as there are many buses plying the roads infront of and behind the hotel. Otherwise, you can always hop on the tram! It's cheap and arrives quite frequently.

The room is of a good size. The only gripe I have is the bathroom, which is on the small side. Other than this, everything else is good. There is TV with cable. Full amenities, including iron and ironing board, in-room safe, coffee & tea making facilities, a bath, toiletries etc and the room is cleaned and furnishings well maintained. I hope the hotel will keep this up! I will certainly return to this hotel if I were to visit Hong Kong again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear lilacsugar,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking time to post a review about your stay.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed over here for 3 nights to visit a show at the convention center.
There aren't Metro around the area but even though this hotel is well enough to go out and stay inside.
There is a bus stop very near and we can go everywhere by a bus.
And staffs working for the hotel were well enough. They work correctly and quickly when I ask for something each time.
And a room is very small as it's in HongKong.

I'm sure that I'm going to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear CHKRN,
Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking time to post a review about your stay.
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

An amazing hotel, really clean, the staff are very helpful. I originally booked for one night but ended up staying for 6 nights! My children also loved this hotel - it has an outdoor swimming pool - which is great because the weather in Hong Kong was beautiful - 28c! The view from our room was breathtakingly beautiful of the Harbour. We saw all the boats and my children loved it.
We dined in the hotel restaurant and again the staff were very pleasant and the food was very nice. There is also a bar area in the lobby, we had lunch there and again it was very good. I would recommend this hotel and will be staying there whenever I visit Hong Kong again.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_282014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Island Pacific became our home for the past two weeks of our visit to HK. Rooms were nicely appointed and clean and our room had a great view of both harbour and city. Convenient location to both tram and bus services and we greatly appreciated the regular shuttle service to the Central district with access to MTR.

A special mention to the awesome and superbly efficient Concierge team! We were always greeted with a friendly smile both day and night and no request or task was too difficult for them. As our departing flight was delayed well into the early hours of the next morning, the Concierge team made sure we were well looked after before heading off. Our sincere appreciation to this team and the other hotel staff for making our stay at Island Pacific so pleasant!

Will endeavour to stay here next time I'm HK!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Faith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Faith W,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We value comments from our guests.

We are grateful to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
265 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was our second time in this hotel, the first time was about year ago. I've been in HK over 10 times and always stayed at Kowloon.
Our vacation lasted for 7 days and we decided to take this same hotel because of good experience last time. Location is good, ding dong tram goes just beside(20m) and the metro is also nearby.
Hotel staff is more than helpful maybe sometimes too helpful.. :)
Trustfull Money exchange kiosk across the street.
Breakfast was good and very fullfilling. Staff was really doing their job, sometimes they collected plates too fast away, we just got our plates empty when it was all gone... And we thought that we put all the trashes etc on them.. ;) ( Greetings to Kimmy! )
But maybe better that way than the opposite.. And it definitely didn't ruin our vacation!!
And then there was chef making eggs and there was plenty of everything to eat!
The room was fine, 22nd floor harbour view and by asking our friends got smoking room.
Everything went well and smoothly. The only thing that we kind of disliked was at bar when we changed tv channels by ourselves and the waitress didn't like it and got angry with us. Well, we are Finns and used to do things by ourselves... ;)
100 points we want to give for the guys at concierge. They were all the time smiley and helpful.

Rooms were booked via Asiatravel.com because it was really easy and cheapier than booking straight from hotel...
I'm a member for several hotels (like Accor) but this was valued so well that no Novotel etc couldn't beat it! I can highly suggest to book this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J11P33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Reasonably priced hotel.

Stayed in the corner room with harbour view. Full glass from floor to 'ceiling'. Unfortunately, the glass facing the front is quite dirty on the outside, so the view of Kowloon is 'hazy'. But the view on the side is ok, so we can see many sea vessels coming in and out.

There is a small gym and outdoor swimming pool which we did not use.

Room is very well maintained despite the age of the hotel. My guess from the interior design which has plenty of marbles in the toilet, carpeted floors in corridors and room, and the wooden furniture, that this is probably from the 90s; but looks new and clean.

Location is far from the nearest MTR but plenty of taxi. We took the tram quite regularly as it is very near the hotel. Hotel also provide shuttle bus to Central, Ferry Terminal etc., we used it to go to the Airport Express, so it's very convenient.

We also like the location as it is surrounded by old shops, eateries and market. We climbed up the slope towards high street and feel like one of the residents.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat_Wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Eat_Wind,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We value comments from our guests.

We are grateful to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we have noted your comment regarding the glass window. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#65 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#58 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#50 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#138 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone and Ctrip TA so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing