We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, location ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #87 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

we were greeted with friendly smiles & excellent service (from concierge to front desk to the ground staff). we were allowed to check in earlier as the room was available. hotel has shuttle bus service to nearby MTR, and even offered to pay for our cab ride back when we were unable to find the shuttle stop to return to the hotel.

staff was good with English & courteous all the way. when we asked for directions, they even provided alternative cheaper routes like taking the public bus.

we stayed at 12th floor although it's just beside the lift but it had a good view of the harbour. room amenities are alright but since we were out most of the time, it was good enough to come back and have a good rest.

there are sufficient of food eateries around the place. and even stores that sell dried seafood & preserved sausage. yum!

an overall excellent stay and their service made them a class on it's on.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelBeez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear AngelBeez_11,

Warm Greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for selecting Island Pacific Hotel as the choice of accommodation on your first visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to post your review about your stay.

We are glad to hear that your stay had been an enjoyable one and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back during your next visit to Hong Kong.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel to finish a 5 month trip travelling & just wanted somewhere easy. The hotel appearance & room comforts were fine for the one night.
The location was slightly out of the way a good 25 minute walk to the nearest shopping centre but a close 10 minute walk to the MTR station.

We didn't try any food or in hotel facilities but the room was perfect for us overnight.

The service was quite disappointing, they took our card for security but didn't inform us the amount they would be holding, which lead to problems financially for us. They didn't apologise for not communicating & were overall quite rude.
We tried not to let it get in the way of our final 24 hours in Hong Kong & spent most of the time out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lydshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Iydshep,

Warm Greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Regarding your comment shared above, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay. We are extremely grateful to you for sharing your open feedback with us so that we are able to monitor our operations more closely and take corrective measures for improvement accordingly. As a token of appreciation, we would like to arrange a free upgrade to Executive Harbour View Room with complimentary breakfast for your next stay.

Please feel free to contact me at generalmanager@islandpacifichotel.com.hk or our Director of Operations at anthonycheung@islandpacifichotel.com.hk regarding the free upgrade and for other queries in which we could assist.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Island Pacific Hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong.
Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Island Pacific punches above its weight in terms of cost. The service is impeccable and the staff unfailingly polite and helpful. Great breakfast, worth the money, with a huge range of European and Asian dishes to choose from.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to chose a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profkate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Profkate2014,

Thank you for staying at The Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have stayed here twice, once on my own in 2008, and once with friends in 2013. A really nice hotel, overlooks the harbour. Not the best location (no train that nearby) but there are plenty of trams/buses and also taxis are very cheap. The hotel also has a free shuttlebus that runs into Central. Very nice smart rooms, and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed 5 nights during Chinese New Year holiday. Very clean, excellent service, very usefull shuttle bus to main Central area, well located.
Bad point is the price of the buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. Both are good with a very wide range of Asian and western food but price is too high (170 HKD for breakfast and 350 for dinner if my memory is correct)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debutant95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Debutant95,

Thank you for staying at the Island Pacific Hotel and for taking time to share your review on tripadvisor.com. We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we valued comments from our guests.

Please rest assured that we will continue our endeavor to improve our services and facilities.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Island Pacific Hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at the Island Pacific for 26 nights in January whilst working in Hong Kong. I booked the hotel at least in part on the basis of its good reviews on Trip Advisor, as well as a competitive price. While you could certainly choose a worse place to stay, there are many far better options on Hong Kong Island and in Kowloon (I have stayed in many), both for the purposes of business and leisure.

ARRIVAL

Arrived at the hotel by way of free transfer from the Airport Express station. The hotel is the last stop on this particular bus' route, so if you want a speedy transfer, pay the small amount for a taxi. Upon arrival, concierge were proactive in retrieving luggage from the bus and delivering it to the room after check in, so no problem here.

The lobby is very typical of mediocre Chinese business hotels - shiny floors, lots of chandeliers, too many people standing around doing pointless things such as pushing lift buttons and gesturing in the direction of the escalator. The service that actually matters was delivered badly: reception staff seemed uninterested and performed the check-in robotically. The girl gave no genuine welcome, which would have been appreciated given the length of my stay.

ROOM

Upgraded to a harbour view room on floor 7 (706), which, judging by the floor plan on the back of the room door, was probably the best located room in the building, although a higher floor might have been better. While the upgrade was appreciated and the room was probably an improvement on the room overlooking the dirty, 'dried seafood' street that I had originally booked, it was nothing spectacular.

In my humble opinion, the view of Victoria Harbour from Hong Kong Island is nothing to write home about at all: the view is industrial and monotonous, generally quite depressing. If you want a nice romantic view of the harbour, do yourself a favour and pick one of the hotels on the Kowloon side.

The room itself is adequately large, by Hong Kong standards, furnished in soft tones with a marble bathroom. This might sound nice, but remember that this hotel is more concerned with first impressions than underlying quality. Pull back the curtains and behind them you will find a thick layer of dust. Ask for a double bed room and what you will actually get is two singles pushed together. The mattresses are the cheapest you could find - the spring type, just like a trampoline.

Perhaps the worst thing was the standard of housekeeping. My partner typically slept in after I had gone to work in the morning, and even though the do not disturb sign was unfailing hung outside the door, she would always get a call asking if we wanted housekeeping. What a stupid question - if we want housekeeping we would put the 'make up my room' sign on the door; if we hang the 'do not disturb' sign, we expect not to be disturbed.

One day, we returned to the room in the evening only to find the room had not been cleaned. A call to housekeeping revealed they had 'forgotten' to clean our room. So we had to go downstairs at 10pm while they cleaned it.

After a couple of weeks, they clearly got bored of having us to stay, since housekeeping became more like making the bed and replacing the towels. Toiletries were not replenished and the room was definitely not cleaned.

LEISURE

There is a small gym, overlooking the swimming pool. The latter I did not use, but I did use the gym a few times late in the evening. No one was ever there. Generally fine, though the dumbbells only go up to 10kg and there's very minimal strength equipment, only a few cardio machines.

LOCATION

The hotel is located 10 mins walk west of the western-most MTR (metro) station. In practice, this means that to get to anywhere you are likely to want to go, you either need to jump on the tram (which is fine if you are short and/or can get a seat) or take the relatively frequent hotel shuttle bus. You could take a bus (generally the ones going to Causeway Bay and Happy Valley are useful) but familiarising yourself with the bus numbering may be something you can't be bothered with.

In my opinion, the logistics of getting around are less of a problem than the facilities of the surrounding area. It is located on Des Voeux Road West, otherwise known as 'dried seafood street'. Some might say this is the 'real Hong Kong', which is true to an extent, but for the traveller it means eating at cheap local eateries with little in the way of English menus and generally pretty poor quality (do not eat at the hotel, where the food is not fresh at all). If you want to live in a 'local' area on Hong Kong Island, pick a hotel in the area between Causeway Bay and North Point.

OVERALL

The hotel is not so bad that you will want to move somewhere else on the first night, just so average in every respect that you should just not bother staying there. There are better places in the same price range.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank brushwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Brushwing,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Regarding your comment shared above, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay. We are extremely grateful to you for sharing your open feedback with us so that we are able to monitor our operations more closely and take corrective measures for improvement accordingly. As a token of appreciation, we would like to arrange a free upgrade to Executive Harbour View Room for your next stay.

Please feel free to contact me at generalmanager@islandpacifichotel.com.hk or our Director of Operations at anthonycheung@islandpacifichotel.com.hk regarding the free upgrade and for other queries in which we could assist.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Island Pacific Hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Wishing you a prosperous Year of the Horse!

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a stopover for a overnight flight back to Canada. Originally we were hoping to stay near the airport (Regal Airport Hotel) but the total cost for one night was more then the round trip train ticket and taxi to this hotel. Their are two shuttles that to and from the hotel one operated by the hotel and the another operated by the MTR. The MTR shuttle stops at many different hotels while the hotel shuttle stops at Hong Kong Station and Central Hong Kong. However the shuttle stops running at 11 so if you have a late flight you'll have to take a taxi to the hotel, which is actually cheap about $39 CAD because it's past rush hour and not a lot of car are on the road. The staff were helpful and friendly and spoke flaunt English. The room is big for a Hong Kong Hotel. One problem we have had while staying here was the elevator wasn't working but the staff got it going quickly.

Room Tip: Want a view get a Harbour View Room you'll pay a bit more though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedimaster10248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#63 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,778 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#68 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,420 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#61 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,237 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#108 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $93 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing