We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be nice but our superior suite was not without its flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #95 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be nice but our superior suite was not without its flaws”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Overall it was a nice hotel but we did have some issues, including a shower that backed up. We called to have it fixed and they misunderstood so it didn't get fixed that day. We called again the next day and they came to fix it - it worked better for about fifteen minutes then it was backed up again. So basically the bathroom floor flooded everytime we showered (there was a drain on the floor though that did work thank goodness,) So our case was more so a water closet than a bathroom. This was their platinum suite. The second big issue we had was probably fluke, but a big one - on Christmas day the hot water went off for almost a full day. (We traveled there for Christmas so going out on Christmas day without a shower was not exactly what we had in mind.) They gave us a coupon to come back, but honestly I wouldn't. The location wasn't too bad, but not terribly close to the train. The bus stop is close though. Internet worked well in the room without issue. The staff was nice enough and spoke English so that was helpful. The bed was okay, room was nice enough, but the plumbing issues really put a damper (quite literally) on things.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourdogrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Ourdogrocks,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Regarding your comment shared above, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay. We are extremely grateful to you for sharing your open feedback with us so that we are able to monitor our operations more closely and take corrective measures for improvement accordingly. As a token of appreciation, we would like to enclose a complimentary two nights’ stay coupon with free buffet breakfast to your email address directly.

Please feel free to contact me at "generalmanager@islandpacifichotel.com.hk" or our Director of Operations at "anthonycheung@islandpacifichotel.com.hk" regarding the redemption of complimentary room night stay coupon and for other queries in which we could assist.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Island Pacific Hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Wishing you a prosperous Year of the Horse!

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    890
    238
    36
    18
See reviews for
209
465
212
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tpe
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel itself is a bit dated but with a great view if you take the rooms with ocean view.
Only a nearly 3-star hotel.
Staffs are nice and keen at serving guests.
About 10 mins walk from the metro station.

Price is acceptable given its conditions, i.e. dated deco, and poor facility.

The only reason I stay here is its proximity to the University.

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malmesbury town
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great location off the beat but with some stunning views of the harbour, the room was very clean but could have been a bit fresher smelling, food was good be be aware breakfast is quite expensive if you have not included it in your package, hotel staff very professional and helpful if you take a taxi always ask the bag man at the entrance for a hotel card so your taxi will get you back with no problems just show them this, you can get a taxi to the centre for around £2.00 I hope this helps.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank allanuknewnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manildra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Love this place & wish to return very soon.
The views are amazing & the staff so helpful.
Rooms quite small but facilities adequate and views make up for it.
We didn't have a chance to use the pool but the location was quite good as
taxis were quite reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

That makes it work. It's not close to Central, but it's not far. You can get away with a cheap taxi or an even cheaper tram ride.

It's not new, but it's not that old. It charms you in a vintage kind of way.

The rooms are not big, but the view is spectacular. We moved the bed so that it faced the window so we woke up with the wonderful blue sky of foggy Hong Kong. Maybe it was luck.

The staff is not warm, but it's just right. There is even a guy who will point to where the elevator is. Even when you are in front of the elevator. Quite funny, but with the same vintage charm.

Breakfast for 17eur/person is a little too much, so we ventured around and found a great bakery nearby. Much, much cheaper. Do that. But try the bar next to the elevator for sweets. Not bad.

The only thing i HATED about this hotel was that they charged us for using their printer. 2HKD per page. This is the only hotel ever that ever did this to me.

Otherwise, a good stay at a good price for HK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MihaiBrasoveanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights on business and it is not centrally located however this was not an issue as taxi's are so cheap. Breakfast quality was not great but acceptable. Overall for the price paid I didn't have too many complaints as rooms were good.

Room Tip: Harbour view as other sides of the hotel would mean the view would not be very good judging by the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

First time visit to Hong Kong and Island pacific hotel, at check in, we were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a deluxe full Harbour view room on the 19th floor. The room size was small but it has a Spectacular view of the Kowloon on the other side and ships passing through the Victoria Harbour. The hotel has a free shuttle service which runs every 20 minutes from Hotel to Hong Station with a stop at Macau Ferry Terminal and IFC Mall. There is also a complimentary H1 shuttle from the Airport express stops at the hotel every 25 minutes.
The hotel is located in a busy surrounding of Sheung Wan area; it’s about 15 to 20 minutes walk to Sheung Wan MTR station. There are lots of local restaurants and also Mac Donald.
Concierge staff was very helpful and friendly. Stayed in December 2013, overall our stay was very good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#64 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#129 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing