We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a bow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #94 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service with a bow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Always there to greet and welcome you...room had an amazing view of the harbour and the food was delicious...definitely a good hotel..will definitely think about going there again if I go to Hong Kong in the future

Room Tip: Never trust pictures on net..always read what other travellers have written and go with instinct
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeymanMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    890
    238
    36
    18
See reviews for
209
465
212
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great Hotel! Really excellent service from all the staff. Beautiful view of the Harbour if you get a Harbour view room. The Breakfast Buffet was complete and delicious too, cheeses, fruit, etc. They have a great and free shuttle service to the malls, etc.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Staff accommodated all our requests- extra bottled water, amenities, bathrobes, etc. Great Value!

Room Tip: Harbour View room is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niilima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I had the choice of a few hotels in the area however choose Island Pacific for three reasons; 1. Excellent reviews 2. They supply cots 3. Value for money.

Generally Hong Kong is not a place that understands service but this hotel does! The service has been quick & faultless!

I'm a HK resident & intended to stay here one night with my husband & 1 year old child whilst my new apartment is underging renovations. I'm now into my third night at Island Pacific & have extended my stay as my apartment is still not ready. Therefore I've had quite a few dealings with staff to extend my stay, which have all been good.

Some reviews mentioned transport. HK has excellent public transport & Island Pacific is near a tram line & various bus services from Des Veoux Rd West. Cabs in HK are very cheap & there's no shortage in this area. Therefore to get to the train station (MTR) there are many options, including a less than 10 minute walk.

Airport shuttle busses run to & from the hotel also.

If booking the hotel online, some sites don't include 10% service - something to be aware of.

A HK colleague stayed here for similar reasons & also mentioned the excellent service & value for money.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RochCorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights Feb 2013, and would definitely recommend. My harbour view room (no kidding, a corner room with two complete walls of windows!) was HK$888 ++, great value. Breakfast not included though. Lovely comfy bed (but would have appreciated an extra blanket) and a bath tub is a treat in HK. All the staff I encountered were excellent - they really put effort into being helpful, and this simply isn't that common. The wifi worked efficiently too. Personally I much prefer this location on the western side of HK Island to the Oxford Street-like noise of much of Kowloon - there are plenty of excellent restaurants, galleries, antique shops and local markets within 20 mins walk. The free shuttle bus runs every half hour to Central MTR and other landmark stops, but note that for a big chunk of the middle of the day the shuttle runs a reduced service. There's an airport express bus service which picks up from the hotel for HK$140 and takes about 45 minutes.

Negatives ... breakfast was OK but not great. The room wasn't cleaned as thoroughly as it really should have been (the telephone handset stank, very unpleasant). The mediocre pianist in the bar in the evening was a bit naff, and definitely meant that I avoided the place. And the biggest gripe is that my non-smoking room smelled strongly of smoke. It had clearly been treated but this meant it was damp as well as smelly ... I didn't complain at the time because the view compensated (a bit), and because I checked in early and then didn't want to waste valuable time negotiating a move or storing my bag. My hunch is that the 6th floor may only recently have been designated non-smoking, as there was a whiff in the corridors too ... So my advice if this is important to you is to make it clear when you check in (and perhaps avoid the 6th floor). I feel a bit underhand raising this one as my experience of the staff here means they may well have responded fabulously well if I'd complained, so don't let it out you off, just be aware!

Room Tip: If a non-smoking room is important to you, check how long your floor has been designated no-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I really like this hotel. It has all the five star service touches without the five star price tag. My room cost $730HKD for the night, and I found it was still a very comfortable walk home from Soho nightlife last night - only about 15-20 mins. Easy if you don't mind a stroll. A similar place closer to Central would cost at least double.

My room has a great view of the ferries coming in, good amenities, free WIFI, and generally looks & feels like a more expensive hotel. The staff are lovely, especially the Concierge guys, who can't do enough to help.
I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAfternoonDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is well run. We were pleased with the level of service, from the doormen to the reception staff and the restaurant personnel. We had an issue with our room on the last day, as they painted the hallway and the smell was very strong. Fortunately we were offered to move to a bigger room and offered a late checkout the following day. This was an acceptable solution.
Locationwise the hotel is not great. It is a bit out of the way and far from the subway station. Not a huge problem but inconvenient if you are planning to move around town. The rooms are just ok. The decor is very old fashioned, the carpet a bit shabby, etc. they are clean, though, and the bed is very comfortable. The bigger rooms with view to the harbor are much better.
Breakfast is very good, with a great selection and fast service.
Overall, this is good value for money, particularly if you do not mind the impersonal decor and are ok with a bit of commuting. The hotel is very efficiently run.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Earlier lived in other HK hotels. This hotels is not on Kowloon but only a very pleasant ferry ride away. You will be located in a more "local" area and have to pass many shops with local food but do not expect a hidden and dark dangerous area because it is not like that. I found the location to be not problem at all. 25HKD with taxi to the IFC mall which also connects to the Star ferry and underground. Also local busses from 4-8 HKD brings you to the mall but some wait must be expected. The hotel shuttle runs throughout the day and also picks you up at the airport (stops at all hotels in the area) but if you have an early morning flight then expect to take a taxi from hotel (350-400HKD). Comfortable bed even if slightly harder than European standard. Bathroom spacious even if room in general is on the small side. I would say the only issue I had with the hotel is noise from traffic and used earplugs at night but slept well. Traffic was not really a problem during daytime/evenings. I would book again. Did not try breakfast. You find cheap local shops and 7-11/McDonald nearby.

Room Tip: No special tip but I booked the simplest room and ended up on 9th floor with partly harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#66 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#133 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#58 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing