We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #92 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Excellent hotel, especially for Hong Kong, where most hotels are small and dingy. This is a 3.5-star hotel that stays like a 5-star. Service is excellent. The room is fantastic for Hong Kong. It is a solid size with very high ceilings. Views can be stunning if you are lucky. Everything is clean and comfortable. The concierge was extremely helpful. The free shuttle is a lifesaver. The price was more than fair.

My stay was allllmost perfect. The tub water-plug got stuck multiple times, which required me calling housekeeping in the middle of the night. But they were quick and helpful.

My biggest gripe with the hotel was still the "Shopper's Privilege Card" they offered guests. You have to sign up at the front desk, where they give you a card that claims to provide discounts at certain malls and shopping spots owned by the Sino Group, which also owns Island Pacific. I spent a ton of time looking for these malls, and none of them had a clue about this card. I got the feeling that the card was just a ploy to send you to their malls and spend money, not really a discount card. It's a shame because my stay was perfect up to that point.

Nonetheless, a solid stay over all. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shuaishuaishuai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    885
    236
    35
    18
See reviews for
208
463
210
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice room, great view, great location, good wifi connection...great value for money.

The tram runs in front of the hotel, providing very easy access to the ferry terminal. I had a great view - the harbour to the South and the hills to the North...beautiful sunrises!

The rooms are small, but they are clean, and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is quite large.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F-GB-BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Professional hotel, friendly staff good food and nice rooms. We had a big room at the 21th floor with harbor view, although I wouldn't recommend spend the extra cash to get this high at harbor site as for Honk Kong can be very foggy or smoggy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chieliemielie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed for three nights. Hotel very clean, rooms we made up daily.
Our room overlooked street below and harbour view, long way down yikes...
There was complimentary tea and coffee, TV, with english channels, not the we watched much, to busy sight seeing.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but had a couple of drinks; quite pricey - £12.00 for a pint and a half of larger, however there are cheaper bars not far from the hotel also Seven/11 shops, which are everywhere, there is one very close to this hotel, as you come out of the entrance turn left towards main road (where the ding ding trams can be seen, cross the road and seven/11 in front of you.
This was our first trip to Hong Kong, the hotel is in a good location, though not in the heart of the city, it is close to tram stops, and if you don't mind a thirty minute walk to Hong Kong central stations MRT; directions, turn right as you leave hotel entrance and right again, keep walking straight until you see the overhead walkways, once on the walkways you will pass shopping centres/malls, IFC centre (international financial centre) there are plenty of signs to guide you to the MRT (metro) We chose to buy daily tourist tickets/cards.

We enjoyed are stay at this hotel, very friendly and welcoming staff all dressed immaculately, check in and check out efficient, much like other parts of HK that we visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandinka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I paid for a room with a full harbour view and it was worth it. Gorgeous! We could watch the ferries speeding across the harbour and the lights across in Kowloon. Could not quite see the harbour light show, though. The room itself was quite small, but very nice. It had a bathroom with a nice bathtub with a really good strong shower. The free wifi was excellent and the signal strong enough in my room for FaceTime on my iPad.

Upon arrival at the airport, we took the airport express to Hong Kong Station and then a taxi to the hotel as we arrived after midnight. The concierge team did an excellent job to organise our bags, and were very helpful throughout our stay. They were able to get us cabs and provide good advice about shopping and transport and the ferry to Macau.

Location-wise, the hotel is about 15 minutes on foot to Sheung Wan MTR, but you can ride on many buses (boring) or any of the trams (yay) along the road outside the hotel to the MTR or all the way to Central and beyond, or just take a taxi. The complimentary Hotel Shuttle also goes to places like the Ferry Terminal, IFC Mall (with the huge Apple store) and Central MTR.

There is an OK shop, 7-11, Watson's and Japan Home just across the intersection and many shops lining the streets selling fruit, dried scallops, BBQ pork etc.You can buy a prepaid sim 3G card from the OK shop or 7-11 for your smartphone. It's HK$28 for unlimited data per day for the card from threeHK. To get to restaurants, just cross to the next street parallel to Des Voeux Road called Queen's Road for many local eateries and also MacDonalds. it's refreshing to come downstairs into a microcosm of daily Hong Kong life instead of tourist shops and flashy malls.

I booked the hotel via their website, with discounts for staying 3 nights. The rate included breakfast for 1, but I also "liked" their facebook page and got 1 additional breakfast per day so was able to enjoy the excellent breakfast buffet for no additional charge. They have an app for smartphones, which offers further discounts on dining and rooms.

After I checked out of the hotel, I filled out an online survey and included a comment on something which bothered me. Someone from the hotel management rang me after I had returned home to clarify the matter. I'm really impressed with the hotel's attention to customer satisfaction!

Room Tip: Definitely a room facing the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvilCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

we have just come back from hong kong and stayed at the island pacific, its a little bit away from all the shops and markets etc, but transport there is so good that its not a problem, we enjoyed getting the star ferry over to kowloon when we went shopping. The hotel looks really festive at the moment, a great effort has been put into it. We had a deluxe harbour view room on the 17th floor, the room was spotless and very comfortable, there was a mini bar, and tea and coffee making facilities. The views were lovely and i enjoyed sitting watching the boats go by while having a coffee. The only negative i have to say about this hotel is that the food is quite expensive, i would suggest anyone thinking of staying here to try and get a deal inclusive of breakfast or it works out to be about £15, there is a good selection of breakfast on offer though with the usual bacon, eggs, tomatoes etc, or if preferred oriental breakfast, together with cereals, fruit, different breads, toast etc and lovely coffee. The dinner buffet is a must at around £25 but the choice of food immense, and delicious too. The staff at this hotel are the nicest i have come across in hong kong, from concierge and reception to the room stewards, they cant do enough for you. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants peace and quiet, and relaxation.

Room Tip: if you are going for a harbour view room, the higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josie-essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My room was on one of the top floors and I had a great view over the entire bay, sometimes literally seeing the clouds go by, as the entire wall was a window front - wonderful. The hotel had everything I could wish for. Breakfast had lots of variation and was served in a bright space on the 2nd floor. Dinner was also fine, nothing outstanding. The location is very central, could walk or take the tram to wherever I needed. Overall, had a great stay and can recommend it.

Room Tip: I suppose the higher the better, and of course, bay-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimicri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#65 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#58 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#49 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#138 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing