We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of the way, but a lovely room...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #96 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way, but a lovely room...”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

As I say this hotel is a bit out of the way, you don't walk out into a shopping mall nor are there lots of restaurants nearby, but what we did have was the best view of the harbour and a beautiful spacious room. So it depends what matters to you when looking for accommodation in Hong Kong which we found very expensive after having spend 2.5 weeks in Vietnam staying in beautiful hotels for under $100 a night including breakfast.

We were upgraded to the executive floor (28) which afforded us the most glorious harbour view with floor to ceiling windows. The room was wonderfully spacious with a lovely little desk area (mind you with the view right next to it, I couldn't have concentrated!), and a large bathroom with separate bath and shower. It was all very well maintained and clean, it was certainly one of the nicest hotel rooms we stayed in. However the rest of the hotel was quite average. The restaurant (only one) was great for breakfast with a wonderful buffet but it was on the 3rd floor so not a great view of the harbour, mainly of the road. The same restaurant at dinner was not so nice, we don't like dinner buffets - brings out the pig in us! but it was packed with people who did! We wish there had been another restaurant offering a la carte. We went down to the bar/cafe on the 1st floor for a coffee and pudding but this seems beyond the waiter and after 20 mins we gave up (we were the only customers).

The hotel was quite a walk from Central and whilst there was a shuttle bus, we only took it once and it dropped us at the wrong entrance and it took us ages to find the underground entrance. If you wanted to get the shuttle bus home you had to call them, we hadn't taken our mobile on hols with us. Instead we found it much better to get the bellboys to hail us a cab, as cabs were cheap but make sure you get a card from the bellboys with the hotel's name and address on it for taxi drivers because whilst most can speak English the odd one can't...

Overall the staff were very good and helpful, the room on the Executive floor faultless but the location and one restaurant let them down. So if you ate out and took cabs everywhere and stayed on the executive floor you would be fine.

Room Tip: Stay on the Executive floor (28) or at least the highest floor possible and ask for a harbour view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzannahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesslynTam, Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear SuzannahA,

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel. We are grateful to you for sharing your comments. It is our pleasure knowing that you had a comfortable experience with our spacious and harbour view room in our executive floor and enjoyed the views plus our service.

More importantly, your comment regarding the dining outlet and shuttle bus transportation are well noted and we had shared and discussed this with all concerned departments for further improvement. Please rest assured that we will work harder in our endeavour to make our hotel a home away from home for all our guests.

As a reference, the hotel’s shuttle bus has stops at the nearby Sheung Wan MTR station, Central MTR Station and Airport Express HK MTR Station.

Thank you once again and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Island Pacific Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    900
    241
    39
    18
See reviews for
213
473
215
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on arriving in Hong Kong. We got the bus from the airport which dropped us off more or less outside the hotel.

The receptionist staff were very helpful and very polite. Check in was easy.

The room we had was rather small but very modern. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep, the shower pressure was also good.

All in all, good value and good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powersmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesslynTam, Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Powersmurf,

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel. We are grateful to you for sharing your comments. It is our pleasure knowing that you had a comfortable experience in our hotel.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Island Pacific Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A bit off the beaten path, but still pretty close to all..rooms a bit small, bathrooms good size..took advantage of Facebook promo and got some free breakfast at the hotel..GREAT staff!! Especially Raymond in the restaurant..Tip..book in advance for best deals.....You won't find a better place to stay in HK for less than $125.00/night.

Room Tip: Try to get a larger room..more $$, but worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctgentry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a corner room on 5th floor. Great views. Comfortable room. Friendly staff.

Buffet dinner restaurant was disappointing. Got there at 9pm, Everything was overcooked and dried out. They shut down and took the food away at 9:30pm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesslynTam, Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear AnotherMark,

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel. We are grateful to you for sharing your comments. It is our pleasure knowing that you had a comfortable experience with our guestroom and enjoyed the views plus our service.

More importantly, your comment regarding the buffet arrangement is well noted and we had shared and discussed this with all concerned departments for further improvement. Please rest assured that we will work harder in our endeavour to improve our services and facilities to make our hotel a home away from home for all our guests. Thank you once again and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Island Pacific Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe room on the 22nd floor, full harbor view, we had an amazing experience. This is our third visit to Hong Kong but for the first time in this hotel, will definitely stay here again!
The room is not very large but not small either, and everything looked like new. The bed was excellent, the staff very professional and friendly. There is a free shuttle to Central, every half an hour.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Was pretty impressed when I have arrived at the hotel because it does look like an expensive one.
The price is really good,very convenient as it's in the city centre of Hong Kong Island. The wet market is just outside of the hotel and they are closing really late.
Take their shuttle bus which goes everywhere,you will save lots of money.
The room is bi enough and if you take the room with the bay view, you won't be disappointed!it's always nice to see these boats passing by when you wake up in the morning.
Otherwise the cleaning service isn't very helpful,they forgot to clean my room once even after talking to them on the phone before I left the room.
But the room isn't very clean. I found a piece of potato chips below my bed...I didn't potato chips!
The staff are generally super friendly,very polite.
The pool is also cozy and the gyms are small but at least they have two with lockers room.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the bay,you won't regret it! Take their shuttle bus to go to town,to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Given the price charged for delux room (880 hkd) per night. i think the value is good. the hotel is in a relatively good location with reliable hotel service , only 10 mins to central station. it has seaview as well as fast free wifi service. staff are friendly and polite. overall it's recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markchanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#61 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,679 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,160 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,130 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#60 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing