We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service, comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #87 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we have stayed several times in this hotel for several reasons. one, is that the price is affordable. second, their breakfast buffet is good and free if you like their facebook page. third, service is good. the staff are friendly. hotels in hongkong are usually expensive, so to get a hotel below 1000hkd is a jewel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lainecruz2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,749)
There are newer reviews for Island Pacific Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Island Pacific. The room was clean, comfortable and small. What really sells it, is the view. You have uninterrupted harbour side views of the very busy Hong Kong pier. There are constantly ships and boats coming in and out and you could stay in your room for a day just to watch the never ending procession. The pool is very nice and I was usually the only one in it. The concierge and the staff who work down stairs with the bags are excellent. There is a bakery, 711 and a local Chinese restaurant close by. It is much easier to get around Hong Kong with a transport card.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PushkarNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It’s a bit of a cliché but good service does go a long way. There are myriad black-clad staff who leap to greet you, carry your luggage, summon the lift etc. I was upgraded on arrival from “superior” to “deluxe”, which had a good harbour view. Full details of rooms are on the hotel website. The room was clean, generous size, huge bed, good linen, iron/board, high ceilings and had the bathroom between the bed and the door for sound insulation. The air-con worked well without the full fan on all night. The bathroom was indeed floor-to-ceiling marble, though it had a fixed-head shower (not ideal for us women). The safe was large enough to hold a professional camera and a small laptop. The free wifi and intranet was problem-free, indeed I easily Skyped my partner, who was working in rural China, every evening.
One bonus is the large tea station and fridge, so take your favourite teabags or coffee granules and stock up on milk and comfort snacks from the supermarket round the corner if you have work to get through in the evenings.
Tip: if you like eating out you may want to do so before heading back to the hotel as there are limited options in the area, which is dominated by dried-fish wholesalers, especially if, like me, you easily tire of the “authentic” Chinese food experience. I did find a cafe called Heirloom a pleasant walk away on Hollywood Road, which is solo-businesswoman-friendly and does a fresh Thai green curry and a decent glass of wine.

Now to the only draw-back: you’re a bit out on a limb at rush hour. There’s no MTR within sweat-free walking distance and you cannot rely on a taxi as back-up: even the helpful staff can’t work miracles, so allow extra time. The hotel’s free shuttle bus to the MTR station is good, but it can sit at traffic lights for the first 12 minutes. By far the best option is the tram, which is literally around the corner (so near you can reach the stop without an umbrella). You may have to stand, but at least you know you’re on your way and – well, actually I love the trams; they’re just romantic. Non-rush hour I took a taxi from the hotel no problem, but it’s best to check.
Tip: I love walking, but sometimes get caught out by the extreme temperature differences between the street and the office. Take leg cover and a jacket or you’ll freeze at your desk, and take flipflops for your journey home.
Tip: buy an Octopus card (Hong Kong equivalent of Oyster). You pay a refundable deposit (which you can get back at the airport) and it’s usable on all transport including rural buses and saves fiddling with change.
Every trip I do some sight-seeing in the rural New Territories – by bus. A world away from Hong-Kong centre if you’re city-weary. Slick on mosquito repellent and take an umbrella-shade.

Room Tip: Superior looks similar to Deluxe, if you don't have your heart set on a view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna_Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Chose this place based on largely positive reviews, which I feel were correct. It's a little old and could do with some modernization, but the service was friendly and efficient. If I stayed here for business I might want just a few more facilities, but as a base for a weekend in the city, it served us very well.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NY_LON_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed there for 6 nights.Its an nice hotel.I got an sea view smoking room,which i liked a lot.But the room is little small.Staffs are very cooperative.Food is very costly over there compared to other hotels.So that i had to arrange my foods from nearby Mcdonalds.There is an outdoor pool.But i didnt get an chance to hv a bath over there as i was in a very hectic shedule.But the worst thing is its location.U will find dryfish n beef mutton stores around the hotel.Overall good hotel in an not so good location.

Room Tip: 29th floor seaveiw rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satya97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stay away from this hotel. We booked a room with the sea view, it was so smelly as the curtains were full of mould. We complained and they changed the room but it was stinky as well. As results we got bad sore throat. The view is nothing special as it overlooks the highway, room are so small

Room Tip: Smily rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here overnight because it was the only thing we could get last-minute in our price range, and it was a treat. They upgraded our room, so while it was cozy, it has an amazing view of Hong Kong Harbour. I wouldn't have thought that this kind of view was available for the price we paid, particularly since we had a corner room and had floor-to-ceiling views of the water on one side and equally expansive views of the city on the other.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#61 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,733 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,253 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#55 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,190 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#103 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $93 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing