We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,288)
Filter reviews
2,288 results
Traveler rating
762
1,129
313
52
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
762
1,129
313
52
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sai ying pun harbour view free shuttle floor to ceiling windows airport express dinner buffet rooms are small convenient location victoria harbour tram station hk hong concierge kowloon gym ferries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,075 - 1,080 of 2,288 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Island Pacific. The room was clean, comfortable and small. What really sells it, is the view. You have uninterrupted harbour side views of the very busy Hong Kong pier. There are constantly ships and boats coming in and out and you could stay in your room for a day just to watch the never ending procession. The pool is very nice and I was usually the only one in it. The concierge and the staff who work down stairs with the bags are excellent. There is a bakery, 711 and a local Chinese restaurant close by. It is much easier to get around Hong Kong with a transport card.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PushkarNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It’s a bit of a cliché but good service does go a long way. There are myriad black-clad staff who leap to greet you, carry your luggage, summon the lift etc. I was upgraded on arrival from “superior” to “deluxe”, which had a good harbour view. Full details of rooms are on the hotel website. The room was clean, generous size, huge bed, good linen, iron/board, high ceilings and had the bathroom between the bed and the door for sound insulation. The air-con worked well without the full fan on all night. The bathroom was indeed floor-to-ceiling marble, though it had a fixed-head shower (not ideal for us women). The safe was large enough to hold a professional camera and a small laptop. The free wifi and intranet was problem-free, indeed I easily Skyped my partner, who was working in rural China, every evening.
One bonus is the large tea station and fridge, so take your favourite teabags or coffee granules and stock up on milk and comfort snacks from the supermarket round the corner if you have work to get through in the evenings.
Tip: if you like eating out you may want to do so before heading back to the hotel as there are limited options in the area, which is dominated by dried-fish wholesalers, especially if, like me, you easily tire of the “authentic” Chinese food experience. I did find a cafe called Heirloom a pleasant walk away on Hollywood Road, which is solo-businesswoman-friendly and does a fresh Thai green curry and a decent glass of wine.

Now to the only draw-back: you’re a bit out on a limb at rush hour. There’s no MTR within sweat-free walking distance and you cannot rely on a taxi as back-up: even the helpful staff can’t work miracles, so allow extra time. The hotel’s free shuttle bus to the MTR station is good, but it can sit at traffic lights for the first 12 minutes. By far the best option is the tram, which is literally around the corner (so near you can reach the stop without an umbrella). You may have to stand, but at least you know you’re on your way and – well, actually I love the trams; they’re just romantic. Non-rush hour I took a taxi from the hotel no problem, but it’s best to check.
Tip: I love walking, but sometimes get caught out by the extreme temperature differences between the street and the office. Take leg cover and a jacket or you’ll freeze at your desk, and take flipflops for your journey home.
Tip: buy an Octopus card (Hong Kong equivalent of Oyster). You pay a refundable deposit (which you can get back at the airport) and it’s usable on all transport including rural buses and saves fiddling with change.
Every trip I do some sight-seeing in the rural New Territories – by bus. A world away from Hong-Kong centre if you’re city-weary. Slick on mosquito repellent and take an umbrella-shade.

Room tip: Superior looks similar to Deluxe, if you don't have your heart set on a view
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna_Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Chose this place based on largely positive reviews, which I feel were correct. It's a little old and could do with some modernization, but the service was friendly and efficient. If I stayed here for business I might want just a few more facilities, but as a base for a weekend in the city, it served us very well.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NY_LON_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed there for 6 nights.Its an nice hotel.I got an sea view smoking room,which i liked a lot.But the room is little small.Staffs are very cooperative.Food is very costly over there compared to other hotels.So that i had to arrange my foods from nearby Mcdonalds.There is an outdoor pool.But i didnt get an chance to hv a bath over there as i was in a very hectic shedule.But the worst thing is its location.U will find dryfish n beef mutton stores around the hotel.Overall good hotel in an not so good location.

Room tip: 29th floor seaveiw rooms
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satya97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stay away from this hotel. We booked a room with the sea view, it was so smelly as the curtains were full of mould. We complained and they changed the room but it was stinky as well. As results we got bad sore throat. The view is nothing special as it overlooks the highway, room are so small

Room tip: Smily rooms
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews