We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good harbor view of Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Ranked #27 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good harbor view of Hong Kong”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed there last weekend for business trip.
It's in the city...but a little far for MTR main station ( long walk underground).
The hotel was very nice with reasonable rate( Congress group rate).
It's cheaper than Intercontinental HK and Penisula.

No complain about anythings!!!
The front desk and conceirge were very nice.
I had a little problem paying the bill.
But they can solve it in a good way.

Breakfast was very good..but a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Choose the harbor view...if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    895
    192
    38
    28
See reviews for
550
686
175
770
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This last week we stayed at the Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong and enjoyed it very much . The staff were friendly ( especially by HK standards ) and the breakfast was really good with choices of Asian and European foods on offer with a great variety .. The location is very close to everything and only a short walk to the Nathan road area .. We stayed an extra half day and were given a late check out for half rate .. The hotel bar area is also nice for a drink and the foyer is an enjoyable place to relax before going back to your room ...All in all a very nice place to stay.
A word of warning though for shoppers , HK is now a mecca for people trying to peddle fake watches and bags .. This can get a bit annoying so be prepared and just ignore them .. Even saying no thank you seems to give them an invite to further press you .. We found the best way was to just pretend they weren't even there. Hope this helps .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a long weekend in Hong Kong so looked for a hotel that had a harbour view, good location to transport networks and decent room service. The room service is essential for us as we travel with a five month old and struggle to eat out at night. Check in was efficient and straight forward. We were taken to our room and a travel cot was delivered shortly afterwards so our son could go to sleep.

The bed was very comfy and we had an excellent rest, disturbed only by our son. Breakfast the next day hit all the spots. The staff were very helpful guiding us to their free shuttle bus which took us close to the Star Ferry. Alternatively we were only a shot walk from a MTR station. We did not realise till afterwards that we could have boarded a bus to Stanley from pretty much outside the hotel.

There are cheaper places in Hong Kong, but for good service and good location I would recommend this hotel to friends without hesitation.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having stayed at the Grand Stanford Intercontinental over the past years it was frustrating to see other hotels offer newer rooms, in similar locations at the same rate.

With the Grand Stanford undergoing renovations floor by floor the old dark rooms with even older bathtub shower bathrooms are gone.

The new rooms are not even brighter with fantastic new and modern bathrooms, they feel bigger too. It's worth while to check it out.

In addition to the new rooms (make sure when booking to mention it) the location has always been great. Food, shopping and everything within walking distance. Good spot to stay in Hong Kong

Room Tip: Good location in TST with great shopping and food all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YanXunLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muscat.Oman
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Been there and stayed for 4 nights, it was amazing place to stay, had great breakfast in coffee shop and walk distance to go to boulevard bay, so many pictures we made,and we all had very good time during our stay, will comeback again for sure

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryfatumajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for a week. Had a little issue with our reservation not showing that we had Club access so the first day we stayed there we did not get to have the complimentary breakfast, but the staff was very accomodating and taking care of the issue. Great location in TST, within walking distance to the MTR station as well as to major tourist sites such as Avenue of the Stars, and the Star Ferry terminal. Room was large and the view of Victoria Harbor was breathtaking! We were sad to leave the hotel after having such a wonderful stay. Doris was great greeting us for breakfast and remembering what my wife and I both liked to drink! Would love to come back and stay at the hotel the next chance we make it to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennyf1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hong Kong can be a noisy city in which to sleep, but InterContinental Grand Stanford delivered a peaceful night in a modern and comfortable room.

Check-in and check-out were fast and smooth. I was given a room described as renovated. It was certainly newly decorated, and well equipped with furniture and fittings. The desk was great, the chair was better than many I've used, and working in this hotel was easy.

The wardrobe held a good sized ironing board and an iron in good condition, so I was quickly able to prepare my clothes for the next day.

I slept well in a comfortable bed, with pillows that matched my preference.

The bathroom is well equipped, but small, and the shower is over the bath. It wasn't a problem for me, but if you like separate showers this may be a negative point for the hotel.

The best thing about the room was its silence. I heard no noise from adjacent rooms, no noise from the corridor, and (amazingly, for HK) no noise from outside.

I'll choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,906 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,734 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Property: InterContinental Grand Stanford
Address: 70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, being a member of Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG), is an acclaimed five-star hotel that offers sophistication and heritage. Set against the stunning backdrop of Victoria Harbour, half of the hotel's 570 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites boost sweeping views of picturesque Hong Kong skyline and breathtaking Victoria Harbour.Located in the proximity of the world-famous Star Ferry and within easy reach of all major transportation systems such as the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) and Guangzhou-Kowloon Through Train Station, the hotel offers easy accessibility within the city and entry into China. With complimentary shuttle bus service provided by the hotel, Hong Kong's largest shopping mall Harbour City is just within doorstep. InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong provides the finest selection of world-class dining outlets from famed Cantonese cuisine at Hoi King Heen crafted by award-winning native Chef Leung, passionately Italian cuisine at Mistral with finest Italian produce, to contemporary international buffet at Café on M and Tiffany's New York Bar, knowing as Capital of Whisky with the largest whisky capacity in town. The sheer flexibility of the hotel, with its ample choice of venues complement the state-of-the-art meeting facilities in a comfortable and stylish setting, caters for functions of diverse size. For three consecutive years between 2014 and 2016, the hotel was recognized as "Hong Kong's Leading Business Hotel" by the prestigious World Travel Awards and the hotel collects the ultimate accolade for its renowned service as 'World's Leading Luxury Business Hotel' and 'Asia's Leading Business Hotel' in 2016. Its refined services and facilities makes the hotel the ideal choice for the savvy business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing