We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, poor service”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #265 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent location, poor service”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

my daughter and I stayed in this hotel for one night. we huddled close to one another under the covers as temperatures (which felt like it) fell below 10 degrees c in our room. thermostat was not working..turned the dial to 30 and all it did was blow out cold air. we both slept at 2 am after layering ourselves with jackets, a duvet, a blanket and each other to keep warm.

the service needs improvement..the hotel can't just cash in on location. something as basic as heating is a necessity, just like running water.

extremely disappointed with my stay. hope the hotel does something about this.



  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elyse b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are disappointed to know that you have a bad experience in staying with our hotel. Certainly, for last week Hong Kong was fell into the coldest days. I was not sure if you knew our hotel have heaters available to borrow to our guest?

Our team work very hard to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and treated like they are at home. We will definitely keep improving our service standard.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    252
    236
    99
    96
See reviews for
160
109
80
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for two nights. The room is pretty small with essential amenities. The tV channels are very limited. Hotel guest can have choice for having breakfast at Ootaya Japanese restaurant with discount price. But in Hong Kong, i preferred to walk less than five minutes for Dim Sam or Congee nearby.
The hotel is very near the MRT entrance and two big shopping mall K1. Waling to Avenue of Star to watch the Symphony of light is very convenient.
On the check out day, guest can use the hotel service for luggage deposit at hotel and come back then take it to Airport with 5 HGD per piece.


Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kobchula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us. Isn’t it amazing being able to take some time out and enjoy our beautiful city & tasty food? For those of us who live here we sometimes take it for granted and we are pleased to see that more and more visitors are taking the opportunity to be “tourists in Hong Kong”.

We hope that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Minus:
1. "Free WiFi" means a few 12 hour codes and then lobby only WiFi or pay per hour in your room.
2. No airport pickup or transportation assistance, even for really late flight arrivals.
3. Some of the staff members at the front desk were so beyond rude. One woman wouldn't even make eye contact when she answered my questions, spoke in single word sentences, and was little to no help at all.
4. Shady neighborhood, right next door to the Chungking Mansion. If you like being hassled to buy watches & handbags every moment you leave your hotel, then maybe this area is right up your alley.

Plus:
1. The restaurants in the area are hard to find, but not bad once you do. The shopping is plentiful if that's your thing. It's easy access to the MTR.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneylevann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

Perhaps, it was just felt on the CNY holiday during your stay. All hotels were full due to over 200,000 Chinese visitors were came to Hong Kong to celebrate this traditional festival & did the shopping.

It is disappointing to see that our front line staff in the lobby did not meet your expectations. We will continue to provide on job training to our staff in order to make them to be more professional. In addition, our hotel do provide free WiFi service for direct booking with hotel Reservation or via our hotel website. We have now provide unlimited free WiFi access in our hotel lobby after some feedbacks from our guests.

It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you and if you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.
Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

La Coruna, Spain
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've recently stayed in this hotel over Xmas and do not recommend staying there if you can avoid it!

Only good thing about this hotel is its location in Nathan Road. Otherwise:

-they are rude (people at the front desk need a hospitality course on how to deal with clients; one piece of advice: SMILE, SMILE, SMILE)
-Gave us an exhorbitant price for new year's eve (I understand they charge "a bit more" but not huge amounts) and when you want to cancel the room and threat to leave they say it is up to you as the whole price needs to be paid anyway. WHO DOES THAT??? never seen anything like this before.
-I booked a triple room and instead of getting 3 beds (like any other hotel will do), they gave us an extra bed, which they charged for of course. We had to spend 4 days crammed up in a room with no light and a horrible noise from the aircon that could not be switched off.
-Charge for the internet after 20minutes. Even in shopping centres, airport etc, you can get better coverage and it is free.

In summary overpriced hotel with crap facilities!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us. It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you. Due to not enough information, we cannot located your staying period.

Customer Service is always our core training topic in our hotel. We will continue to enhance this training to our staff. Perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our recent room assignment did not meet your expectations. The core guestroom renovation plan had been set in 2014.

From your comments, I assumed you have pre-booked our hotel under a advance purchase program which has the terms & conditions bounded for no cancellation and no amendment during those festival seasons. And, this were all hotels in Hong Kong also did, but not only to our hotel. We always emphasized to our guests to book directly with free WiFi in room or sometimes with free room upgrade to the new renovated room.

If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Asked for a 3 bed room, got a 2 bed room with an extra bed squeezed in. No storage space for clothes, only hanging space with only 3 hangers. Lived out of suitcases for duration. Room smelt of stale smoke. Stayed 5 nights room wasn't cleaned once, towels changed but were in very poor state of repair having been patched. Beds very hard, mattress on top of a wooded base. Staff mostly unhelpful & unfriendly. Only good thing is location, right in the middle of the shopping & restaurants area & close to underground. Holiday inn only two doors away & Sheraton close by. Great area to stay in don't be fooled by the pictures. Room on side of hotel, no view as the next building was only a couple of meters away & was very dark even on a bright sunny day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us. Due to not much information provided, we cannot located your actual staying period in our hotel.

Perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our recent room assignment did not meet your expectations. We will certainly tighten our control of the Triple room request. The core hotel guestroom renovation plan had been set in 2014. Our hotel also cooperate with the idea of Environment Protection Program. If guest stay more than 2 nights, they can select not to change the bed sheet daily, unless you have place the Green Card on the bed to indicate you need to change the bed sheet. We have always emphasize our staff Customer Service Training, and this will continue in our core training program. I would be interested to learn if you enjoyed the convenience location of our hotel?

If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Even with free wifi in room, and a room change, one would never want to return to this hotel ever again. Bed is as hard as a rock, not for slping condition. Room is not sound-proof, when ppl close or talk outside, able to hear in the room. Worst then any other hotel. Enough said.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

Perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our refurbishments did not meet your expectations. The core bathroom and guestroom have not been fully refurbished as yet, however we do have plans in 2014 to upgrade these areas as well. I would be interested to learn more comments from you.
If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spend 5 nights at this hotel , paid more than $180 a night . the location was great but the rooms are very small with very rude staffs , none of their staffs has any smile on their face when they deal with the customer. no one is bother to give any help when I wanted to ask some directons .

The beds are moving , they didn't even fix the beds properly.

But love the location , its next to Chun King Mansion and close to star ferry also MTR .

I would never stay at this hotel. there are plenty of hotels near by for $180 a night

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you, perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our Front Office staff did not meet your expectations. And the bed in your room was not fixed well. We have a detail renovation plan for the hotel in 2014. Also, we always provide the on job training to our staff. In order to improve their service standard. If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#163 of 718 in Hong Kong
431 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#128 of 718 in Hong Kong
138 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Kowloon Hotel
The Kowloon Hotel
#136 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
GDH Hotel
GDH Hotel
#217 of 718 in Hong Kong
583 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: No. 32-34 Nathan Road | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel guests were mainly from South East Asia & PRC. Due to our Convenient location, our guests can easily go around Hong Kong for Sightseeing, Shopping & Dining. Also, It was a perfect location for business travelers. Cause we were just in the Central HUB of all transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hong Kong
Imperial Hotel Hong Kong
The Imperial Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing