We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great shame about the rooms”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #353 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed May 17, 2012

In a great location 5 minutes to star ferry, close to MTR etc etc. On arrival first impressions were good, then I left reception and got in the lift... Very old decor in the halls with an overpowering smell of lemon (trying to cover something up). Opened the door to the room and was shocked at the size it was tiny. The bathroom was very old and stained (water marks) Also I think the bathroom used be a different room as it had a door to the hallway (handles removed). The bed was hard as concrete and generally the cleaner must have forgotten to clean the edges of the carpets etc. My door did not lock properly. I am so glad it was only for one night (anymore and i would have paid anything to move)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scujm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 756 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel is near the MTR entrances. Lots of stores and shops around. The hotel is just so-so. But still bearable. The hotel looks old but with basic furniture and clean rooms.
The staff is not very hospitable. But they are not rude. Just not that friendly, in my own opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessiesoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Great location. The hotel is surrounded by stores and is near the MTR entrances. The rooms are good/big enough for the price but they are not clean enough. I saw a cigarette butt under my sister's bed. In terms of hospitality, go look for it in a 5 star hotel. The people are not rude but they are not very hospitable either. The cleaning lady was nice though, even if she didn't speak English.
Wi-fi isn't free. You have to pay for it, 3 hours of non-stop use for 40 HKD but you have to use the 3 hours all at once. I can't remember if you could use the paid wi-fi in the room or only at the lobby.

Room Tip: Bring universal adapter plug for charging devices. If you're staying for more than 3 days and ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Room is really basic and small. Cleanliness is average. Like most hotels on nathan road, it is near MTR stations and within walking distance. however, if you are having heavy bags, you would really have a problem lugging them down the MTR. It is also situated next to a cheap hotel where you get many foreigners selling their service as you try to walk past them. Walking to the markets is a possibility but I would advise that this would not be suitable for those who have arthritis- it is a long and tiring walk. There is a Wellcome supermarket about 15-20mins walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney18Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

You could't expect more. This is a 3star hotel located at the best location in HK. With the basic furniture and equipment, it delivers reliable service, convenient location and clean rooms.
Hotel is only steps from 2 major MTR stations. From shenzhen city, you can take train to east Tsim Sha Tsui station which is only 100m from the hotel costing only 40HKD,
Tremendous shops and restaurants around the area, some of them run to late night every day. HK is amazing city, sleepless city.
The furnitures and equipments are basic. Considering it's rate, it's very reasonable. room is clean. staff is helpful and friendly. there is a Irish bar in basement, it offers free drink to the hotel guests! Try the bar's Oyster set, oyster from US, it's not bad.
Again, the hotel meets my expectation well. I would recommend this hotel to friends. And i will choose to stay again when next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mengbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The overall stay was ok. Service was prompt and I didn't expect anything else additional. However, there was a constant musky smell of vanilla essence wafting through the room and corridors owing to the rather old (and possibly damp) carpets and decor. Wifi is NOT free which I find to be a bit of a downer as it's a service most prevalent in many hotels in Hong Kong.

My feelings on the location is mixed. While it is a great central location, just minutes walk away from the shopping districts, MTR station and good food, it was also still next to the infamous CKM and MM. Coming back after drinks late at night, touts lining Nathan Road would ask if you wanted, well, miscellaneous entertainment of varying mediums. They may not be half as the aggressive as the touts in Patpong (Bangkok), it still is a little unsettling. I personally wouldn't recommend lone female travelers to stay in that area.

I probably would not stay there again. Same ole reason: The place isn't terrible but it wasn't really fantastic.

Room Tip: Not sure if the reason for the dank smell was because I asked for a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Location was our major reason for booking this hotel Our average size room had a wall of windows facing Nathan Road, but was quiet. The Hotel is near the MTR station, the Star Ferry and a short walk to the Temple Street Outdoor Market (where we found lots of buys). The Hong Kong Art Museum & Space Museum are just a few blocks away. On the down side the hotel is old with tired furnishings. However these did not concern us since the staff was very helpful. One clerk even kept us current on the NCAA scores :) They helped us find our way to the Peak, Horse Race Tracks and the Art & Antiques center, their assistance saved us time and money. If location is important at a reasonable price, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Our room in front of the hotel 5th floor was fine. I would insist on a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myMrDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#161 of 725 in Hong Kong
442 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#146 of 725 in Hong Kong
155 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#64 of 725 in Hong Kong
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
#479 of 725 in Hong Kong
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: No. 32-34 Nathan Road | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $78 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel guests were mainly from South East Asia & PRC. Due to our Convenient location, our guests can easily go around Hong Kong for Sightseeing, Shopping & Dining. Also, It was a perfect location for business travelers. Cause we were just in the Central HUB of all transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hong Kong
Imperial Hotel Hong Kong
The Imperial Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing