We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and excellent cleaning staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Ranked #21 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location and excellent cleaning staff”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Overall I stayed at the hotel for 3 weeks (not consecutive weeks) and i stayed in different floors of the hotel. Rooms higher than the 8th floor are much better rooms and are newly renovated. I higher recommend requesting to be on the higher floors. I've stayed on the 4th and 6th floors and some were okay but there was a week where the bathroom was making such a LOUD noise and it was disturbing through the night. One of the corner rooms we stayed were really old and wall papers were pealing off (thankfully stayed only one night in that room).

The cleaning staff are extremely nice and very accommodating the your needs. I highly recommend tipping the maid each day verses the end of your stay. We learned that every day is a different person cleaning the room. It would be unfair if the tip only goes to the person that cleans the room at the last day and gets the weeks worth of tips.

The front desk staff were a little unfriendly and depending on which staff you speak to, they give you a different answer. It was confusing at times.

The location is GREAT because its close to the MTR and major shopping landmarks. There are so many restaurants all around and you can never so hungry. There is a bus stop across the street from the hotel that gets you to Mainland, China.

Tips: 1) Live on a floor above the 8th floor, also wifii was WAYY better up on the 8th floor.
2) they charge overnight luggage fees if you plan on leaving the hotel and then returning.
3) If you need to do laundry, go across the street because its much cheaper. The laundry facility is call "Tin Tin laundry".
4) Leave tips for the maid daily verses at the end of your stay

Room Tip: ask for a room above the 8th floor, the 8th floor is consider "Business rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aMa8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    413
    215
    40
    14
See reviews for
310
150
73
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This well-situated hotel - just off Nathan Road near Prince Edward MTR Station and Pioneer Centre Mall - offers clean, comfortable, all you need but nothing fancy accomodation for the business traveller. Somewhat aging but well kept and spotless. Small, rather cramped lobby with a few shops, but plenty of restaurants, 7-Elevens, McDonald's, bakeries, nearby. Wifi is free with in room router (unusual), but breakfast is not free (come on, why not?) and in fact is too pricey. But everything else was fine, staff were friendly and helpful, I slept well...wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WClimenhaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomersCare, Manager at Metropark Hotel Mongkok, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Warren C,


Thank you for sharing your valuable comments.

In respect of the deficiencies during your stay, please accept our sincere apology for all inconvenience cause. In respect of the breakfast price, please be rest assured we will take your comments to be reviewed for further consideration.

Regarding the internet, we regret that our Wi-Fi service has not meet your very reasonable expectation. Please accept our second sincere apologies for the said issue. In fact, the broadband signal upgrade is now under progress and an efficient and reliable internet access is expected soon.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.


Yours Sincerely,

Manager
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near the MTR station. The rooms are a little small. But i guess thats how Hong Kong hotel rooms are. We could walk to the night market and found a Indian restaurant there, which added to our delight.

The hotel promptly delivers all the messages from the travel agency, which makes the communication smooth. Only thing we found odd was charging breakfast for kids. Generally in hotels where you can accommodate kids in the same room, do not charge separately for the breakfast.

The hotel offered us convenience with respect to to 7-11 shop nearby. We had an opportunity to go to different nearby markets and explore them to the fullest. The hotel offers a handy map which helps you maneuver around the place better.

We were given a room on the smoking floor. The bathroom doors need to be shut in the night , so that the smoking smell did not enter the room. Rest all services were good. The hotel does not have a gym or a swimming pool , but the location makes you forget all these facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aparnarraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomersCare, Manager at Metropark Hotel Mongkok, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Aparnarraman,


Thank you for providing us with valuable reviews during your recent stay with us.

In respect of the inconvenience that you had encountered, please accept our sincere apologies especially on the handling of the room arrangement. It has been much regretted our flexibility hasn’t been good enough to accommodate your very reasonable non-smoking room request.
Regarding for the breakfast price, please be rest assured we will take your comments to be reviewed for further consideration.

With this in mind, the issue would definitely be looked into priority to get improve. We strongly believe customer satisfaction is one of our key goals and thus hotel will make utmost efforts in engaging the continuous improvement.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you in the Metropark Hotel Mongkok again in the very near future.



Yours Sincerely,

Manager
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

As a hotel itself, it's in the middle. As in it's not an earth shatteringly impressive hotel, but definitely it's far from the worse. Basically it functions and acts the way you'd expect a middle class businessman's hotel to do so.

The rooms are clean, spacious enough for luggage, and all rooms come with free wifi which I think is a major amenity as a lot of other hotels exploit guests and make sky high rates for internet. The service is generally bittersweet because on one part, the cleaning lady who got assigned to our room was so obsessed with cleanliness that she threw out a lot of my toiletries for being left on the bathtub. I had to be very very careful each day to not leave any item on the bathtub or the floor because she'll throw it out for certain.

But the other part is how courteous management is that when my mom complained of the internet being too slow in the room, the manager gave us an upgrade to a better room with no questions asked and no additional charges. Management wise, they know how to pamper their guests well.

The best part though is how conveniently located this hotel is. It's literally 30 seconds walking distance from Prince Edward's MTR station, is across a 24-hour restaurant that serves dimsum and a 7/11 outlet, and is 5-10 minute walking distance from the flower market, the goldfish market and the bird park. It's also walking distance from White Noise records (Hong Kong's headquarters for indie music) and a 4-floor mall/complex full of bridal shops. There are generally a lot of bridal shops around the area, so you can see stores selling bridal clothes, shoes, favors, invitations and makeup and photography studios around the area. It's about 2 minute walking distance from a Park and Shop (grocery) outlet, and about 3 minutes walking distance from the Mong kok police station. This is definitely the place to stay in because it's so near everything that you'll never feel bored.

I think a lot of people consider this a bad hotel as it's not as posh and tourist-ey as other hotels, but we're honestly happier to pay reasonable prices for a hotel situated in an area that can afford us authentic experiences of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomersCare, Manager at Metropark Hotel Mongkok, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Marilene P,

Warmest greetings from Metropark Hotel MongKok.

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to provide us this valuable comments. We regret that on several aspects like cleaning and Wi-Fi service, consistency and efficiency has to be reinforced. As we fully understand guest satisfaction is very important for us, we will definitely review for those issues for further improvement in the future.

Regarding our housekeeping daily makeup service, kindly accept our sincere apologies that regards to your toiletries mishandled by hotel staff. Please be assured that our housekeeping has been reminded of the aforesaid issue and will ensure proper cleaning procedures are adhered to at all times. Also, regular and proper training will be reinforced to all housekeeping staff to ensure our service quality can be achieved. We are very sorry that the Wi-Fi problem occurred during your stay. The concerned upgrade progress is now on-going. We have confidence that the problem could be resolved soon.
.
Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We sincerely hope that we can serve you again in the very near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Manager
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

On a quick trip to HK, I stayed at this hotel which was conveniently located near the MTR station. The price was right and it had your basic amenities but that's about it. Don't expect anymore than that though. The food at the hotel restaurants are overpriced and you can find much better just by walking a few blocks outside. Overall, this is a good hotel if you're on a budget and want quick and easy access to public transportation. Note, this is the more "countryside" of HK so if you want nightlife and diverse crowds then be sure to stay closer to the Central district. I'm warning you though, you'll be paying top dollar for it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomersCare, Manager at Metropark Hotel Mongkok, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Dave Y,

Greetings from Metropark Hotel MongKok.

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to provide this valuable review. Metropark Hotel MongKok is conveniently located at the heart of Kowloon, visitors can enjoy their own trip in terms of fabulous shopping, entertainment and lots of tourist attractions. In respect of the issue of food pricing, please be rest assured we will take your comments to be further review.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Metropark Hotel Mongkok and we genuinely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Manager
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel last November. The location was really wonderful, near to MTR station, bus stops and uncountable shops. Meals were easily accessible as there are restaurants and eateries within walking distance. But our rooms were totally blocked by a building under construction. That made staying in the room unpleasant as there was no view at all and we could not see the city view. Hope the construction is completed by now.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHLP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomersCare, Manager at Metropark Hotel Mongkok, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear JHLP2014,

Warmest greetings from Metropark Hotel MongKok.

Thank you for your feedback. We regret much that the construction work of adjacent house made you felt unpleasant. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience. Actually, the main construction work of next building now is completed and all the temporary exterior supporting materials have been removed. A new face has actually exhibited alongside our hotel. You can see it when you come to Hong Kong next time.
Once again, we appreciated very much for your choosing of Metropark Hotel Mongkok. We sincerely hope that you can stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back and serve you on your next visit to Hong Kong.


Yours Sincerely,

Manager
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed at Metropark Mongkok Hotel in June 2014. Hotel is really run-down, although the room and the bedsheet is clean. Room size generally comfy for 2 pax. The internet service is so slow and unreliable, the connection cuts off by itself even when I am sitting in front of the modem. The MTR station "Prince Edward" is a short walk away.
This hotel is closed to a bus service to some other parts of China, So if you are planning on travelling by bus to other parts of China, you can consider this place.
The reception is friendly, but a little slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsynFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomersCare, Manager at Metropark Hotel Mongkok, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear PatsynFamily,

Warmest greetings from Metropark Hotel MongKok.

Thank you for choosing Metropark Hotel Mongkok and we appreciate for your comments on various aspects such like housekeeping and reception. Your valuable comments will definitely motivate us to upkeep our on-going service enhancement at all time.

Regarding the internet, we regret that our Wi-Fi service has not meet your very reasonable expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the said issue. In fact, the broadband signal upgrade is now under progress and an efficient and reliable internet access is expected soon.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we truly look forward to welcoming you and serve you on your next visit to Metropark Hotel Mongkok.


Yours Sincerely,

Manager
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#109 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,691 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#27 of 716 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,632 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Mongkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Mongkok

Property: Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Address: No.22 Lai Chi Kok Road, Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropark Hotel Mongkok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropark Hotel Mongkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropark Hotel Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing