We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flagship hotel and impressive entrance & great garden/pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The last time i stayed there no renovation started yet. Rooms are small but redone some years ago, only the bathrooms are still the same black or white marble from the day it opened with golden taps.... The size is ok when you have a harbor view giving you a grand feeling, if on the courtyard its feels cramped. Club is not my taste but its for sure one of the best grand clubs in terms of service and food. View is just great.
All dinning outlets are just very good and so is the service in any of them.

The spa, pool and outside sitting and restaurant are just great. It tends to get very busy on a nice day given the shared situation with adjoining hotel.

I have not been since they started to renovate but I am sure it will be great after.

Room Tip: Harbor view and club is what you should chose if you dont mind the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Roger8

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We have recenlty launched three brand new guest floors featuring guestrooms of entirely new design. You are welcome to check it out on our website hongkong.grand.hyatt.com. Once again we thank you for choosing to stay wtih us. Look forward to welcoming yo back.

With kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,621 - 1,627 of 2,827 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

From the time we arrived at the hotel the service was great. Staff is very attentive from the bell captain to the spa staff. Their concierge staff was very helpful on places to go.
The hotel is very convenient to the ferry stations to get over to Kowloon. There are a couple of different restaurants to eat at; all of which were great from service to food.

Room Tip: Get a room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Panter98

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. We truly appreciate your compliments. Happy to you have enjoyed the convenience of the ferry service nearby the hotel. The journey is not fast, but is also the great way to enjoy the famous habour of Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications.
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I normally prefer boutique hotels but as big hotel chains go, the Hyatt in Hong Kong is one of our favourites. As we live in Hong Kong we hadn’t really been here other than for the brunch so staying here for one night in August we got a better sense of all the facilities, the rooms and the service.

The rooms are sort of old-meets-new; the expansive bathrooms are all black marble with white gleaming fittings, and the room is simple but warm, it had a nice feel to it. Oh and not forgetting the most fabulous view over the harbor. The bed was like that magic cloud called nine.
We had breakfast down in the lobby restaurant where they serve an absolutely humungous buffet. I mean it was so huge my eyes were literally bulging out of their sockets and my stomach was conducting all manner of impressive gymnastic moves with anticipation. I think hands down, this was one of the best buffet-breakfasts I have had in Asia (and we travel a lot). I’m talking quality as well as quantity and breadth of options. Everything felt like it had been treated with TLC, which made eating it all the more enjoyable. A vast range of both western and Asian food, and then your standard breakfast items.

We ate at The Grill & The Steakhouse that evening and the following day – I’ve reviewed these separately, but suffice to say we’ve already been back for more since this visit.
Staff are on the whole, very well trained, polite, courteous and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chief M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Emma H

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. We are grateful for your positive comments. Delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. Thanks to the team of chefs who has kept it exciting and popular by producing freshly produced items every morning.

Thanks again for your support to us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for many years and the service and location have always made it exceptional. But now they have refurbished the rooms it has gone to a new level. The new rooms have been intelligently designed to be both aesthetically pleasing and remarkably functional. An example is having a stylish table to eat room service upon in a civilised fashion and work with space. This is the hotel to enjoy Hong Kong at it's very best.

Room Tip: the harbour view is, of course, marvellous but don't be put off if you cannot get one since ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Carol P

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. Delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our newly renovated room. We love the oversized timber table as well, just as you have mentioned, for it offers great flexibility of dining and working. We truly appreciate your continous support for Grand Hyatt Hong Kong.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Absolutely classy room, with all the amenities. I am in executive room & the view is just fantastic. It overlooks the bay and the skyline of hong kong. Restaurants are also very good. Recommend strongly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nareshojha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Nareshojha

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. We are very pleased to learn about your enjoyable experience. Our newly renovated rooms have been designed to enable guests to take the most advantage of the harbour views. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Depending on what kind of room you get, your experience may be different than mine. I ended up in a newly renovated harbor view room. The hotel is somewhere in the middle of a major remodel. You may hear construction noises during the day.

On the plus side, the room has the look and feel of understated luxury. Colors were subtle and soothing. The decor verged on minimalist without being cold. There are many small, but thoughtful touches in the amenities in the room to make your stay comfortable. I didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff, but every contact was very positive. The staff members couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.

On the mixed side, the windows were the full width of the room and would have given a spectacular view if I had really had a harbor view room, but my room had more of a half city and half harbor view - not quite what I had expected when I reserved a harbor view room. The room was comfortable for one, but a little on the small side for a couple - only one easy chair, for example.

Also on the mixed side, everything in the remodeled rooms is high tech - there are panels of switches to control lights, temperature, the window shades, etc. I found myself fumbling around to hit the right switches and I don't wear reading glasses, I don't know how someone who needs glasses can tell the switches apart especially at night after they've taken their glasses off.

Another mixed item were the blinds. I liked having a choice between full blackout and sheer blinds. However, I miss being able to have just part of the window free of blinds. The new blinds are pretty much an all up or down choice. If you pull them partway up, someone in a building across the way can still see your legs, but you get no view, so that's not really an option.

My least favorite part of the remodel was the toilet closet. There was no way to leave the door open and no way to turn a light on once you were in the closet. I got caught more than once in the pitch black. At a minimum, there should be a night light always turned on in that room no matter how the switches are set.

Room Tip: If you reserve a harbor view room, make sure you get a room directly facing Kowloon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7continents2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear 7continents2010

Greetings. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feelings for our newly renovated room. Really appreciate that. Happy to know that you like the overall new design. Thank you for letting us know your concerns, though we might not be able to immediately address them, we shall include that in our guests' feedback for further evaluation. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

One of the best marina facing rooms. Ask for higher floor. The views are breathtaking! You can see Tsim sha Tshui on the other side of the marina from the room. The staffs are very courteous and room service was exceptional. If you need to plan your day for outing then just get down and reach out to the reception. They give you loads of information! The location of the hotel is just perfect.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Iyerm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear lyerm1

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. Really appreciate it. We will share your compliments and recognition with the team. The Concierge department put together its own Getting Around guide of Hong Kong and keep it update-to-date. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,116 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,075 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road | Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $256 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Central and Causeway Bay; and 40 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong features 542 luxurious rooms and suites, nine acclaimed restaurants and bars offering a fabulous range of cuisines including Chinese, Italian, Japanese and international fare, in the heart of the Wanchai district. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong boasts extensive entertainment facilities such as a 50-metre outdoor heated pool and a 24-hour fitness studios and a 400-metre jogging path. Please be informed of the waterfront promenade project that is currently undertaking outside the hotel. The project is at times visible from and audible at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing