We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Grand Hyatt is a lovely hotel, it feels very luxurious walking through the lobby. The baggage guys were a little slow in helping with my bags. I got them to the check-in counter before they realised. Check-in was good, I was the 16th floor and had a corner suits looking out to Kowloon on one side and overlooking the pool on the other. The pool looked amazing but I didn't have time to swim, next time for sure. The room itself was a bit of an odd shape but it was definitely 5 star. The bathroom was clean and all white marble, when cleaning my room they didn't arrange my toiletries as well as other 5 star hotels usually do but that's hardly a gripe. The bed and pillows were super comfy which is always my main concern.

I ate downstairs at their signature cantonese restaurant. the service staff were fantastic and very helpful. The food was great and I would recommend people go there. It wasn't cheap though, AUD 150 for one person. I didn't eat that much I don't think either, 1 main plate and 2 small indiviidual bowls of fried rice with 2 glasses of wine (20 dollars each).

The location of this hotel was great for business. I was working at the International Finance Centre so the trip is less that 5 minutes from the hotel. Just a note there is not a lot of shops or other stuff around the hotel. It is right next door to the convention centre.

Room Tip: One of the newly renovated rooms facing Kowloon would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Pete

Warm greetings. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We appreciate your feedback. Look forwad to welcoming you back soon. Hope that you will have a chance to relax in our pool during your next stay.

Cheers
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,930 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt last weekend, 28-29 July and was lucky enough to be upgraded to try out their new refurbished room on the 25/F. Full disclosure- we were invited by the hotel and room was complimentary. We were apparently one of the first ones to try out these new rooms.. and got to say we think their fab. The room had an amazing sweeping harbor front views of the Kowloon skyline. One of the stand-out features for us was the bathtub located strategically in the middle of the room, that if you did not turndown the blinds, had the same view of the harbour. There were lots of great little details that showed the hotel had spent a lot of time thinking what their business women travelers would like during their stay at the Grand Hyatt. We liked - the soft lightweight bathrobes that are unlike the heavy bathrobes found at hotels, a compartment tray for your jewelry in the safe, the healthy juice menu, food menu that's geared for healthy eating 24/7, complimentary dried apricots and pistachio nuts to snack on, a missing must-have for any of the items you forgot to pack- you can request for a hairbrush, makeup remover, lint Mitt (remove hair, fluff, pet owners savior to removing hair off clothes) and even hair spray! The blinds are beige letting max light into the room but was able to block out completely the sun that we slept through till 10am, even though it was bright outside...a true luxurious 5 star stay!

Room Tip: ask for harbour front rooms and ask for their newly furbished rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly62011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Kimberly

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your postive comments and will share it with the team. Thank you for your support. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during a business trip. Would love to stay again.

Great location with great view.

A very healthy breakfast menu with freshly squeezed juices, fresh fruits and a lot more.

Rooms were spacious with very nice bathroom.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladiscleo, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear RV70

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We are grateful for your encouraging feedback. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming back you soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were picked up from the Qantas plane the moment the day of the Airbus opened. We had chosen to have the limousine service to take us to the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, they helped us through immigration then straight to pick up our bags then were were in the limo on our way to the hotel.
On arrival we were taken straight to our room for check in, everything ran so smoothly right from the greeting of conceirge to the immediate service of the porters.
We had chosen a Club Floor, it was magnificent. The Grand Club manager & his crew were amazing! The views from the lounge were supurb day & night, the food excellent, everyone made you feel like royalty, we have stayed there regularly and would never change, have gone into Macau and returned early because we missed the excellance of this hotel. This hotel is unique, having stayed at hotels all over the world even the Tokyo Hyatt this has such a feeling you never want to leave, thats why we will be back again in a few months for New Year! The only sad thing is that they are taking the beautiful old gold taps out to update to present looks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladiscleo, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Rosemary S

Greetings. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We are grateful to receive your encouraging comments and will share it with the team. We appreciate your support. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms are what you would expect of a modern international hotel. What makes this hotel is excellent service and in particular the club lounge if you have access. Great breakfast and cocktails and canapés, accompanied by personable service. Good pool.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank GSUKKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladiscleo, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear GSUKKENT

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. Than you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. We are grateful of your positive feedback. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

For the first: this is still my top-hotel in Hong Kong after several visits there. I was staying there in July and their service is still amazing. OK, the rates are not cheap but I think it is worth going there for many reasons. May I give a shortcut:

Location: the hotel is located on Hong Kong Island in the Wanchai district near the Central area. The hotel itself offers direct access to the big HKCEC (Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Center) where most of the international exhibitions, trade fairs as well as congresses in HK are held. The ferry station is about five minutes away, the MTR (subway) station also of a five to ten minutes walk via the Wanchai fly-over. Within the next years, they will erect another MTR station which will directly offer access to the HKCEC and the hotel itself. Wanchai is one of the most bustling and also very traditional areas in Hong Kong and full of life. The hotel itself is located directly at the Victoria harbour with amazing panoramic sights from the rooms.

Rooms: the hotel offers more than 550 rooms with especially on the harbour side of the hotel amazing views of the Victoria harbour from each (!) room. Tip: try to get a harbour view room, it is worth upgrading and enjoy the wonderful views of Victoria harbour!! There are some comments concerning the age of the hotel and the rooms, may I add this one. The hotel was opened in 1989 with at that time one of the most luxury rooms overall Hong Kong. To keep on
the very high standard, the hotel started its refurbishment program last year with a complete renovation of all the rooms (for the first except the Club rooms). They will open the first three floors with the newly refurbished rooms in August 2013. They are highly state of the art with
all amenities of a 5 to 6 star hotel. Afther this, basing on periods of 3-4 months, after each period they will open another three floors until the first stage of refurbishment will be finished in 2-3 years. On the same time, they already started with the refurbishment of the banquet facilities and the grand ball room. In order to minimize the impacts of construction, the construction is only done between 10:00 a.m. and 5 p.m. (except Sundays - there is no working and parts of Saturdays), which works excellently. So if you are booking your room, try to ask for a new one (which doesnt mean the old ones are bad, they are in good condition, very clean, but of course due to their age not brand new). Another Tip: Try to get a Club room, this is also amazing!! They offer separate Club rooms on top of the hotel with a Club floor and separate Club lounge in a cozy, relaxing atmosphere where you can get sumptuous breakfast buffet and Cocktail hour in the evening!!!

Food and Beverage: Another top notch in this house. They have couple of restaurants and lounges, all of them more than recommendable. Honestly, there is nothing they dont have... On the lobby floor especially to mention the "Grand Cafe" with international choice of dishes and moreover huge breakfast as well as international dinner buffet. Also "Tiffin" lounge on the first floor within the big marble lobby and jazz music in the evening. Moreover they offer two star restaurants of Hong Kong, the Italian "Grissini" as well as the "Steakhouse" with ample of choices.

Service: This is the triumph of this house. After entering the big lobby (which you wont see anywhere else in Hong Kong) with its big black marble columns, waterfalls and flowers you are
feeling like leaving all the stress behind you. All (!) of the team staff members, no matter if the Front Desk, the Concierge, the Housekeeping, Room Service or anybody else, they all are more than cooperative, helpful and courteous which makes the stay very relaxing. Once given some question, request or wish to anybody of them, it works like professional working pipeline, you will get the answer or result withing a very short time (even if the person you were contacting doesnt belong to the concerning division you were asking for). To make it short, this is a highly professional, together working and indeed customer related team which is not easy to find anywhere else. Especially this matter of fact is reason for me always to come back.

Summary: If you are willing to pay a little bit more for your stay, you will get a top notch stay in a grand 5* hotel (which would be outside Asia, especially Europe, maybe a (non-existing) 6*stay, the very their excellent service!!). Concerning the old rooms, you have to be aware they will finish the first phase of room renovation in about two years, the first rooms will open in August 2013 right now. Tip: During this phase, they also offer special deals which are worth looking at. For me, it is always pleasure to go there - and I will do it again. Maybe this all sounds like publicity, but I experienced only positive stays without any (remark- or considerableable) error or mistake (after round 10 stays).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milestone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladiscleo, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Mr Milestone

Warm greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We are grateful to your positive feedback and will certainly share it with the team.

Thank you again for your generous support. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hogn Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We come to the Grand Hyatt in Hong Kong quite often, but this time we had the chance to sleep in the new rooms with harbor view. The style of the room is now more modern and open. Without the curtains the view on Victoria Harbor is now a little bigger/better the room is a little bit more spacious. As always the grand club is a must during our stay. For us it is the best grand club of all Hyatts (view, champagne, breakfast as well as very good management and staff).
Very special during our stay this time was the 8km early morning run with Jake (head concierge) on Bowen Road. We will come again soon for stay and run.

Room Tip: Go for Harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladiscleo, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Mr Martin

Warm greetings. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the stay in our renovated room. Thank you again for your support. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cheers
Gladis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,238 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,205 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#22 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,452 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road | Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $274 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Central and Causeway Bay; and 40 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong features 542 luxurious rooms and suites, nine acclaimed restaurants and bars offering a fabulous range of cuisines including Chinese, Italian, Japanese and international fare, in the heart of the Wanchai district. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong boasts extensive entertainment facilities such as a 50-metre outdoor heated pool and a 24-hour fitness studios and a 400-metre jogging path. Please be informed of the waterfront promenade project that is currently undertaking outside the hotel. The project is at times visible from and audible at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing